Education & Teaching: Resources in Special Collections

Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman.

Papers, 1933-1978, of Ted Dalton, Virginia state senator, 1944-1959; Republican candidate for governor of Virginia in 1953 and 1957; and U.S. District judge for the Western district of Virginia. Includes correspondence, speeches, news clippings, photographs, recordings, reels of film and legal opinions. Subjects covered include Republican Party politics, the Virginia General Assembly, highways,compulsory automobile insurance, segregation, the Gray Commission Report (Commission on Public Education), the College of William & Mary, and Dalton's appointment as federal judge.

The personal papers of Mills E. Godwin, Jr., dating from 1947 to 1978, consist of 24 boxes of correspondence, 1,100 copies of speeches, schedules and appointments. Also included are 40 scrapbooks of news clippings and photographs, 159 citations and plaques, and one box of audiovisual materials, all of which pertain largely to Godwin's personal involvement in the government, political life, activities, organizations and institutions of Virginia during the 30-year period. Among the many topics the papers cover are: the College of William & Mary, segregation, the Democratic Party, the Republican Party, higher education, taxation, the contamination of the James River by kepone, the oystering industry and public mental health care.

Freedman Journal, 10/9/1865-11/29/1865. Diary of an employee of the Freedman's Bureau who was working near Norfolk and Fort Monroe, Virginia. 20 pages. He describes his ocean voyage and areas that he visits, including Norfolk and Fort Monroe, giving his opinions on some topics. His job is teaching three classes at the Butler School. He is one of a number of teachers teaching over 800 students. Talks of his teaching experiences.

This collection consists of letters from supervisors or sponsors to Minnie A. Hill, a northern female teacher, who was in Norfolk and then Petersburg, Virginia teaching at freedmen’s schools in the late 1860s.

An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's. Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere. Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt. Includes a typed letter to Rev. H.E. Lombard from Booker T. Washington, principal of The Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute, soliciting funds. Signed by Booker T. Washington. April 6, 1914.

Personal papers, correspondence and business records of Edward L. Stone (1869-1938) and his son-in-law, Franklin Moore of Roanoke, Virginia. Both men owned the Roanoke Printing and Manufacturing Company and were involved in various civic organizations.

A report sponsored by the Williamsburg-James City County Public Schools and the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities, "Black Education in Williamsburg-James City County, 1619-1984" by Philip D. Morgan, 1985.

Register, 1887-1894, of the Lenoir County, North Carolina, Public Schools. Includes list of students, ages of students, attendence records, and some grades for African-American students in the Lenoir County Public Schools.

Two reports, circa 1850, totaling 3 pages and written by H. G. Day and James Ford of the Colored Peoples Sabbath School, Hudson, New York. Includes the details of the reorganization of this school in an attempt to excite more interest in it. Also includes some history of the school.

Record book, 1901-1903, of John H. Harvey, a teacher in Bon Brook Public School No. 4, a Black school in Cumberland County, Va.

Photographs taken by George Oscar Ferguson. Subjects include a parade in Williamsburg, Va., African-American schools in Virginia, Camp Lee, Virginia, rural scenes in western Virginia, and Ferguson.

This collection is arranged into 3 series: 1: Printed matter, which includes books, booklets, pamphlets, comics, calendars, fliers, programs, etc. ; 2: Visual materials, which includes stereographic images, postcards, and trading, adverstising and collectors cards, posters, and currency, etc.; and 3: Games, which includes board games and card games and related materials. Includes a printed yearbook of an African American High School, titled "Ecohs, Commencement, June, 1904, The Spirit of Essex."

College scrapbook, 1931-1945, kept by Clarice Peterson Thompson at Virginia State College, Petersburg, Va. She entered information on festivities, outings, and plays attended in the pre-printed volume "Memories of My School Days." Several pages are taken up by names and addresses of classmates, as well as their entries and messages dedicated to her. In addition to congratulation cards glued into the volume, there are also a few loose items like news clippings, cards, and a lock of hair.

This collection contains letters to Obelia "Bee" Graves, from her family and friends, while she attended Winston-Salem Teachers College in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. The institution is presently known as Winston-Salem State University. Winston-Salem Teachers College was the first historically black college to grant bachelors degrees in elementary school education. The collection also includes college documents from her time at college such as report cards and her admission acceptance. The collection also contains letters from two soldiers to Bee Graves' sister, Cleonis. The soldiers served during World War II in the Philippines.

Diary of Wilda Whitman, a high school student at Woodrow Wilson High School in Portsmouth, Virginia. Primarily concerns her day to day activities, including her relationships with her friends Susie and Bruce, trips that she takes with her family, and her schoolwork. There are some mentions of the events of World War II, but they are brief and scattered.

Diaries, 1900 and 1912, of Mary E. Anderson of Alleghany and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. In daily entries she talks about chores, social visits, and church.

The collection of the Faculty Women's Caucus at the College of William & Mary includes correspondence from 1973-1996 related to women faculty salaries and tenure; maternity leave and childcare; EEO and Affirmative Action; women's athletics, dealing mostly with Title IX, both within the College of William & Mary and the National Collegiate Athletics Association (NCAA); sexual harassment; campus security; the Women's Studies program; and discriminatory findings. Also included are salary survey reports, William & Mary "climate" studies, various copies of the newsletter - Caucus News, event fliers, articles, newspaper clippings, related publications, and other resource material.