Medicine: Resources available in the Special Collections Research Center

Scrapbook belonging to Eliza H. Cocke which contains newspaper clippings. The clippings were pasted into a fee-book, 1754-1763, of Robert Johnston, physician, Smithfield, Va.

Three ledgers and an account book, 1805-1826, of an unidentified physician who practiced in the vicinity of Gloucester County, Va., Mathews County, Va., and King and Queen County, Va.

Ledger, 1823-1851, of Joseph Edie, physician.

Ledger, 1826-1848, of Dr. John Bragg, Petersburg, Va. concerning his medical practice.

Papers of the Blow family of "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and of the Waller family. Includes medical account books, 1836-1851, of Dr. Richard Blow.

Fee book, 1839-1845, of Newsom J. Pittman, physician, of Rocky Mount, N. C.

Ledger, 1840-1864, of Hirshes & Webb, Mt. Solon, Augusta County, Va. One volume (MsV Ame56) contains accounts and a memoranda of James F. Clarke, physician, Mt. Solon, Va.

Fee book, 1841-1855, of [Philip B.] Duvall and [Walter] Jones, physicians [Rappahannock County, Va. ?] which includes a list of prices for various medical procedures, and a newspaper clipping on medical prices in Culpeper County, Va.

Ledger, 1843-1858, of William J. Harrison, physician of Sussex County, Va.

This collection consists of a medical account book written by Dawson Warren, M.D. (????-1850), who practiced medicine at Surry County, VA. This account book spans the period of 1844 to 1849 and contains information on patient visits (including slaves), charges for services rendered, payments made, and bonds payable to Dr. Warren.

Ledger, 1845-1871, of Joseph Wilson, physician, of Churchville, Augusta County, Va.

Membership and fee book, 1852-1854, of the Medico-Chirurgical Society of Richmond, Va. The volume was also used as a record, 1867-1870, of visits by John P. Little, physician.

Photocopy of an account book belonging to Dr. Thomas P. Marston of James City County, Virginia, from 1852-1871.

Ledger, 1853-1857, of [William L. Williams ?], a physician.

Receipt book, 1853-1876, of Dr. G. G. Davison, Lexington, Va.

Fee book, 1855-1858, of George H. Dinges, physician, of Mt. Crawford, Rockingham County, Va.

Ledger, 1857-1872, of William J. Pendleton, physician, at Cuckoo, Louisa County, Va.

Fee book, 1858-1859, of George H. Dinges and Joseph B. Webb, physicians, Mt. Crawford, Rockingham County, Va.

Fee book, 1859-1863, of George H. Dinges, Mt. Crawford, Rockingham County, Va.

Account book, 1861-1866, of Dr. G. A. Brown which includes account book, 1865-1868, of Brown and Crawford, physicians, Strasburg, Shenandoah County, Va.

This collection is composed of an account book, 1872-1873, kept by Leonard Henley, Jr. a druggist in Williamsburg, Virginia. The account book includes names of residents who had accounts. Henley's store sold other merchandise as well as medicine.

Correspondence, 1873-1903, of Dr. James Fenton Bryant. Chiefly, 1885-1888, with Margaret (Gunter) Bryant of Enfield, N. C. who became his second wife. The collection also includes account books and a diary of Dr. Bryant.

Cash book, 1894-1902, and account book, of George Keesee Vanderslice, of Phoebus, Va.

Account book, 1896-1915, of Doctor S. B. Barham, of Runnymede, Surry County, Va. kept while practicing medicine.

Bills and accounts, 1904-1910, of Dr. S. B. Barham, Runnymede, Surry Co., Va.

Includes one business ledger of receipts and expenditures for Dr. Baxter I. Bell for Bell Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia and one folder of loose business papers (25 items), 1926 to 1965. Also includes one business ledger of receipts and expenditures for Dr. Baxter I. Bell for Bell Hospital from 1953 to 1964.

An artificial collection of papers. Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere. Includes accounts of James Langley, 1772-1790. Lists his medical treatments and illnesses beside each name.

This collection consists of a physician's daybook kept by Dr. George Williamson of New Market, Virginia whose practice extended throughout the Shenandoah Valley. Spanning 1808-1819 the daybook records names of patients, treatments, and payments (for both Caucasians and African-Americans). Treatments range from inoculations and venereal disease to all night vigils.

Medical accounts, 1811-1834, of Dr. Richard P. Ludlow and Alexander Somervail in Essex County, Virginia with members of the Rowzee family. Includes invoices against the estate of John Rowzee.

Notebook, ca. 1820-1840, of an unidentified physician or pharmacist. The volume contains medical formulae as well as formulae for household remedies, inks, and dyes.

Medical ledger, 1825-1837, of James Keen, a physician in Mecklenburg County, Virginia. Notes information about visits to patients which include treatments, medicines dispensed, prescriptions, notes, calculations and payment records. There are over 60 entries for the treatment of slaves in which several individuals are named. One includes the removal of a tumor from a "Negro Woman". An alphabetical index in the back of the ledger lists the names of the patients and the respective pages on which the records are located. The ledger contains loose receipts for visits, treatments, prescriptions, etc. Some medicines prescribed are : 1 doz pills, opiate pills, laudanum, Canthar pills, epsom salts, castor oil, hive syrup, nitric acid, blue pills and magnesium. Some treatments include tumor extraction, blister plaster and coughs.

"Miscellaneous observations and extracts medical and surgical," by an unidentified person, 1836. The volume also includes French exercises by Minna L. Bolton.

Autographs albums, library catalogs of personal libraries, maps, math notes and scrapbooks. Includes day book of John Cullen, 1841-1842, physician, of Richmond, Virginia. Lists patients he saw each day and occasionally notes their illness.

Account books, 1842-1876, of Rev. Daniel Thomas (a Dunkard minister) of Rockingham County, Va. and his administrator. Includes prescriptions for the treatment of disease.

Contain oystering accounts; farm accounts for "Porto Bella," York County, Virginia and "New Hope," [?]; cash accounts of Williamsburg, Virginia; list of ages and prices of slaves; records of physician's visits to family and slaves; remedy for colic; and memorandum of a purchase of land from College of William and Mary in October 1847.

Daybook, 1854-1879, kept by James Turner Clarke, physician in Augusta County, Va.

Medical notebook, 1856, of George W. Winter, Bridgeport, Va. [W. Va.]

Includes accounts as a doctor in Augusta County, Va. with members of the Blakemore family and with Jedediah Hotchkiss. Also contains register of births of slaves, free blacks, and whites (1857-1897).

Ledger, 1860-1875, of S. G. Davis, physician, Amissville, Rappahannock County, Virginia, which includes remedies for consumption, rheumatism, and cholera.

Notebook, 1867-1868, of an unidentified physician containing case histories of patients and a record of [smallpox ?] vaccine sent to various places in the United States.

Notebook, 1877-1878, of an unidentified physician, kept in The Physician's Daily Pocket Record . . . 1877 and used as a daily record of patient visits and as a [smallpox ?] vaccination record.

Case book, 1896-1924, of Gray G. Hollaway, a physician, of Portsmouth, Va.

Record, 1928-1932, entitled, "Physicians Record of Prescriptions" kept by M. F. McNorton which contains a record of whiskey dispensed for medicinal purposes at Yorktown, Williamsburg, Richmond, and other locations in Tidewater Virginia during Prohibition.

Accounts, surveys and correspondence, chiefly 1743-1823, of members of the Cabell family of Albemarle and Amherst counties, Virginia. Includes accounts and land transactions, 1733-1754, of Dr. William Cabell (1700-1774) as well as letters written to him concerning medical treatment.

Papers of the Austin, Twyman, Spiller and Horsley families of Amherst and Buckingham counties, Va. Papers include correspondence of Archibald Austin's son-in-law, Doctor Iverson Lewis Twyman (1810-1864) who married first, Mary Lavinia Horsley and second, Martha E. Austin. His correspondence concerns slavery, farm management, the study and practice of medicine.

Letters, accounts, and legal papers of Dr. Charles Brown. Collection includes letters, 1813-1818, concerning patients (including slaves).

Personal papers and business accounts; 1820-1900; of the Luttrell and Cooke families of Rappahannock and Culpeper Counties. Papers discuss Buchanan's inauguration, Sons of Temperance, and the difficulties of a doctor trying to establish a practice at Bridgewater, Va.

Correspondence, 1833-1855, of members of the Ayres family including John W. Ayres. Letters concern the Methodist Church, abolitionists, politics, Thomsonian medicine

Journal, 1837-1845, of Joseph Edie, physician.

Diaries, 1846-1861, of an unidentified woman of Lakeville, Livingston County in New York State. Other place names mentioned most frequently: East Avon, Albion and Lima and Lakeville Rd. in Avon. The writer describes her chores, like candle making, soap making, spinning and weaving and social calls, health and medical treatments and taking care of sick community members.

Manuscript volumes kept by several generations of the Macon family of New Kent ["Ingleside"] and Hanover ["New Castle"] Counties, Va. including William Hartwell Macon (1759-1843), Doctor William Hartwell Macon (1819-1891) and William Hartwell Macon (1850-1918). The volumes are four ledgers concerning farming and medical practice and a diary.

Collection includes papers concerning Essex County, Va. including land records and wills. Includes "Letters to a Nineteenth Century Physician" paper by R.D. Jordan. Papers concerns letters from owners of ailing slaves in Albemarle County, Virginia to Charles Brown, a Charlottesville physician.

Papers, 1856-1907, of James F. Clarke, physician, of Mt. Solon, Va. Includes letters and accounts.

Diaries, 1858-1872, of Dr. Robert Page Waller of Williamsburg, Va. Although Waller was a medical doctor, these diaries do not relate to the practice of medicine. During the period from October 1862 to July 1865, Waller lived in Lynchburg, Va. The diaries concern farming, his ill-health, family, the Civil War and Reconstruction.

Diaries and letters, 1860-1878, of Celia Birdsall and her uncle Ephraim Lockman. Diaries date from 1872 and 1878 and were written by Celia Birdsall; in them, she details her personal life, funerals, what she did each day, and friends with which she met. The letters date 1860-1870 and were written by Ephraim Lockman. In them, he discusses his work, opening his own doctor's practice, and his location in the city of Buffalo, New York. Lockman graduated from Western Reserve Medical School. There are also cut out dolls with faces and clothes drawn on them.

Personal and professional papers of Amos Ralph Koontz, surgeon. The personal papers, 1865-1986, include the correspondence of Koontz, his wife, Besse (Stocking) Koontz and their son, James William Koontz. Included are travel diaries, documents concerning the College of William and Mary and Johns Hopkins and material relating to social clubs and societies. The professional papers contain correspondence relating to Koontz' medical practice, political material, documents pertaining to military service, memberships in professional organizations, and newspaper and magazine article reprints.

Inventory contains the papers of Alexander Brown (1843-1906), farmer, merchant and author who lived in Nelson County, Virginia. Includes January 24, 1876 letter from R.V. Pierce, M.D. of "Chronic Diseases of Either Sex" to Alexander Brown where Dr. Pierce states "the affection you describe is some form of venereal disease" with an enclosure about remittance of money.

Diaries, 1903-1905, 1907, and 1915, of Doctor S. B. Barham of Runnymede, Surry County, Va. which discuss his medical practice and events in his neighborhood.

Diary of a medical doctor who served in the U.S. Navy beginning July 5, 1942, when he reported for duty at the Navy Yard in Washington, D.C. The name given on the front of the diary is H.T. Wilbur which suggests him as the author. Wilbur was detached for duty to the U.S.M.C. recruiting station, also Washington, D.C. He writes extensively on medical issues and cases and events encountered during his tour of duty. At the start of his diary he also reflects on his career decision and discusses qualifications and certification, etc.

Letters of Thomas C. Douglass, 1941-1946, relating to World War II. Letters to his wife Suzanne Lyon Wallace Douglass (1922-1999) concern family issues and war news and include descriptions of his medical practices and financial dealings.

Artificial collection of papers relating to various cities in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Includes obituary of Dr. James Blaine Blayton, Sr., a physician in Williamsburg, Virginia. December 18, 2002.

Subscription book, ca. 1840-1860, for a [medical journal ?], n.p.