Education & Teaching: Resources in Special Collections

Official and non-official papers of Channing Hall, III, of Williamsburg, former member of City Council. Most of the collection concerns the government of the City of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes correspondence about a manuscript document, dated July 15, 1773, listing subscribers to establish a public school in Williamsburg, Virginia.

Correspondence, 1794-1887, of the Burwell family of Virginia, North Carolina, Alabama, and Mississippi. Includes letters of Mary Cole Turnbull Burwell and her children including Armistead Burwell, Benjamin Powell Burwell, Frances King Burwell Catlett, Robert Burwell, William T. Burwell (at the United States Military Academy), Charles Blair Burwell, and concerning these children and her other children Elizabeth Margaret Burwell Putnam and Anne Burwell Garland. Subjects include family, courtship and marriage, religion, setting up and teaching schools in Virginia, North Carolina, and Alabama, economics, travel, sickness, childbirth, and enslavement. Includes a poem concerning love between two people that were enslaved.

Papers, 1727-1918, chiefly 1781-1875, of members of the related Overton, Ragland, Claybrooke and Hart families of Louisa County, Va. and Haywood Co., Tenn. There are papers of James Malcolm Hart, farmer and schoolteacher which concern education, the Civil War and Reconstruction. Prominent correspondents include Peter Johnston, John Marshall, Dabney Minor, Garrett Minor, John Minor and Edmund Randolph.

Letters, primarily 1867-1880, written to Thomas Taylor of "Woodlawn," Goochland Co., Va., from his daughter Sarah C. (Taylor) Hatcher and son-in-law David A. Hatcher of Missouri. The letters concern family business and reflect financial difficulties. Includes reports and correspondence, 1877- 1888, of Taylor who served as the clerk of the First School District in Goochland County. Includes letter from Hugh Davis Ragland, superintendent, Goochland County free public schools, at Hadensville,Va., to A. V. Taylor, March 6, 1888.

Business papers, correspondence, accounts and farm notes of Sir Peyton Skipwith of Mecklenburg Co., Va., son Humberstone Skipwith and Humberstone Skipwith's wives and children, especially Fulwar Skipwith. Papers are primarily business in nature and reflect the management of "Prestwould." Papers also concern the development of Lady Skipwith's library, the education of Fulwar Skipwith and his brother Grey Skipwith. Manuscript volumes concern farm accounts, gardening, the study of French and Fulwar Skipwith's lists of books.

Letters, journals, and other material relating to Lelia W. Burnett, who was at Miller School in Charlottesville, Virginia. Letters primarily date from the 1880s and 1890s while the journals are from G.H. Farrar and date from the 1920s and 1930s.

This collection comprises letters sent primarily to and from Annie and Nellie Pease. They are from local friends and schoolmates as well as members of the Pease family who are situated for the most part in Bangor and Cornish, Maine. The letters deal with the personal lives of a close social network of young girls and their families who stay in touch after their graduation from school. The subjects of the letters range from classes, teachers and vacation plans to what is going on in the local community concerning deaths, weddings, and travel. A detailed examination of these letters reveals information concerning the school life and education of young, nineteenth-century women as well as their own experiences of teaching. Moreover, there are details as to what books were popular, from Caesar to Cicero and Dickens to Emerson, as well as to what subjects were being taught and how the girls responded to them; botany, natural history, and flower collecting are frequently mentioned.

Diary, undated, of Olive Baldwin of Honolulu, Hawaii. Baldwin was the wife of Charles Baldwin, principal of Kaahumanu School. She describes her social life and life at the school.

This description was provided by the seller and has not been verified. "Original 1927 handwritten diary of Norman Sartain. Norman Sartain was a student at the Palmyra School in Palmer, Texas, in the mid to late 1920s. It has 46 pages (front and back) filled with diary entries through 1928. He lisst the times each day that he arrived to school and things his teachers and classmates did.

Diary, 1862, of Sarah Ladd of Portland, Maine. Ladd was a teenager at the time that she wrote this diary and attended the Willis School. Topics include church; family life, including being grounded; and neighbors going to fight in the Civil War.

Diaries, 1883, of Jean Smith and Edward Smith, siblings of Hawley, Minnesota. Edward Smith's diary primarily concern his school activities, jobs which he performs around the town, and interactions he has with members of the community.

Diaries, 1934-1939, of Barbara Booth of Rochester, New York. The first volume is an autograph and photograph album, with photographs of friends, and notes written to Booth. In the volume Booth states that she goes to Monroe High School.

Diary,1945, of Wilda Whitman, a high school student at Woodrow Wilson High School in Portsmouth, Virginia. Primarily concerns her day to day activities, including her relationships with her friends Susie and Bruce, trips that she takes with her family, and her schoolwork.

Monthly report book for the Rupert School No. 4, South Bend District (Armstrong County, Pa.) for the years 1879-1889. On the front cover the school is also referred to as "Clayton or Girty." it appears to have been a one-room school with roughly 50 students between the ages of 5 and 15. Recorded are student names, attendance, books used, teacher salary payments, visitors and misc. statistics.

Petitions, 1803, concerning the Syms-Eaton charity school in Elizabeth City County, Va.; and typescript of a history (The First Plantation) of Hampton and Elizabeth City County, Va. by Marion L. Starkey, ca 1930s. (The Syms and Eaton schools were merged in 1805 to form Hampton Academy.)

Register, 1887-1894, of the Lenoir County, North Carolina, Public Schools. Includes list of students, ages of students, attendence records, and some grades for African-American students in the Lenoir County Public Schools.

Two reports, circa 1850, totaling 3 pages and written by H. G. Day and James Ford of the Colored Peoples Sabbath School, Hudson, New York. Includes the details of the reoganization of this school in an attempt to excite more interest in it. Also includes some history of the school.

Register book, 1901-1906, kept for the Central School District, Rockingham County, Va. by teachers B. B. Mitchell, Blanche Schauhaltzer, J. N. Dunning, and J. M. Anderson.

Minute book, 1875-1907, of the North River District School Board, Augusta County, Va. which includes lists of students, lists of teachers, a newspaper clipping containing the population breakdown for Augusta County schools, a list of approved textbooks, records of funds expended, and a letter, 22 November [19]02, from a teacher requesting a pay increase.

Records, 1869, for students at Mountain Valley School House [Rockingham County, Va.]; records, 1870, of Howver's School, Rockingham County, Va.; and records, n.d., of Singer's Glen [School, Rockingham County, Va.] The volume includes accounts, formulae, and memoranda of Joseph McMullen [Rockingham County, Va. ?]

Papers, 1770-1871, relating to Rockingham County, Va. Includes two deeds, 1828 and 1871; partial inventory and sale of personal property of James Dever; account book, 1860-1867, of John W. Minnich, a teacher; accounts of the board of school commissioners (including student names); and documents, 1770-1843, concerning lawsuits (including criminal cases and criminal cases involving slaves).

Scrapbook, 1895, of newspaper clippings of Mary Ann Brooks of Philadelphia, Pa. and [Norfolk, Va.] The volume also includes pasted-in circus prints, and report cards, 1896-1898, of Jonathan Brooks while a student in Portsmouth, [Va. public schools.]

Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F. Cole (father of Henry D. Cole), 1843-1856.

Account book of William E. Wiatt kept in Gloucester and Mathews counties, Va. containing accounts, 1861-1874. There is a list, 1869-1870, of students in his school in Gloucester County.

Ledger, 1883-1908, of the spending of Virginia apportionment funds and county expenditures for schools in Augusta County, Va.

Ledger, 1819-1849, of the school commissioners of Gloucester County, Va. and minutes of meetings, 1818-1829.

Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the state's policies on education, transportation, and welfare funding, and the activities of state regulatory agencies.

Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman.

Papers, 1933-1978, of Ted Dalton, Virginia state senator, 1944-1959; Republican candidate for governor of Virginia in 1953 and 1957; and U.S. District judge for the Western district of Virginia. Includes correspondence, speeches, news clippings, photographs, recordings, reels of film and legal opinions. Subjects covered include Republican Party politics, the Virginia General Assembly, highways,compulsory automobile insurance, segregation, the Gray Commission Report (Commission on Public Education), the College of William & Mary, and Dalton's appointment as federal judge.

The personal papers of Mills E. Godwin, Jr., dating from 1947 to 1978, consist of 24 boxes of correspondence, 1,100 copies of speeches, schedules and appointments. Also included are 40 scrapbooks of news clippings and photographs, 159 citations and plaques, and one box of audiovisual materials, all of which pertain largely to Godwin's personal involvement in the government, political life, activities, organizations and institutions of Virginia during the 30-year period. Among the many topics the papers cover are: the College of William & Mary, segregation, the Democratic Party, the Republican Party, higher education, taxation, the contamination of the James River by kepone, the oystering industry and public mental health care.

Listed as Richmond City Council Joint Committee Minute Book in Swem Catalogue. Minutes, 1912, of an investigation into the public schools of Richmond, Va. by a committee appointed of members of the City Council and Board of Aldermen to investigate overpayments of salary, curriculum, lack of harmony and cooperation among teachers, principals and the superintendent, and control by the State Board of Education. Includes testimony by female teachers and by J.A.C. Chandler concerning curriculum in the elementary grades.

The Charles Campbell papers consist of papers received or collected by Charles Campbell (1807-1876), Virginia historian. The manuscript volumes include Charles Campbell's diaries (1861-1864), Anna Burdsall Campbell diaries (1840-1870), scrapbooks, Charles Campbell's historical notes, newspaper clippings, Anderson Seminary account books, Charles Campbell's pupil exercise books, pamphlets, copies of Charles Campbell's articles, and household account books (1848-1863).

Ledger, 1857-1872, of William J. Pendleton, physician, at Cuckoo, Louisa County, Va. Also includes accounts of a merchant, farms and labor accounts, and memoranda of a school operated by the Pendleton family.

Diploma from Newport News High School for Vivian Elizabeth King, Class of 1927. June 10, 1927.