Education & Teaching: Resources in Special Collections

Papers from the household of Dora Travis Armistead (1890-1979) and Rowland Cara Armistead, sisters of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes letters, personal, financial and business papers of Cary Peyton Armistead (1856-1901), father of Dora and Cara, Steward of Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), and prominent local Episcopal Church and school leader; Eudora Ester Armistead (d. 1940)

Diary, 1900, of Howard Allen Kunkle, a seminary student in a Lutheran seminary in Mt. Airy, Pennsylvania. Contains entries about his life in seminary, his school work, his first sermons, and returning home to preach in the summer.

Letters received by John Philip Cline, a Lutheran clergyman at New Market, Va and Smithburg, Washington County, Md. Includes fourteen letters, 1824-1832, written by John G. Morris concerning his education; the Henkel family; his pastorate; and [Samuel Simon] Schmucker.

Diary of M. G. Brubaker (b. 1875) for the year 1902. At the time the diary was written, 1902, Brubaker was a Mennonite school teacher in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. He writes about school, social activities, occurrences in the community, his courtship with Mary D. Stuben and subsequent wedding. He also reflects on his education and role as a teacher. Several recipes are scattered throughout the diary and three news clippings with poems can be found in the back pocket of the volume.

Diary, 1866-1891, of Kate M. Walsh, a teacher from Cambridge, New York. Walsh primarily teaches at the Caldwell Institute in Danville, Kentucky and in a suburb of Chicago. Entries include information about her job as a teacher, her interaction with other teachers and school officials, and with her students. There is also information about her Methodist faith, teaching Bible classes, her attendance at religious services, and her relationship with her sisters and other family members.

Diary, 1865-1867, of Warren Bates Osgood (1844-1880), a Methodist preacher based in the Chicago, Illinois area. During the period in which this diary was writting, Osgood was working as a teacher to support himself through his studies. The diary contains detailed, daily entries by Osgood related to religion, Methodism, looking for a teaching position, the treatment of individuals who have fallen ill, the differences between the North and South after the Civil War, and various sermons he has preached.

Consists of 9 volumes of Sunday School Superintendent's Condensed Record books from Campbell Memorial Presbyterian Church in Weems, Lancaster Co., Virginia. The volumes contain handwritten lists of class attendees and minutes from each meeting, as well as names of teachers and other church members.

Papers, 1900-1946, of Joseph Allan Christian, a Presbyterian clergyman and his wife Evelyn Smith Christian who served pastorates in Virginia, Mississippi, and Louisiana. Includes correspondence, student notebooks of Christian while a student at Hampden-Sydney College and Union Theological Seminary (Richmond).

Papers, 1793-1890, of sisters and Quaker educators, Mary and Hannah Gibbons. A small number of papers are directly related to their brother, Joseph Gibbons. Correspondence predominantly discusses relatives, friends, travels, and religious sentiments. The second series of items is family and personal papers, consisting of poems, copied scripture, drug prescriptions, and family records. The papers relating to the Infant School established by Mary and Hannah Gibbons make up the third series and include student work, account books, and promotional pieces.

Inventory contains the papers of Alexander Brown (1843-1906), farmer, merchant and author who lived in Nelson County, Virginia. The collection includes papers of Mayo Cabell and ledgers of Mayo Cabell & Co., Lynchburg, Virginia and of the Lynchburg Female Seminary; accounts of "Belmont," "Benvenue," and "Norwood" plantations (in Nelson County); and genealogical material on the Brown and Cabell families.

Autograph diary of Susannah Nourse who was a student at Bolton Seminary in Brooklyn, New York. Most entries are poems with some prose. Many entries are by Nourse's family. A list of autographs is included with the diary.

This collection contains announcements, annual reports, correspondence, minutes, and newsletters from the Department of Religious Studies at the College of William & Mary. Included in the collection are correspondence from 1982-1999, fliers for various lectures on campus about religion from 1975-2005, departmental meeting minutes from 1976-1987, copies of the newsletter Religion News from 1986, and a statement on the Divinity School at the College in the 1820's from 1971.