Education & Teaching: Resources in Special Collections

The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of the photographs date from the 1920s-1940s.

The papers of Catherine Dennis include pages from the scrapbook she kept at the College of William & Mary. Dennis was part of the first class of women to attend the College. Photographs feature Dennis and other students, including Martha Barksdale, around campus. The collection also includes an invitation to the Students' Army Training Corps Ball, a letter from Lyon G. Tyler to Catherine Dennis, and a copy of the Alumni Gazette from September 1974 that includes the article "The Petticoat Invasion" about the first class of women.

Photograph album, circa 1910s-1920s, of John W. Henderson of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes photographs of his time at Williamsburg High School and photographs of pre-restoration Williamsburg. There are also photographs from his time at the College of William & Mary, including photographs of the first class of women at the College, various sporting events, and various plays put on by the Drama Club. Finally, there are photographs from Gloucester Point, Virginia as well as the Eastern Shore of Virginia, among other locations. Also included are other loose photographs of members of the Henderson family. Henderson later married Elizabeth Lee, one of the members of the first class of women at William & Mary.

Consists of one letter to College of William and Mary student Evelyn V. Palmer from her mother, who indicates she will travel to Williamsburg to sell goods in an effort to raise the funds her daughter requested. Mrs. Palmer also shares an update of events at the Palmer home in Suffolk, Virginia.

This collection contains completed questionnaires sent to women who attended William & Mary between 1918 and 1945, keypunch cards recording the data, computer printouts, and a code book. This data was gathered by Laura Parrish for her thesis "When Mary Entered with her Brother William: Women Students at the College of William & Mary, 1918-1945" (M. A. Thesis, College of William and Mary, 1988).

This collection contains scrapbooks related to faculty, students, and various programs and events at the College of William & Mary. Contains a scrapbook kept by a female student at the College of William & Mary. Most of the photographs were taken between 1918 and 1920. Contains photographs of College buildings, classmates, including the first class of women at the College, the student organization Alpha Mu Tau, Williamsburg before the Restoration, Martinsville, Virginia, and handwritten poems.

A soft black leather album with a stylized "W&M" on the cover containing pictures of William & Mary students, faculty, buildings, and events.

Student Activity Notebooks, 1936-1948. This accession contains loose-leaf notebooks with the names of female students and the activities they took part in. It also contains newspaper clippings, letters, and programs about women's activities, arranged by year. Office Records, 1928-1936. This accession includes correspondence and reports.

This collection contains biographical materials, correspondence, notebooks, scrapbooks, and other material related to former College of William & Mary Dean of Women Grace Warren Landrum from 1890-1995. Also included in the collection are dance and banquet programs; information about the dedication of Landrum Hall; and programs, news clippings, and photographs relating to the Matthew Whaley School from 1931-1932.

This collection contains correspondence, news clippings, photographs, and programs from Gladys Monroe's years as a student at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection is a speech given by Monroe about Grace Warren Landrum, former Dean of Women, at the dedication of Landrum Hall in 1959; programs from the William and Mary Dramatic Club from 1931 to 1933; photographs of Monroe, including a few with fellow theatre student Howard Scammon; news clippings about Ms. Monroe; and a Pi Beta Phi sorority bulletin from 1929.

This collection includes the annual report, course list, and invitations for the Department of Home Economics at the College of William & Mary. The Department of Home Economics at the College of William & Mary was organized in 1918 when the university began accepting women students. The Home Economics major included classes in the more "traditional" women's work, such as sewing and cooking, but it also included Math, English, and even Organic Chemistry.

This collection consists of a scrapbook, a secretary's book, and two copies of the H2E Club's constitution. The scrapbook contains lists of members, clippings about club activities, and photographs. The secretary's book contains roll calls and meeting minutes.

This scrapbook contains programs from student activities at the College such as the H2E Club Circus, theater productions, May Day events, debates, and Phi Beta Kappa events. It also includes student government materials, including a 1933 ballot and handbills from the Student Party and the Progressive Party, or "Non-Fraternity Frat."

This collection consists of one folder of meeting minutes from the Women's Physical Education Department.

This collection contains announcements, fliers, minutes, handbooks, reports, and programs from the Department of Physical Education at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection are programs and fliers for the student dance group, Orchesis; annual reports and handbooks from the women's physical education department; departmental meeting minutes; and copies of student projects and theses.

The collection includes meeting minutes, decisions, handbooks, announcements, constitutions, Women's Dorm Association Handbooks, The W&M Woman, A Handbook for Women Students published by the Women's Activities Council for 1966/67, and other related material.

Acc. 1983.028: Loose pages of an unbound scrapbook that include newspaper clippings, theater programs and tickets, convocation programs, a ticket to a lecture given at Phi Beta Kappa Hall by Robert Frost, a handbook of the Women Students' Cooperative Government Association, a registration card for spring 1940 classes, a program from the 1943 inauguration of John E. Pomfret as President of the College, and other materials.

This collection contains completed questionnaires sent to women who attended William and Mary between 1918 and 1945, keypunch cards recording the data, computer printouts, and a code book. This data was gathered by Laura Parrish for her thesis "When Mary Entered with her Brother William: Women Students at the College of William and Mary, 1918-1945" (M. A. Thesis, College of William and Mary, 1988).

The papers of Elizabeth Archer Barnard Nickels include scrapbooks, correspondence, invitations, publications, course work, and other material from her student life. Much of the material is from her time as a student at the College of William and Mary from 1937 through 1939. This covers the range of typical student activities from classes to football games to student government and other organizations. There is also some earlier material from Hopewell High School and the State Teacher's College. Some of the ephemera details Nickel's social life as a student and includes a card giving her future husband "social privileges at the College of William and Mary."

This collection contains fliers and newsletters from the Women's Forum at the College of William & Mary. The Women's Forum met to discuss issues such as women's rights and equality. Included in the collection are fliers for meetings of the Women's Forum, and copies of the Women's Equality Newsletter from 1973 to 1978.

The leather scrapbook of College of William & Mary student Anne F. Chenery includes photographs of campus life and family, news clippings, programs, tickets, corsages and other memorabilia, and related material compiled by Chenery. There are many photographs of other women students.

This collection includes three postcards, forty-four photos, and four assorted pictures, mainly of Anne Townsend Dudley's William & Mary years (1922-1926). Most of the photos were used in the 1924 Colonial Echo.

Papers, 1941-1945, of William & Mary undergraduate Margetta Doris (Hirsch) Doyle. Collection contains diaries, academic papers, papers regarding her student and extra-curricular activities, a graduation program and photographs. Diaries contain summary notes compiled by Margetta Doyle.

Contains a loose scrapbook of photographs detailing student life at the College of William & Mary that were collected by Muriel Johnstone, class of 1929, during her time at the College. Included are photographs of campus buildings, Johnstone's fellow classmates, and student activities, including athletics, May Pole dancing, and Johnstone's sorority, Kappa Delta.

This collection contains correspondence, news clippings, photographs, and programs from Gladys Monroe's years as a student at the College of William & Mary. Included in the collection is a speech given by Monroe about Grace Warren Landrum, former Dean of Women, at the dedication of Landrum Hall in 1959; programs from the William and Mary Dramatic Club from 1931 to 1933; photographs of Monroe, including a few with fellow theatre student Howard Scammon; news clippings about Ms. Monroe; and a Pi Beta Phi sorority bulletin from 1929.

The scrapbook of College of William & Mary student Marion Sargent Lane includes photographs of students, some routine correspondence from William & Mary, news clippings, programs, dance cards, corsages, and related material compiled by the student during her time at the College of William & Mary.

The collection includes three scrapbooks Mary Mackey Sainsbury compiled during her years at the College of William & Mary. The scrapbooks include various material related to sororities and Greek life on campus, athletic tickets, postcards, news clippings, correspondence, photographs, and related material.

The scrapbook of College of William & Mary student Caroline Baytop Sinclair includes photographs of campus life and buildings including the visit of President Warren Harding to campus, news clippings, programs, tickets, corsages and other memorabilia, and related material compiled by Sinclair.

The bulk of this collection is made up of letters written by Elizabeth (Bobbi) Feldwisch to her parents in Hawaii while she was a student at the College of William and Mary. In most of the letters she is referred to as Bobbi. Some of the subjects include sorority and fraternity life, dances, the different classes Bobbi is taking, Williamsburg events and places, and the various places she visited while on break from the classes at William and Mary, including Washington, D.C. and Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.