Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Early American History Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings of manuscripts and rare books dealing with early American history. This guide describes the bulk of those holdings, although it is not a comprehensive list.

Collections in the SCRC

Consult the Special Collections Research Center Access Tools to see further descriptions of many of these collections.

Albemarle, Amherst, and Counties, field survey and entry survey books for Albemarle Counties and surveys of Amherst County, in Cabell Family Papers (1693-1913), Mss 65 C12

Fredericksburg, includes daybook, 1802-1812, of the corporation of Fredericksburg, Mss 39.4 Fredericksburg

Gloucester County, ledger of the school commissioners, 1819-1849, and minutes of their meetings, 1818-1829, Mss MsV As3

Nelson and Amherst Counties, tax account book, 1812; includes account, 1826-1848, of the settling of the estate of Hudson Martin, Mss MsV T1

Nelson County, sheriff’s account books, 2 ., 1811-1837, 1811-1832, Mss MsV Lev11-12

Richmond, 6 folders, 1793-1931, Mss 39.4 Richmond

Rockingham County Papers, includes accounts of the board of school commissioners; documents, 1770-1843, concerning lawsuits (including criminal cases involving slaves), Mss 39.4

Shenandoah County, sheriff’s execution [of monetary judgments] book, 1822-1826, Mss MsV Lev16 Oversize

Shenandoah County, Parish overseers of the poor journal, 1799-1807, Mss MsV Ac16

Unidentified county, tax book of court clerk or official, 1804-1806, C. L. Worthington Papers, Mss 65 W89

Washington County, surveys and plats, in papers of Robert Preston (d. 1831), Washington County surveyor, Mss 39.1 P92

Access Tools

Special Collections Research Center Access Tools: There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with the staff member on duty for guidance.