Use this guide to locate scholarly articles and books, as well as newspapers, government documents, and other primary source resources for topics on the AIDS crisis in US Culture
Some archives and special collections have digitized documents in their collections making them accessible to researchers around the world. Below are a few open digital archives with collections focused on the AIDS Crisis.
The AIDS History Project at UCSF is a collaborative effort with UC-Berkey and GLBHT Historical Society to collect and organize papers and records of activists, agencies, organizations, and healthcare practitioners of historical significance to the beginning of the AIDS epidemic in San Francisco. The collection includes a digital archive and an oral history project.
The African American AIDS History Project is a crowd-contributed archive of African American responses to the HIV/AIDS epidemic. It includes printed matter, posters, oral histories, and archival video. [from the website]
The GLBT Historical Society of Northern California in cooperation with the Bay Area Reporter has created this searchable database of all obituaries that have appeared in the Bay Area Reporter since it began publishing them in 1972. [From the website]
ACT UP's historical archive which includes action reports, documents, YELL documents, and more. (For up to date information about ACT UP visit their current website at: https://actupny.com/).
From VICE TV - "Jonathan Van Ness takes us through 40 years of HIV/AIDS by hearing from the people who have survived the global pandemic, what it’s like living with HIV & how it’s stigmatized now."
