Education & Teaching: Resources in Special Collections

Scrapbook, probably kept by Lyon G. Tyler. Includes an account of the Senate discussion of the bill to establish a normal school at the college, 1888, p. 161.

This is an artificial collection of correspondence, 1848-1898, of and concerning Benjamin Stoddert Ewell while he was serving on the faculty and as president of the College of William & Mary. Subjects include Ewell's hiring as professor of mathematics and as acting president, the fire of 1859, William and Mary during the Civil War, raising funds in the United States and England to restore the college following the war, the possible removal of the college from Williamsburg, the suspension of the college and its re-opening as a normal school to train male teachers.

This collection includes the Report of Scholarship and Attendance of Thomas Bernard Latane, a student in the Normal School, dated December 14, 1893 and signed by John Lesslie Hall. Also included is the duplicate room assignment receipt of Thomas Latane Winfree for the 1936-1937 session. His roommate is listed as Conrad Schatte Yocum of Cantonsville, Maryland.

Acc. 1979.031: This accession contains office files from 1920-1942.

Acc. 1983.085: This accession contains office files from the 1940s and 1950s. These include reports of the Curriculum Committee, correspondence with the President and others, materials from the faculty protest of 1951, letters of faculty appointments and salaries, and selective service classifications of faculty members.

Acc. 1998.091: Records of Kremer Jacob Hoke, 1920s-1930s. This accession contains correspondence with the Association of American Universities, the Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools in the South, the Association of Virginia Colleges, and the Virginia Education Association. it also contains a faculty questionnaire from 1926.

The collection includes subject files pertaining to specific academic schools, departments, center, and committees at the College of William & Mary that were created by the Office of the Provost. Please consult the series descriptions below to learn more about the kinds of records listed for each accession.

This collection is on 35mm microfilm. The collection includes boarding house accounts, 1888-1920; receipts, 1902-1935; expenditures, 1888-1928; cash disbursements and general cash accounts, 1902-1923; miscellaneous financial records, 1890-1934; student records, 1888-1906. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center.

A number of guidelines for specific schools about how to conduct a self study. The records range from 1972 to 1984.

The collection includes subject files, speeches, and other material from the administration of College of William & Mary President Thomas Ashley Graves with some overlap with his predecessor Davis Y. Paschall and his successor Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here.

Collection includes the general correspondence files of Kremer J. Hoke: Professor of Education, 1920-44; Dean, 1920-21; Dean of Students, 1921-22; Dean of the College, 1922-1938; Dean of the School of Education, 1934-38; Dean of Summer School, 1938-43. In addition to correspondences with a variety of individuals, collection contains materials related to: the American Council on Education; Association of American Colleges; Association of Southern College; Catalogue; Curriculum Committee; Education and English Departments; Examinations and enrollment; Faculty lectures, notices, letters and employment; Government bulletins; Institute of International Affairs; Monthy report summaries; National Education Association; Progressive Education Association; Publishers Correspondence; Southern Women's Educational Alliance; State Board of Education; Dean of Students Material; Summer Session.

Papers of Minor Wine Thomas, Sr. Includes 1928 response to Dr. Minor Wise Thomas of the State Teachers College in Radford, Virginia from J.A.C. Chandler of William & Mary about any vacancies in the Department of Education. Also includes letters between Minor Wine Thomas and Channing Hall, AshtonDovel, J.A.C. Chandler of William & Mary and others about surveys of land in James City County and Williamsburg, Virginia.

This collection contains the correspondence of William T. Hodges as Professor of Education, Director of Extension, Alumni Secretary, and Chairman of Faculty Committee on Athletics. Correspondents include President J.A.C. Chandler, students, public school officials, and others.

Ephemera of Williamsburg, Virginia and personal material and correspondence of the Bennett Family and Guy Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes the pamphlet "Higher Education and History" a speech by John R. Thelin for the College of William and Mary School of Education Alumni and Friends Distinquished Lecture Series, September 29, 1987.

The collection contains materials related to Dr. Armand J. Galfo's teaching in the School of Education, service to the College of William & Mary, and scholarship throughout his career, his teaching and scholarly activities, awards and achievements, and service in the Air Force and Air Force Reserves.

Dr. Armand J. Galfo received his degrees from the University of Buffalo: a B.A. in Chemistry and Mathematics in 1948, an Ed. M. in the Teaching of Science in 1952, and a Doctorate in Educational Administration and Curriculum Development in 1958, from the University of Buffalo. He joined the College of William & Mary faculty as an Assistant Professor in the School of Education in 1958, and became Associate Professor of Education and Director of Secondary School Teaching in 1966. He acted as an Assistant Dean to the School of Education in 1965-1966. In 1985, Dr. Galfo was appointed the first Heritage Professor of Education. He was reappointed in 1989, and given Emeritus status the same year. During his time at the College, Dr. Galfo also served in the Air Force Reserves as an Educational Research Consultant for almost sixty years, becoming Outstanding Reserve Officer of the Year and achieving the rank of Colonel in 1971.

In this oral history interview, Dr. Galfo talks about the history of the School of Education at W&M and projects that he conducted while a professor at William and Mary. The interview was conducted by Angela O'Sullivan, transcribed by Special Collections staff, and was revised by Dr. Galfo.

This collections consists of documents related to the development of School of Education courses designed to train teachers in the use of microcomputers [computers] in the mid-to-late 1980s. The collection includes press releases, a description and rationale for such courses, 1 syllabus for "Education 563-Problems in Education: Microcomputers in Education" and 1 syllabus for "Education 666-Application of Computer to Educational Problems: The Microcomputer." Also in this collection are articles and papers written by Dr. Bass and photocopies of news articles.

This collection contains class notes, syllabi, exams, and other material pertaining to Charles L. Kendrick while attending the College of William & Mary for his undergraduate and graduate degrees. Most of the material is from Kendrick's undergraduate courses, but there is also material related to his graduate work in the School of Education. The collection also includes a packet containing information about water safety and lifeguard training, the history of the Theta Delta Chi fraternity, and other material.

This collection consists of: 23 spiral notebooks, 42 bound noteboooks, and 1 term paper by Russel T. Smith; notes taken in history and education classes at William and Mary (1970-1972, 1979); and notes in English, geology, government, and history classes at the University of Texas (1963-1969). The collection also includes a manuscript composed by Russell Smith entitled "Random Reminiscences of the College of William and Mary During the 1970s" which is restricted until the death of the author.

Honorary Alumna; wife of Hulon Willis, the first African American student to attend the College of William and Mary.

This collection consists of one form, completed by student Solon Lee Baird on April 15, 1905, reporting how he had fulfilled a pledge to teach as Principal of a Virginia school since leaving the College of William & Mary. Pledges such as this were required of Virginia students who attended William & Mary receiving financial assistance with the understanding they would teach in Virginia upon graduation.

This collection consists of one form, completed by student Edward Francis Birckhead, reporting how he had fulfilled a pledge to teach as principal of Ivy High School in Albemarle County, Virginia since leaving the College of William & Mary.