Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 490: AIDS Crisis in US Culture

Use this guide to locate scholarly articles and books, as well as newspapers, government documents, and other primary source resources for topics on the AIDS crisis in US Culture

Begin Your Research

Use the HIST 490: AIDS Crisis in US Culture guide to locate library databases, books, journals, and web sources to help you locate primary and secondary sources for your research papers.

  • Reference Resources: Use reference materials like encyclopedias to learn more about events and people, and bibliographies to identify scholars, publications, and primary sources on topics relevant to your research. 
  • Newspapers: A selection of historical newspapers within the United States, including NY Times, LA Times, and more.
  • Primary Source Databases: Manuscripts, images, personal narratives, and other primary sources about the AIDS Crisis, gender and sexuality.
  • Secondary Source Databases: Find scholarly articles and book reviews on your topic from library databases.
  • Open Digital Archives: Images, videos, personal narratives, art, records and other documents made freely available online from archives and organizations documenting the AIDS epidemic and memorializing those lost.
  • Government Documents & Treaties: Best three starting points for locating government documents and legal reports , including memos, speeches, hearings, reports and more within the United States. 
  • Help with Citing: Information on using Zotero for in-text citing and creating bibliographies.