Medicine: Resources available in the Special Collections Research Center

Consists of one autograph album, 1876-1887, used by Ann M. Lawton, a midwife from South Middleboro, Massachusetts, to record the names of the babies she helped deliver. Each entry includes the baby's name, parent's names, date of birth, the weight of the baby, the doctor's name, and the place where they were born. Most of the babies were delivered in either Massachusetts or Rhode Island. On the opposite side of the first twelve entries, there are two lines to the poem "Baby" by George Macdonald.

Scrapbook, 1906-1915, kept most likely by a nurse of Corning Hospital, Corning, N.Y. Included are photographs (both personal and of pediatric patients), clippings, invitations, poems, and prayers. Some of the items relate to Montreal and Calgary, Canada.

Two five-year diaries, 1912-1916 and 1931-1935, kept by Harriet G. Davis of Hanover and Nashua, New Hampshire. Recorded are comments about her work as nurse, daily household chores, weather, health, outings and social events. At the end of the 1912-1916 volume, Davis lists wedding presents received.

Papers, 1917-1918 of Frances G. Hoppin who opened the Red Cross Grenelle Dispensary in Paris, France in 1917, one of about 30 civilian dispensaries administered by the Red Cross in Paris at that time. This accession consists of both personal papers and records relating to the dispensary. Included are two journals in which Frances Hoppin recorded both her personal experiences as well as business items relating to the dispensary. Also included is a 3-page report on the dispensary, detailing supplies, itemized expenses and salaries, and the number of people treated, etc.; personal and business correspondence, newspaper clippings in French and English, postcards, a program for classes in social hygiene, miscelleneous ephemera, and a photograph of a nurse with bedridden children at the Grenelle Dispensary in Paris, France.

This collection primarily concerns Clara Louise Walde Lawrence's career as a nurse in the period before, during, and after World War I. Materials in the collection include correspondence, scrapbooks, diaries, photographs and negatives, pamphlets, medical supplies, and other publications. Most of the correspondence, photographs, and publications relate to either WWI or nursing.

Diary, 1918-1919, of Edith Gibbons of Cleveland, Ohio. Includes information about her time working with the Young Women's Christian Association (YWCA) in England and Frace just after the end of World War I, giving aid to American soldiers still stationed there. There is also description of the scenery and landmarks she encountered, including he descriptions of damage done to them from the war. Gibbons also describes her experiences with German prisoners of war and her visit to a prisoner of war camp. Finally, she describes her interactions with soldiers whom she is helping and relates some of their stories about the war. Also included is Gibbons' passport.

Diary, 1917-1921, of an unknown nurse who served during World War I. She is first stationed at a hospital in Roselle, New Jersey. For a brief while she was also stationed at Camp Merritt, New Jersey. She set sail from Hoboken, New Jersey aboard the RMS Aurania on 8 January 1918. During the journey, she describes the damage from the Halifax Explosion, which had happened approximately a month previous. Once in Europe, she describes her journeys with the advancing U.S. Army, in both France and Belgium.

Edward Belvin's Collection of Williamsburg and James City County, Virginia material. Includes copies of wills and death certificates, correspondence and certificates. Includes appointment letter from Army Nurse Corps for Julia B. Heier of Portsmouth, Virginia dated March 6, 1918, with attached appointments through June 2, 1919.

Letters; 1927-1931, 1943-1945 of the Janney family of 'Roaring Springs,' Gloucester County, Va. Includes letters of Henrietta H. Janney to her daughter Emily R. Janney, a nurse at Union Memorial Hospital, Baltimore, Md. and the Duke Hospital, Durham, N.C., letters which describe life during the Great Depression in Gloucester County.

Diary, 1928, of Sybil Marie Rossman, a nurse at several hosptials in upstate New York.

Correspondence, photographs, and military papers concerning the World War II service of 2nd Lt. A.N.C. Lina Nancy Potter (1901-1975) of Narragansett, RI. Potter enlisted in the United States Armed Forces in 1942 and served as a nurse in a military hospital in India from 1943-1945. This collection consists of 23 letters of her outgoing wartime correspondence to family (her Aunt Harriet E. Weaver and Uncle Charles Weaver of Rhode Island) in the U.S., her military papers, and three wartime photographs of Potter and her fellow nurses. Potter's correspondence is of special interest because Potter was allowed to censor her own letters (perhaps because she was an officer) before they were sent to the United States. Thus, Potter's correspondence contains a log of wartime conditions at a hospital near Burma, India. Her letters discuss poor food and housing conditions, status of her work in India, the war in India and China, and aspects relative to women's history during WWII.

Papers, letters and photographs of Mary Frances Switzer of Florida who served as a WWII Army nurse in France. Letters are from friends and family, but mostly from her sometime beau, Allen Galer, who writes about the ups and downs of their relationship.

Contains diaries, 1956-1957, of Kay Walrath, a nurse. Diaries contain entries about her daily life, her Catholicism, going to confession, and other matters.