HIST 490: AIDS Crisis in US Culture

The Archives of Sexuality & Gender include archival materials (organizational papers, newsletters, government documents, manuscripts, etc) on the social, political, health and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities from the 1940s to the 1980s.

Collection of briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings documenting the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1983-1994.

LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community. Primary sources cover 19th to the early 21st centuries.

This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the 19th to 21st centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts. Worldwide coverage.

An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major international magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. It also includes publications by the United Nations, UNESCO, and European community. These titles offer multiple perspectives on the contemporary contexts of the major events, trends, and interests in these fields throughout the twentieth century. Coverage: 1918-2015

Magazines, journals, newsletters and newspapers from alternative press archives including publications by feminists, GI's, underground newspapers, LGBT periodicals, minority press (Latinx, Black and Native American), and the extreme right-wing press. Coverage from 1960-1989.

Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests, in the United States and United Kingdom, including the important magazine, The Advocate (1967-). The database chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. Some publications may contain explicit content. Coverage: 1954-2015.