Research Guides: HIST 490: AIDS Crisis in US Culture: Secondary Source Databases

Introduction

The databases provided below are just a small number of those available at W&M Libraries. Use these databases to locate scholarly literature and book reviews on research topics in history, sociology, gender studies, and more. If you do not find what you need, reach out to our helpful librarians for more assistance!

Recommended Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for top-ranked scholarly journals, recent reference works, and professional conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed articles, book reviews, conference papers, and more covering sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers, and books on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Includes peer reviewed journal articles, magazines, reports, newspapers, and dissertations.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of journal articles (including peer reviewed), books, book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, etc.