Research Guides: BUAD 5407: Marketing Strategy: Context: External Analysis

Context: External Analysis

To determine the external market environment, analysts must conduct industry research. Doing so involves the effective use of a variety of tools, including NAICS codes, SIC codes, proprietary industry reports, and macroeconomic indicators. The resources below are classified based on the types of information they provide.

Industry Codes

NAICS
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
more...less...
Use this US Census Bureau tool to determine the primary NAICS code(s) for your company and/or product. You may search by keyword or 2-6 digit code, if known.
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System Search
Established in the late 1930s, the SIC was later replaced by NAICS. This tool allows the user to search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword and/or SIC code.
more...less...
As some databases still organize industries by SIC (including LexisNexis), it can be helpful to have both SIC and NAICS codes when conducting industry research.

SWOT: Opportunities & Threats (Industry Reports)

Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window
Industry intelligence on global markets. Proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 22 industry sectors.
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
Cross-sector platform providing information across 22 industries. Provides global and country-level industry reports that include market value, market forecast, category segmentation, geography segmentation, market rivalry, competitive landscape, key company profiles, and macroeconomic indicators.
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
The United States' most comprehensive collection of NAICS and niche industry market research and US Business Environment Profiles.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business and financial research. Includes US and international company data and archives, US and international annual reports, fact sheets, insider trades, and industry reports (North America, Asia/Pacific and Europe). Includes Mergent Horizon and Company Analytics. Coverage: Current.

Porter's Five Forces Analysis

GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
GlobalData Explorer's global and country-specific sector reports include extensive Porter's Five Forces analysis, in addition to market value, segmentation, outlook, and competitive landscape.

Macroeconomic Indicators/PESTLE Analysis

PESTLE stands for Political, Economic, Sociological, Technological, Legal, and Environmental, and PESTLE reports provide unique insights into countries and cities as places for potentially doing business.

Fitch Connect This link opens in a new window
Country risk and intelligence reports. Proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries.
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
Contains City Economics (socioeconomic data and forecasts for 3,000+ cities), City/Country Profiles (detailed analysis on hundreds of the world's most prominent cities), and Macroeconomic data.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista gathers statistical information on over 600 industries from over 10,000 different sources, such as market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.

Librarian

William Judd

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

McLeod Business Library
Raymond A. Mason School of Business
Alan B. Miller Hall
101 Ukrop Way
Williamsburg, VA 23185

757-221-1158