Medicine: Resources available in the Special Collections Research Center

Record, 1696-1730, of rents received and due from tenants of Sir Francis Head, Whindhill Manor, [Kent Co. ? Eng.] including home remedies and recipes. Includes an inventory.

Travel account, 1744, of George Zimmerman's trip from Switzerland to America. The volume includes medicinal remedies kept by Zimmerman.

Photocopy, 1761-1782, of a memorandum book used by John Littlefield, of Wells, Maine which mentions The Stamp Act, Boston Tea Party, resolves of the Wells, Maine Committee; and notations concerning soldiers. It was later used, 1790-1823 and 1845, for recipes for various medicines, legal forms, and Littlefield family records.

Recipe book, 1806-1815, of William A. Baker, of Winchester, Va., containing recipes for beer, wine, and liquor as well as formulae for varnish, sealing wax, cosmetics, medicinal remedies, ink, and dyes.

Recipe book, ca. 1820-1900, of Harriet P. Sheldon, Williamsburg [Va.] and Mary B. Curtis, Wilson's Creek, Gloucester County, Va. which includes loose papers and newspaper clippings. The volume includes home remedies and a list of household items.

Recipe book, ca. 1825-1835, of Dr. John B. Wiley, Gerrardstown, W. Va. The volume includes home remedies, a recipe for cold cream and a household inventory, 1829.

Memorandum book, 1829-1880, of Littleton Clayvell which contains a brief record of the meetings of the Maryland Annual Conferences of the Methodist Protestant Church and a record, 1847-1880, of marriages, births, and deaths. The volume also contains medicinal remedies.

Manuscript recipes, mainly nineteenth century, and a recipe manuscript volume, 1830-1845, including recipes for relishes, jellies, puddings, and cakes. Also includes recipes for soap and home remedies

Recipe book, 1835-1860, of an unidentified person which includes home remedies and cleansers.

Recipe book, 1845-1846, of Betsy Woodson V. Morton which includes home remedies, and detailed instructions and diagrams for dyeing and weaving counterpanes, carpets, and dimity.

Recipe book, ca. 1845-1855, of an unidentified person which includes formulae for ink and home remedies.

Ledger, 1847-1872, of an unidentified merchant which includes medical cures.

Account book, 1849-1875, of William Fravel, Shenandoah County, Va. which includes a remedy for "itch."

Recipe book, ca. 1850-1860, of an unidentified person which includes household hints and home remedies.

Journal, 1853-1857, of Daniel G. Smith, merchant, of Leesburg, Va., which includes a list of slaves with a record of provisions and shoes; sketch of lime kiln; recipes; and medical cures.

Receipt [recipe] book, ca. 1890, of R. B. Cringan, Richmond, Va. which includes home remedies and loose papers.

Commonplace book, circa 1894 to 1905, of C. Batchelder, likely of Boston, Massachusetts. Book contains food recipes, cocktail recipes, medical remedies, hieroglyphics, the Morse Code alphabet, information on astronomy, information on the boiling point of various liquids, excerpts from the Egyptian Book of the Dead, and other philosophical and scientific entries.