Medicine: Resources available in the Special Collections Research Center

Papers, 1838-1882, of Gideon Christian, physician, of Norfolk, Va. The collection includes letters, accounts, lotteries, prescriptions, and forms for excusing draftees into the Confederate Army on medical grounds. A 1993 addendum to this collection (Mss. Acc. 1993.63) consists of two medical essays and one College of William and Mary student notebook belonging to Dr. Gideon Christian. The student notebook begins October 15th 1840. Medical essays include notes made while attending medical lectures, a schedule of fees for physicians practicing in New Kent County (8 August 1844) and ledger of accounts for Dr. Christian's patients (1846).

This collection includes numerous lectures, primarily on medical topics, but also on ethics, religion and history. It also includes the text of remarks made by Dr. Bickers at the dedication of the Bickers Professorship in Middle Eastern Studies, held August 30, 1989 at the Wendy and Emery Reves Center.

This collection contains annual reports, fliers, booklets, and pamphlets for and about student health issues at the College of William and Mary. Also, fliers for the Alan Bukzin Memorial Bone Marrow Drive. Fall,2009, "How to Protect Yourself in the Workplace during Flu Season" adapted from OSHA "Guidance on Preparing Workplaces for an Influenza Pandemic".

Notes, ca. 1840-1850, from lectures on "materia medica," [probably taken at the Franklin Institute, Philadelphia, Pa.]

Notes, 1845, of John W. Garlick, student at Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, Pa., interfiled with a printed syllabus of lectures by Thomas D. Mutter. The book includes memoranda of a private school operated by the Pendleton family of "Cuckoo," Louisa County, Va.

Kept as a student at Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, Pa. Includes notes on principles and practice of physic delivered by J. K. Mitchell and principles and practice of surgery by Samuel D. Gross. Also contains genealogical notes, ca. 1901, concerning the Clarke family.

Personal and professional papers of Amos Ralph Koontz, surgeon. The personal papers, 1865-1986, include the correspondence of Koontz, his wife, Besse (Stocking) Koontz and their son, James William Koontz. Included are travel diaries, documents concerning the College of William and Mary and Johns Hopkins and material relating to social clubs and societies. The professional papers contain correspondence relating to Koontz' medical practice, political material, documents pertaining to military service, memberships in professional organizations, and newspaper and magazine article reprints.

Papers of Doctor Vincent T. DeVita, former director of the National Cancer Institute and chief of surgical oncology at Sloan-Kettering Memorial Medical Center concerning aspects of National Cancer Institute's activities, programs, and agenda. Includes congressional testimony, minutes of meetings, correspondence relating to committees and associations, articles by Dr. DeVita, memoranda, and speeches. Also included arehistories of various programs at NCI, correspondence about cancer treatments, cancer newsletters, AIDS newsletter, Physicians Data Query, videotapes of news programs and correspondence relating to Dr. C. G. Zubrod's tenure at NCI. There is some material on NCI participation in AIDS research. DeVita did research on lymphoma (Hodgkin's Disease, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma and Burkitt's lymphoma), pneumocystis carinii pneumonia, aspergillosis, ovarian carcinoma and breast carcinoma.

Correspondence and financial papers of George Cabaniss, Dr. John Cabaniss, and James Cabaniss. Includes a deposition, 1818, in the Richmond District of the Virginia High Court of Chancery and six letters, 1819-1821, written by Dr. William Booth, while a medical student in New York, New York and as a physician at Courtland, Alabama.

Notes, 1795, on medicine probably taken by a student in Edinburgh [Scotland].

Negative photostats of papers, 1721-1767, of the Jones family of Northumberland County, Va. Includes letters written by Walter Jones while a student at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Va. and while studying medicine at Edinburgh, Scotland and while in Williamsburg, Va. to his brother Thomas Jones of Northumberland County, Va. Originals located at the Library of Congress.

Notes, 1822-1828, of Dawson Warren [University of Maryland Medical School, Baltimore, Md. and Surry County, Va.]

A medical student's notes, possibly as a student of Dr. Benjamin Rush of the College of Philadelphia (University of Pennsylvania). Includes an index with entries such as Animal Food, Blisters and Diseases of the Mind. Each topic is handwritten on one page, with a description of the ailment and the remedy. Notes are bound in book form with a leather cover. The spine has a title "Rush's Lectures." 440 pages. Notes are on numbered pages 1 - 330 and the index is at end of book.

Papers, 1799-1802, which include certificate of attendance, 24 February 1802, for Carey Wilkinson, of Williamsburg, Va. at the training school of the Pennsylvania Hospital, Philadelphia, Pa. and admission cards, 1799-1801, for lectures (some given by professors at the University of Pennsylvania) signed by Benjamin Rush on clinical medicine, James Woodhouse on chemistry, Philip Syng Physick on surgery, William P. Dewees on midwifery and John Ewing on natural philosophy.

Notes, 1811-1812, on the "Practice of Medicine" taken by William Baird Westmore of Petersburg, Va. from the lectures of Dr. Benjamin Rush, of the University of Pennsylvania.

"Lectures on the Institute and Practice of Physic," taken by Edward M. Watts and based on the lectures of Doctor Nathaniel Chapman of the University of Pennsylvania. The volume includes the name Geo[rge] W. Maupin.

Letters to James Lawrence Cabell, professor of anatomy and surgery at the University of Virginia from John A. Cabell and Joseph C. Cabell; and Russell Murdock (discussing the optic nerve.)

Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The collection includes letters written to Socrates Maupin (1809-1871), professor of medicine at the University of Virginia, including letters to him and correspondence of his son Chapman Maupin (1846- 1900), during the American Civil War and while studying in Europe.

Collection is mostly genealogical notes and copies of wills compiled by Thomas Jefferson Stubbs, but includes letters of John Catlett Stubbs while studying medicine in Charlottesville and Baltimore.

Account book, 1869-1889, of Doctor James Lawrence Cabell, professor of anatomy and surgery at the University of Virginia. Includes his accounts as treasurer of the University of Virginia Chapel fund, as physician to professors at the University, and his personal accounts. The volume was later owned by Cabell's executor, Edward B. Smith.

Relate to Archibald Ward when he was Chaplain at Eastern State Hospital. Notebook "textbook" labeled "Psycho-Biology" which includes handwritten case notes, notebook "textbook", "Neuropsychiatric Seminars, 1958-1959" edited by Leonard J. Ravitz, M.D. which includes training session material and case notes from Eastern State Hospital and what appears to be typed excerpts from a journal entitled "From Francis to Ironbound...and Beyond" which mentions events around Williamsburg, Virginia, bound notebook "Lecture I to Staff of Eastern State Hospital...a Definition of Psychosomatic Phenomen" by Sanford I. Cohen, M.D. and other lectures, dated Jan. 30, 1958, a pamphlet "Therapeutic Procedures for the Chaplain" written by Archibald F. Ward, Jr. and a reprint of an Apr. 1952 article from the Virginia Medical Monthly, "Mental Health" by Joseph E. Barrett, M.D.

Papers, 1765 (1800-1890) 1939, of the Austin, Twyman, Spiller and Horsley families of Amherst and Buckingham counties, Va. Papers include correspondence of Archibald Austin's son-in-law, Doctor Iverson Lewis Twyman (1810-1864) who married first, Mary Lavinia Horsley and second, Martha E. Austin. His correspondence concerns slavery, farm management, the study and practice of medicine and the education of his children whose letters are also part of the collection.

Handwritten note for possible examination, "Questions of Physiology", dated February 17, 1820. Found inside a printed volume from the Western State Hospital Medical Library collecion, The Elements of Physiology by A. Richerand. Reverse side has notes on vaccinations and catheters.

Treatise on the materia medica (part 1) and the theory and practice of physic (part 2) by Bushrod Rust, physician, Upperville, Fauquier County, Virginia, circa 1807-post 1813.

Notes, 1872-1873, taken by [John C. Stubbs], student at Washington University, Baltimore, Md. The notes concern chemistry and medicine. See also John C. Stubbs Notebook (MsV Nme10) and letters of Stubbs in the Thomas Jefferson Stubbs Papers (Mss. 65 St9). Washington University in Baltimore became defunct in 1877. See Baltimore: Its History and Its People (New York, 1912), Vol. I, pp. 595-596.