Medicine: Resources available in the Special Collections Research Center

The 67th Field Hospital Collection contains documents and photographs depicting the history of the 67th Field Hospital during the European Theater of World War II and the 17 reunions of the 67th Field Hospital held from 1986 to 2002.

Mss. Acc. 1995.61, one business ledger of receipts and expenditures for Dr. Baxter I. Bell for Bell Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia and one folder of loose business papers (25 items). 1926 to 1965. Mss. Acc. 1999.11, one business ledger of receipts and expenditures for Dr. Baxter I. Bell for Bell Hospital from 1953 to 1964.

Correspondence, 1861-1864, of William P. Allcot while he was serving with the 62nd New York Infantry Regiment in various camps around Washington, D. C. and in Virginia ending with his stay in Island Hospital, New York in 1861-62; those from Allcot while he was serving at camps and on battlefields in Virginia and Maryland, 1862-1864; and those from Allcot while he was a patient at Carver Hospital, Washington, D. C., 1864. Their contents describe conditions in camp and on the battlefield (Fredericksburg, Fair Oaks, Chancellorsville, and Gettysburg); express Allcot's views on the Civil War; discuss family affairs; and tell of his health and conditions at Carver Hospital.

Papers, 1950-1982, of R. Harvey Chappell, Jr., relating particularly to his tenures as president of the Virgina State Bar and the Richmond Bar Association and as a member of the council and executive committees of those organizations. Subjects covered by the papers include advertising by lawyers, contingency fees, the unauthorized practice of law, legal aid, legal ethics, lawyer referrals, legal assistants (paralegals) and the Crippled Children's Hospital of Richmond, Va.

Professional and personal papers; 1745-1892; of the Galt family of Williamsburg, Va. Papers primarily concern the Galt family's work at the Eastern State Hospital, including apothecary shop daybooks, account books, medical daybooks, clinical notebooks, weather diaries, commonplace books, reports, medical notes, lecture notes, correspondence, and other.

Papers, 1840-1862, of John M. Galt II concerning his work at the Eastern State Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes correspondence, reports, clinical notes, medical diaries, financial papers, and printed material. Two scrapbooks of newspaper clippings were added to the collection in 2011 and are in Box 17. The subject matter is mental health with topics such as insanity, murder, suicide and criminal behavior. Some clippings are about Eastern State Hospital (Virginia Lunatic Asylum) and other asylums. Headlines include "The Maniac and the Infant" and "Unfortunate and Melancholy Occurances." For a detailed box and folder inventory of this collection, plus digitalized images from the collection, please see the On-line Images/Records section

Dates; 1750-1982; consisting chiefly of the personal and business correspondence, financial and legal documents, literary documents, and family history and genealogy notes of the Galt family. The collection also contains clippings, photographs, and personal mementos such as artifacts. Includes John Minson Galt II's business papers while he was superintendent of the Hospital for the Insane and his extensive writings on psychiatry and the treatment of the insane

List of officers from 1773-1885 at Eastern State Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia. List includes categories for Keepers, Visiting Physicians, Matrons, Superintendents, Stewards, and Treasurers. Appears to be a part of a larger report

Papers, chiefly 1862-1868, relating to Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence, patient reports, and requisition orders of Dr. Peter Wager, director of the hospital during the Union occupation of Williamsburg. There are also replies, 1956-1957, to inquiries for information about Dr. John de Sequeyera [or Sequeyra], a physician at the hospital from 1773 to 1793, and the hospital during the Civil War.

Papers, 1826-1857, (including accounts and memorandum books) of various mercantile firms with which Jacob D. Sheldon was associated in Williamsburg, Va. such as Jacob Sheldon & Co.; Cole & Sheldon; Sheldon & Maupin; Peachy & Sheldon; Thomas G. Peachy & Co.; and W. W. Webb & Co. Also includes papers of Jacob C. Sheldon and of Roscow Cole. The collection includes accounts with professors and students at the College of William and Mary and with the College itself; with Eastern State Hospital

Letter bordered in black, from President John Tyler, Washington, D.C., to Dr. John Galt, Williamsburg, Virginia, dated March 28, 1843. Talks of the report on the Williamsburg Lunatic Asylum (Eastern State Hospital). "It must be a source of the highest gratification to every lover of his species to become satisfied that a disorder of so appalling a character as that of which you treat..." "I congratulate you upon the distinquished success owhich has marked your superintency..."

Daybook; 1850-1866; of Richard M. Bucktrout, merchant and mortician at Williamsburg, Va. Richard Manning Bucktrout's meticulous entries in his Daybook and Ledger form a diary, a detailed account of daily life and death in a small, but historically important, Virginia town for sixteen years before, during, and briefly after the Civil War. A number of entries detail the upkeep and repairs of the Eastern Lunatic Asylum, where Bucktrout for some years had a maintenance contract. The Bucktrout Daybook has been digitized and is available online at the link below:

Diary, 1862 January 21-June 8, of F. N. Walker, captain in the 3rd South Carolina Volunteers, in which he discusses what he is reading; news he hears of battles, and marching from Manassas, Va. (including a visit to the battlefield of First Bull Run) to the vicinity of Yorktown and Williamsburg, Va. (mentioning the statue of Lord Botetourt, College of William and Mary, and Eastern State Hospital). 96 p. : bound volume

Manuscript affidavit of H. Clinton Thomson, MD, on the conditions of Eastern Lunatic Asylum, Williamsburg, Virginia. March 3, 1866. Describes the patients and the buildings when he arrived in 1862 to take charge of the hospital. The patients were in need of food and clothing, the sewage system of the buildings had been confiscated for the war and bedding and other items used when the "rebels" were in Williamsburg. He enlisted the help of Henry M. Bowden and wife who had been officers of the institution before the war. Per a request to the Governor of Western Virginia, Doctor Gillet Watson soon arrived to take over management of the asylum.

Manuscripts purchased in memory of Henry C. Hoar, a volunteer in the Manuscripts Department of Swem Library, College of William and Mary. Includes a list of servants at the Eastern Lunatic Asylum during the Civil War.

Contains ledgers, 1857-1901, of Henley T. Jones, Jr., of Williamsburg, Virginia. Henley Jones operated a drug store in Williamsburg, and the ledgers contain the records of his business, including the name of the patron, what the purchased, and the price, from 1873 to 1878. Includes records of Jones' buisness with Eastern State Hospital, then called Eastern Lunatic Asylum.

Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. He graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children. Includes Victoria Lee Scrapbook. The spine of the scrapbook says “Register of the Eastern State Lunatic Asylum 1858-1859. Notes from the register are shown for some patients, but most have been covered over by the glued newspaper clippings. There is a general index to the Eastern State Lunatic Asylum in the back which is not covered.

12 Ledgers, 1876-1916, from the Eastern Lunatic Asylum in Williamsburg, Virginia recording purchases of food items, kitchen items, tools, clothing and other items for the hospital.

Papers from the household of Dora Travis Armistead (1890-1979) and Rowland Cara Armistead, sisters of Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes letters, personal, financial and business papers of Cary Peyton Armistead (1856-1901), father of Dora and Cara, Steward of Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital). The papers pertain primarily to Armistead family finances, health and personal affairs, the financial operation of the asylum/hospital, and school and church issues.

Broadside, "A Card from the Engineer of The E.L. Asylum" by Galba Vaiden, late engineer of the Eastern Lunatic Asylum, about favoritism in firing and hiring employees. Possibly 1890.

This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history. Includes correspondence of Robert W. Hughes concerning the construction of the boarding house, hospital, and Taliaferro Hall, 1896-94, 12 pieces. [transfered to the R. M. Hughes Papers]

The collection includes a number of accessions and groups of records directly from the Office of Facilities Management including publications, administrative records, blueprints, and other documents as well as blueprints and other architectural drawings that come under the administrative responsibility of the office, but may have been transferred from miscellaneous sources. Includes numerous materials related to the Eastern State Hospital

Account book, 1907-1913, of Bozarth Brothers, hardware merchants and lumbermen, Williamsburg, Va. including mill and lumber accounts, hardware store accounts, inventories of stock and accounts as potato brokers; also including lumber account, 1909, with Eastern State hospital.

This collection contains copies of published articles by Professor Wayne Kernodle and others; Eastern State Hospital papers

Materials Relating to Archibald Ward when he was the Chaplain at Eastern State Hospital. Notebook "textbook" labeled "Psycho-Biology" which includes handwritten case notes, notebook "textbook", "Neuropsychiatric Seminars, 1958-1959" edited by Leonard J. Ravitz, M.D. which includes training session material and case notes from Eastern State Hospital and what appears to be typed excerpts from a journal entitled "From Francis to Ironbound...and Beyond" which mentions events around Williamsburg, Virginia, bound notebook "Lecture I to Staff of Eastern State Hospital...a Definition of Psychosomatic Phenomen" by Sanford I. Cohen, M.D. and other lectures, dated January 30, 1958, a pamphlet "Therapeutic Procedures for the Chaplain" written by Archibald F. Ward, Jr. and a reprint of an April 1952 article from the Virginia Medical Monthly, "Mental Health" by Joseph E. Barrett, M.D.

This collection is composed of records from the Office of the President during the administration of Davis Young Paschall, 1960-1971, at the College of William and Mary. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here. Includes numerous documents on the Eastern State Hospital

Diary, 1892, of a patient named Binnie in Maine General Hospital in Portland, Maine. She described her life on the ward, her treatments, and the movements of other patients on and off of her ward.

Handwritten diary by a Hospital Corps man detailing repeated trips to Cuba between December 5, 1898 and May, 1899. He was chosen from a Hospital Corps School in Washington, D.C. (Established in 1898, often called "Old Naval Hospital") to be among twelve sent on a humanitarian mission to Cuba. He sails from New York to Cuba on the Bay State Hospital Ship, which is delayed after an explosion within fifty feet of the diarist. The Bay State Hospital Ship was a project of the Massachusetts Volunteer Association which was organized in 1898 to send medical and humanitarian supplies to benefit U.S. troops overseas and particularly troops and local people in Cuba and Jamaica.

Sally Louisa Tompkins was born 1833 at "Poplar Hall" in Mathews, Virginia, daughter of Christopher and Maria Patterson Tompkins. She opened the Robertson Hospital in Richmond, Virginia where she and her staff of doctors treated the Confederate wounded. In recognition of her efforts, she was awarded an officer's commission as a captain in the Confederate States Army by President Jefferson Davis.

Logbooks, account books and accounts, 1807-1841, of Christopher Tompkins kept while captain of ship "Pocahontas", 1807-1809, and while running a general merchandise store in Mathews Co., Va. Includes typed excerpts from a memoir of Tompkins compiled by his son, Christopher Quarles Tompkins in 1860 and twenty-one pages from an account book listing foodstuffs of A. Y. P. Garnett, surgeon in Sally Tompkins' Confederate hospital, Robertson Hospital, in Richmond, Virginia during the Civil War.

Papers of Richard M. Bucktrout, merchant and mortician in Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes correspondence, receipts, financial papers, records of soldiers killed at the Battle of Williamsburg and legal papers, dated 1855 to 1869. List of deaths at the Seminary Hospital from July to November, 1861 in Williamsburg, Virginia and coffins made for soldiers dying in Williamsburg in July-August, 1861.

Papers of Doctor Vincent T. DeVita, former director of the National Cancer Institute and chief of surgical oncology at Sloan-Kettering Memorial Medical Center concerning aspects of National Cancer Institute's activities, programs, and agenda. Includes congressional testimony, minutes of meetings, correspondence relating to committees and associations, articles by Dr. DeVita, memoranda, and speeches. Also included arehistories of various programs at NCI, correspondence about cancer treatments, cancer newsletters, AIDS newsletter, Physicians Data Query, videotapes of news programs and correspondence relating to Dr. C. G. Zubrod's tenure at NCI. There is some material on NCI participation in AIDS research. DeVita did research on lymphoma (Hodgkin's Disease, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma and Burkitt's lymphoma), pneumocystis carinii pneumonia, aspergillosis, ovarian carcinoma and breast carcinoma.

Letters; 1927-1931, 1943-1945 of the Janney family of 'Roaring Springs,' Gloucester County, Va. Includes letters of Henrietta H. Janney to her daughter Emily R. Janney, a nurse at Union Memorial Hospital, Baltimore, Md. and the Duke Hospital, Durham, N.C., letters which describe life during the Great Depression in Gloucester County.

Handwritten note for possible examination, "Questions of Physiology", dated February 17, 1820. Found inside a printed volume from the Western State Hospital Medical Library collecion, The Elements of Physiology by A. Richerand. Reverse side has notes on vaccinations and catheters.

Bylaws, 1930 and meeting minutes, 1943-1948 of the medical staff of Whittacker Memorial Hospital, Newport News, Virginia. The bylaws define medical staff as medical doctors and the meetings cover all aspects of the hospital's medical services, general administration and day to day business. The meeting minutes cover a variety of business including matters related to staff and patient care. At least one reference to abortion was found by a researcher (during a class demonstration in 2/2010). Addtional coverage is possible.