References sources provide information about specific people, events, and topics. These can be great sources to help identify effect keywords when searching primary sources, and often provide citations for additional information including other primary or secondary sources. Bibliographies are another powerful reference tool you can use to identify research already conducted by scholars relevant to your research topic.
The Encyclopedia of HIV and AIDS by
In the past five years, knowledge and understanding of AIDS has grown exponentially and the lexicon of related terms has increased significantly. Many of the terms and explanations that were current just a couple of years ago are obsolete or outdated. Similarly, statistics tracking AIDS have also changed dramatically in recent years, drastically altering the opinions held by epidemiologists, social scientists, research scientists, pharmaceutical companies, politicians, doctors, and activists in regards to prevention, treatment, and containment of the disease. New topics and issues are regularly introduced to the international dialog on HIV/AIDS, and The Encyclopedia of HIV and AIDS, Second Edition is a thoroughly revised and expanded volume filled with current information covering new and emerging topics and presenting recent, accurate statistical information. Originally published as The AIDS Dictionary this new edition contains more than 3,000 entries covering the basic biological, medical, financial, legal, political, and social issues and terms associated with HIV and AIDS. Entries explain symptoms and treatments, opportunistic infections, prevention strategies, and much more. Appendixes include HIV/AIDS associations, education centers, clinical trials, hot lines, publications, and additional material.
LGBTQ Stats by
LGBTQ STATS chronicles the ongoing LGBTQ revolution, providing critical statistics, and draws upon and synthesizes newly collected data. Deschamps and Singer provide chapters on family and marriage, workplace discrimination, education, youth, criminal justice, and immigration, as well as evolving policies and laws affecting LGBTQ communities. A lively, accessible, and eye-opening snapshot, LGBTQ STATS offers an invaluable resource for activists, journalists, lawmakers, and general readers who want the facts and figures on LGBTQ lives in the twenty-first century.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by
This 3-vol. set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.