Research Guides: Armed Conflicts &amp; the Military in the Special Collections Research Center: Quasi-War

Access Tools

Special Collections Research Center Access Tools: There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person. Please email spcoll@wm.edu to make an appointment.

Quasi-War Sources in the Special Collections Research Center

John Marshall Papers
Papers of John Marshall database linked is for WM community use. Original letters and copies of letters from other repositories, chiefly 1788-1835, of John Marshall's correspondence with his wife, Mary Willis (Ambler) Marshall, other family members, James Monroe, Joseph Story, Bushrod Washington, and others. The correspondence reflects Marshall's wide range in interests including law, Virginia and U. S. politics, international affairs, agriculture and social events. Also included are letters by family members and descendants; a charcoal sketch and copies of visual representations of John Marshall; and places and events associated with him. Includes a discussion of Elbridge Gerry's letter of 20 October 1798 to President John Adams, in which he [Elbridge Gerry] makes several misstatements about his part in the XYZ Affair, which Marshall now refutes point by point; "I must hope sir that you will think justly on this subject & will thereby save us both the pain of an altercation..."
more...less...
Also includes a letter of 27 April; discusses Mr. [Edmund] Pendleton; mentions a copy of a letter from Mr. Carr in the possession of Col. John Nichols; Augustine Davis may have published it; his [Charles Carter's] brother has written to Mr. [?] Sujt in regards to it; discusses Mr. [Edmund] Pendleton, [Thomas] Jefferson, and the XYZ dispatch.
Leven Powell Papers
Dates, 1774-1806, correspondence of Leven Powell who served in American Revolution, Virginia House of Delegates and U. S. House of Representatives. Letters reflect military and civilian situation in Virginia during the Revolution; United States and Virginia politics; and foreign relations in the early national period. Also contains financial records concerning the Revolutionary War and Loudoun County. Subjects covered include the XYZ Affair.

Powell Family Papers- Hepburn Addition

Dates, 1775-1870, correspondence of Leven Powell, James Madison, Charles Leven Powell, Charles Leven Powell, Jr., Selina Powell Hepburn, and others. Recipients include Burr Powell, Cuthbert Powell, Sewell Stavely Hepbron [Hepburn] and others. First 30 years of correspondence is mainly written by or addressed to Leven Powell, detailing his involvement in the Revolutionary War, the Virginia House of Delegates, and the United State Congress, including letters about the Election of 1800. After 1810, letters are primarily correspondence between various members of the Powell family, including some letters about the Civil War.