Armed Conflicts & the Military in the Special Collections Research Center

This collection holds material about First Lieutenant Todd W. Weaver, a 2008 alumnus of the College of William and Mary '08, who died September 9, 2010, in Kandahar, Afghanistan, of wounds suffered when insurgents attacked his unit with an improvised explosive device. The collection includes programs, news clippings, and related material from memorials, dedications, and other events. Included are a program and speech from the tree dedication ceremony at the College of William and Mary on November 14, 2010; an advertisement for the establishment of the 1st Lt. Todd W. Weaver Memorial Award by the College of William and Mary; news clippings; and other material. Two DVDs containing the memorial service at Williamsburg Community Chapel, on September 25, 2010, and the interment service at Arlington National Cemetery, on October 14, 2010, are housed in the University Archives Audiovisual Collection.

This collection contains programs for the Annual Memorial Service at the College of William and Mary to honor those that have died during the preceding year. In 1978 the service became known as the Sunset Ceremony held in October during Homecoming. Specific ceremonies that have been conducted in the past include "Roster of the Dead" and placing the wreath on Colonel Benjamin S. Ewell's Grave held in June, Fallen French Soldiers in 1981, Constance M.K. Applebee in 1982, former College President John Stewart Bryan in 1944, former College President Thomas Roderick Dew in 1939, John F. Kennedy in 1963, Goronwy Owen in 1957, and the victims of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks.

This collection contains fliers for "Walk to Talk Peace" that took place on the campus of the College of William and Mary in February 2003. The event addressed the possible military action of the United States in Iraq. Also included is a flier for the "No War On Iraq: National March on Washington DC."

This collection contains administrative records, fliers, and posters created by the Latin American Student Union (LASU), a student group at the College of William & Mary. Included in the records are drafts of the group's consitution, agendas from meetings, and posters and fliers related to the LASU sponsored event "State Terrorism in Latin America Awareness Week" in March 2011. More information about the Latin American Student Union can be found on their webpage.