Papers, 1676-1781, relating to Middlesex County, Va. Includes rubbing from bining of record book; copy of orders, 1676, concerning provisions for soldiers to be sent out against the Indians; copy of petitions, 1700, presented by the freeholders of Middlesex County to the House of Burgesses; and copy of receipt, 1781, for supplies furnished by Philip Ludwell Grymes for public use.See box 11, folder 19.
American Indian Wars Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Revolutionary Period
This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881. The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. Includes a letter from Annie Christian to Mrs. [Anne] Fleming about Indian attacks and related troubles, plus her desire to be in Botetourt County, dated April 1, 1780.
Papers (including correspondence, legal documents, and accounts) of James McGavock (1728-1812), his son James McGavock (1764-1838) and his grandsons James McGavock (1804-1839) and Stephen McGavock (1807-1880). Many of the papers concern lead mines at Fort Chiswell, Va, slavery, agriculture, aspects of the Revolutionary War, and other. Included are a list of parish levies before 1776; receipts for supplies issued at Fort Chiswell, Wythe County, Va. and at Fort Patrick Henry, Tenn. for an expedition, 1776-1777, against the Cherokees; and county tax and fee bills for Augusta, Bedford, Botetourt, Montgomery, Pittsylvania, Washington and Wythe counties, Va. The collection includes genealogical information on the McGavock and Boyd families and letters written by members of the Cloyd family and by John Williamson McGavock while attending the University of Virginia.
Items relating to William Preston (ca. 1729-1783), 1755-1782, primarily photostats of appointments to various county offices (coroner, sheriff and surveyor) and to positions in the Virginia militia; but also including original appointments, 1763 and 1776; a surveyor's entry; 1774; and letters, 1773-1782, to Preston concerning land, the Cherokee Indians and a court martial.
Papers, 1772-1858, relating to Mecklenburg County, Va. Includes copies of court orders, 1830, to pay William B. Banks as Commonwealth's Attorney; William Townes as jailor, and Richard H. Walker as sheriff; church records (including certificate of baptism and letter of removal); marriage licenses, and notes concerning Revolutionary War soldiers, Indians and race horses. See Box 18 folder 11.
American Indian Wars Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Tecumseh's War
An artificial collection of manuscripts collected by Francis Little. Includes contract, 1770, binding William Byrd III to payment of money in a case involving Robert Carter (signed by William Byrd, John Jameson, George Wythe and Thomas Walne); letter, 1812, of William Henry Harrison to Return Jonathan Meigs concerning an expedition against Tecumseh; grant, 1822, for land in Ohio signed by James Monroe; grant, 1837, for land in Ohio; and two Civil War letters.
American Indian Wars Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Creek War
Business letters, 1833-1839, to Major William K. Perrin and 1855, 1860, to his son-in-law Wyndham Kemp, both of Gloucester County, Virginia from Perrin's step-son Robert W. Nicolson in Uniontown, Perry County, Alabama, about the management of a cotton plantation. Letters mention purchasing land, growing and selling cotton management of slaves, legal and banking matters and uprising of the Creek Indians. Papers, 1800-1855 and n.d., relating to the hiring out and management of slaves of Gloucester County, Virginia by William K. Perrin. Legal papers, 1723-1895, n.d., include indentures, agreements, and lists of debts of William K. Perrin, George D. Nicolson, Sarah T. Nicolson, and descendants of William K. Perrin. Also accounts and receipts, 1806-1902, n.d.
American Indian Wars Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Late 19th/Early 20th Century
The Racial and Ethnic Ephemera Collection includes a variety of material in various formats. The collection is currently being processed and new items will be added on an ongoing basis. Includes printed/visual materials of Native Americans, including children books, trading cards, and postcards. Includes an advertising card for Marshall & Ball Clothing showing a caricature of white males attacking and scalping American Indians.
Typescripts of letters, 1861-1863, written to family members while stationed in the Dakota Territory (portion now South Dakota). Two letters, 1864, concern Martin's death and there is a portion of a memoir, "My Experience in Scouting in the Dakota Territory", and mentions of Native American Indian encounters.
Nine original photographic prints, all with board backing, of Indians by Charles Milton Bell. Photocopies of each print are included. Subjects include: Osh-U-ton (Winding Stream) (Sauk and Fox Tribe), Yellow Bird (Umatilla Confederate Tribe), Spotted Tail (Ogala Sioux Tribe), Chief On-A-Wat (Can't Do It) (Sauk & Fox Tribe), Wolf (Little or Young Chief) (Umatilla Confederate Tribe), Ben Scratching A Tree (Sauk and Fox Tribe), Red Cloud (Ogala Sioux Tribe), Chief Joseph (Nez Perce) and Wa-Pa-Sue-Ca (Shining River) (Sauk and Fox Iowa Tribe). Includes a photocopy of 1989 Library of Congress pamphlet, "Washingtoniana Photographs" about the history of the Photographic Studio in Washington, D.C., 1873-1909, and the C.M. Bell Studio Collection.
Addition 2008.346 includes a reproduction photograph of the "Fox Men" by C.M. Bell, circa 1890, photograph of a woman holding her child in a papoose (not marked as being by C.M. Bell), photostat reproduction of an U.S. map with indian tribe areas noted, a photograph of a man (C.M.Bell?) and a handout entitled "Ambassadors from the Plains: A Bibliography." Some of these items may have been used in a Swem Library exhibit.
Photo album, 1880-1942 of Colonel Fred Charles Doyle, circa 1885-1955. The album contains both formal photographs, like studio portraits and military group pictures, and snapshots of family and friends and of places where the Doyle family traveled and worked. Those places include: Texas, Massachusetts, Arizona, Oklahoma and the Philippines. Includes numerous photos of Native Americans.
American Indian Wars Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Public Memory
Three photographs with typed captions of the American West for illustrations in "America's Western Frontiers," to be published by Knopf on May 9, 1967. Photographer was John A. Hawgood. Subject matter: arrival of a caravan at Sante Fe from Josiah Gregg's Commerce of the Prairies (1944), Deadwood, South Dakota, in its heydey by F. J. Haynes (undated) and the end of the frontier with Geronimo and friends at Fort Sill, Oklahoma in the latest model Buick by C.S. Fly, ca 1905.
This collection includes correspondence, research journals, travel journals, publications, slides, artifacts and other material pertaining to Dr. Theodore R. Reinhart's research and teaching career in the Department of Anthropology at the College of William and Mary and his participation in the Council of Virginia Archaeologists (COVA) and the Department of Historical Resources (DHR). Acc. 2010.305 contains a calendar, made up of 14 24" x 36" posters, celebrating the history of the Navajo people published to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of June 1, 1868. Throughout the calendar are images of people from the Navajo tribe and paintings. Published in 1968 by the Navajo Tribal Museum of Window Rock, Arizona.
Contains one scrapbook of photographs taken at the Big Cove Ranch Camp, a summer camp for boys and girls located on the Cherokee Indian Reservation in Cherokee, North Carolina. during the summers of 1949 and 1950. Some of the photographs include images of landscapes, wildlife, Native Americans, and campers participating in various activities including archery, swimming, and dances. Inside the front cover is a copy of announcements for the summer 1950 program which details the purpose of the camp, rules for campers to obey, and the activities that campers can expect. The front of the scrapbook has a depiction of a Native American with a headdress, and the title page reads "Memories of Two Wonderful Summers at Big Cove Ranch Camp" with the name Dick Moorer signed at the bottom of the page.
American Indian Wars Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- General
Papers, chiefly 1917-1941, of anthropologist David Ives Bushnell, Jr., including correspondence concerning his research on Indians in North America; diaries, address lists, specimen lists, photographs, magazines, pamphlets, and maps pertaining to his work. Also includes correspondence of his mother, Belle Johnston Bushnell. The collection also contains a typescript of the journal of Rudolph Friederich Kurz; letters written by William Cullen Bryant (concerning Thanatopsis), William Henry Harrison (one concerning the death of Tecumseh), Horace Greeley (concerning Uncle Tom's Cabin), and Thomas Say; and includes two letters, 1798-1799, written to Rene Auguste Chouteau.