General Order No.87, Vera Cruz, April 1, 1847: ordering preventative measures to insure martial law stops atrocities committed such as killing cattle and seizing private property. Written in English. Sello Seto. De Ofico. Legal form for criminal cases. 1846-47. Projecto...Project about organization, operations and interesting points for the expeditionary army in Texas. Sent to the Governor General. Suggestions for how the Mexican forces in Texas should be organized and operate. 17 pages. Undated. Written in Spanish. "El General en Gefre de los Egercitos de los Estados-Unidos de America, A La Nacion Megicana!" Broadside from Winfield Scott, Commanding General of the United States of America, to the Mexican Nation. May 11, 1847. He tells them that they (Mexican People) were let down by their generals, that America devine nothing more than peace and friendship with Mexico, that the U.S. Army hasn't taken property, damaged churches, taken advantage of women, etc.
At the end, he warns that if guerrillas do form groups and attack, the U.S. Army will have no choice but to respond. Written in Spanish. December 30, 1836 letter from [J.] [ina] a Ortega to General Gavaiel (Gabriel) Valencia regarding an army of 10,000 men. From December 30, 1845 to January 2, 1846 Cabriel Valencia served as interim president of Mexico. Written in Spanish. Poems, "La concha de Nacar" a Mexican sonnet, and "To a Cigar." Written in Spanish. Batallon de Zapadores (Pioneer Battalion) in Matanoras. Details of arms and munitions, tools, musical instruments that this batallion had as of July 10, 1844 and August 10, 1844. Batallon Permarente de Zapadores. Details of arms and munitions, tools, musical instruments that this ballalion had as of October 1844 and November 1844.
Mexican-American War Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Texas
Papers, 1645-1917, of the Gardiner family, the Gilmer family, the family of St. George Tucker (1828-1863) and miscellaneous other people unrelated to the Tylers, Tuckers, Gilmers, or Gardiners. Boxes IV-V contain papers, 1814-1842, of the Gilmer family of Albemarle County. Include letters of Thomas Walker Gilmer to his wife Anne E. Baker Gilmer concerning family, religion, politics, and the annexation of Texas; and speeches of Gilmer.
Papers, 1807-1938, but mainly 1830-1870, of the Ritchie and Harrison families. Includes letters, documents and a diary of members of the family of Thomas Ritchie, his wife Isabella (Foushee) Ritchie and ten of their twelve children of Richmond, Va., "Brandon," Prince George County, Va. and Washington, D.C. There are letters, 1847-1848, of Dr. Robert Ruffin Ritchie in Mexico and letters, 1849-1860, of George Ritchie while serving in the United States Navy. Many prominent nineteenth century Virginians are mentioned in the letters. Some concern the actress Anna Cora Ogden Mowatt Ritchie and others reflect conditions during the Civil War. The collection also includes professional papers of Thomas Ritchie, chiefly letters, 1845-1851, written to him as editor of the Union, the official organ of the Democratic Party. Topics covered include the slavery issue; the annexation of Texas; military and political aspects of the Mexican War; internal improvements; and the Wilmot Proviso.
Topics covered also include the Compromise of 1850; Oregon; and the presidential elections of 1844-1848. The mechanics of publishing a newspaper and Ritchie's problems as Congressional printer are also reflected.
Mexican-American War Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Soldiers
Letters written by John P. Brock, a soldier in the Mexican War, from the headquarters of the Virginia Regiment at Camp Buena Vista at Monterey, Mexico, to his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Archibald Brock, Rockingham County, Va.
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family. William Booth Taliaferro's papers concern his military service in the Mexican War and the Civil War and his career as a lawyer, judge and politician during Reconstruction; and reflect his service on the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary. See Series 1: Subseries 1: Group 1. Ask staff for assistance.
Correspondence and other papers, mostly 1810-1860, of the Barraud family of Norfolk, Virginia. Correspondence of Dr. Philip Barraud (1758-1830), his wife, Ann Blaws (Hansford) Barraud (1760-1836), and their children, included Daniel Cary Barraud (1790-1867), Otway Byrd Barraud (b. 1801), and Leliana (Barraud) Baker (b. 1805). A number of the letters, as well as some poems, are from St. George Tucker (1752-1827), a close friend of Barraud's when he lived in Williamsburg, Va. Subjects covered include the War of 1812, medical service in the American Revolution and social life in Norfolk, Virginia. Also included are the commissions of John Taylor Barraud (1826-1860), U.S. Navy, and his narrative diary, 1844-1847, while serving off the Mexican coast; a contemporary copy (1820) of Thomas Jefferson's thoughts on the education of women; and grants for bounty lands awarded Daniel Cary Barraud for his service in the War of 1812. See Series 3: Diary, 1 October 1844-21 January 1847.
Subjects covered also include a composition on Cato by Jonn Taylor Barraud (1826-1860), for the College of William and Mary; and the draft of a letter from James Barron (1758-1851), to President Andrew Jackson (1767-1845) regarding Dr. Barraud's public services.
Mexican-American War Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Documents
"Muster Roll of Captain F.H. Archer, company E in the First Regiment of Virginia Infantry volunteers, commanded by Colonel John F. Hamtramck, called into service of the United States during the War with Mexico, by the President, under the act of Congress approved May 13, 1846, from the 30th day of June, 1847, when last mustered to the 31st day of August 1847." Muster roll lists name, rank, age, when and where enrolled and mustered (Richmond), payments, absences and promotions.
Artificial collections of papers, mainly 1830-1880 and 1941-1946, concerning the United States military but excluding Civil War materials. Collection includes return, 1782, of J. Pannill's Brigade, Williamsburg, Va.; printed regulations, 1814, for the uniform of U.S. Light Dragoons; pay voucher, 1833, for Philip St. George Cocke; papers, 1836-1848, concerning service of M.M. Payne; general order no. 94, and pencil sketch concerning the Mexican War; printed general orders for 1869, 1871, and 1877-1879; and posters concerning World War II.
Papers of Alexander Brown relating to the writings of his books, including notes, transcripts, drafts and correspondence with publisher Houghton, Mifflin & Co. and with members of his family requesting genealogical information. Collection includes letters of Benson J. Lossing concerning his "Pictorial Field Book of the Revolution" and "Pictorial Field Book of the War of 1812" and part of an agreement between the Mexican government and American capitalists drafted in the autumn of 1865 by Lew Wallace.
Mexican-American War Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Official Correspondence
Papers, chiefly 1834-1863, of Thomas W. Thomas, soldier, lawyer, and judge of Elberton, GA concerning his law practice and his friendship with US Senator Robert Toombs. His papers primarily concern his various legal cases, but also discuss politics, the Civil War, and other topics sporadically. Included in the collection are papers, 1834-1864, of Drury B. Cade who operated a canal boat on the Savannah River. Items of special interest include letter, 3 April 1842, from John Reeves Jones Daniel attacking the Whigs; letter, 1849, to Zachary Taylor concerning liquor seized during the Mexican War; letter, 1857, concerning a suit to secure title to land originally granted to Eli Whitney; and there are a number of Civil War letters in the collection.
Letters and papers of the Floyd, Johnston, and Preston families, as well as newspaper articles principally concerning Gen. Joseph E. Johnston and Judge Robert William Hughes. The central figures in the collection include Gen. John Preston, his brother Gen. Francis Preston, Gen Joseph E. Johnston (1807-1891), his niece, Eliza Hughes (1825-1908), and Harriet Lane, niece of President Buchanan. The collection also contains the correspondence of or papers relating to Congressman Charles C. Johnston (1795-1832), Judge R.W. Hughes (1821-1901), Baron Alex de Humboldt, and Governor/ Secretary of War John B. Floyd (1806-1863). Spanning 154 years (1753-1907), this collection contains references to the Mexican War and the Civil War and also touches on the issues of Indians and slavery.
Mexican-American War Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Letters
The collection, 1833-1897, mostly consists of letters written to and by James Duncan Graham. Many are to and from his children (William Montrose Grahm, Salvadora Graham, James Duncan Graham, Margaret C. Graham and Richard Worsham Meade Graham) and concern their education, health and his concern that they accommodate themselves to the social customs of the time. Two of his sons attended the United States Naval Academy (one also attended Racine College). The other attended the United States Military Academy. Letters also concern Graham's engineering projects, his connection with scientific societies and donations to libraries, the Mexican War, the decision of the family to remain loyal to the Union and the cultural interests of the family (opera and music in particular) and the family portraits done by G.P.A. Healy.
Papers, 1840-1883, of members of the Wier family and McCully family. Includes correspondence of Peter Wier of Gainesville, Ala., Armistead Wier of Danville, Va., John McCully of Bridgeport, Conn., James McCully, Petersburg, Va. and William McCully of Newark, N. J. Subjects covered by the correspondence are farming, the value of slaves and of land as investments, the Mexican War, and business. The collection also includes contracts for the hiring and sale of slaves; and a roster of Company C, 46th Virginia Regiment.