Skip to main content

Early American History Resources in the Special Collections Research Center: Home

The Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings of manuscripts and rare books dealing with early American history. This guide describes the bulk of those holdings, although it is not a comprehensive list.

Access Tools

Special Collections Research Center Access Tools: There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) including video tutorials. Don't forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with the staff member on duty for guidance.

Swem Library also produces video tutorials to assist you in How to Read & Understand Catalog Records for BooksFinding Full-Text Electronic Books & Documents in Swem Library's CatalogFind it: A Basic Guide (note this discovery tool's brand name is Summon).

Early American History Research in the Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center has extensive holdings of manuscripts and rare books dealing with early American history. This guide describes the bulk of those materials, although it is not a comprehensive list. Please keep in mind that the general collections of Swem Library also support research in this subject area, including newspapers, government documents, published memoirs, etc.

Swem Library has created other guides that will be of interest to researchers including a Research Paper Writing and Citation Guide, Primary Sources Guide, and Copyright Guide.

If you get stuck along the way, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here to help. Just click the HELP tab at the top of any page in this guide to get contact information for Special Collections Research Center staff.

Best of luck with your research!