Research Guides: Animal Studies Research Guide: Hunting & fishing

Hunting & Fishing

Killing nonhumans primarily for sport, but also for food; killing aquatic animals for food, including industrial aquaculture.

Manuscripts Artifact Collection, 1800-present (Mss. 1.03)
The Manuscripts Artifact Collection includes artifacts from a variety of personal papers and organizational records collections, as well as items acquired individually.
University Archives Artifact Collection, 1693-present (UA 13)
The University Archives Artifact Collection is an artificial collection of artifacts and memorabilia documenting and related to the College of William and Mary. [Database access currently limited to on campus only.]

Before the Hunt Photograph, circa 1900-1910 (SC 01089)
Black and white photograph of a group of hunters, some mounted on horses, with their dogs.
Cleveland and Badminton Foxhounds Daybook, circa 1890 (SC 01124)
Daybook of the Cleveland and Badminton Foxhounds of the United Kingdom. Includes descriptions of various hunts on which the dogs go, names and pedigrees of some of the dogs, accounts of money exchanged during hunts, and poems written about dogs.
Dixie Hound Kennel Letters, 1926 (SC 00718)
Two letters written to the Dixie Hound Kennels of Herrick, Illinois. Both letters are inquiries about purchasing coondogs from the Dixie Hound Kennels, one sent from Pennsylvania and the other sent from Arkansas. Dixie Hound Kennels sent at least one dog out on a 10 day trial.
Collection of Spanish Language Manuscripts, 1551-1875 (Mss. 1.16)
Junta de Obras y Bosques Record, 1761 (Box 1, Folder 12) Printed document from the Junta de Obras y Bosques, or the Construction and Forestry Board. Explains that, on 16 January 1761, hunting and fishing using greyhound dogs would be prohibited unless people first received a license from the Board. Available online in the W&M Digital Archive.

Fish and Wildlife Act of 1956
Conference report on Fish and Wildlife act of 1956.
Journal of the operations of the Belvoir Fox Hounds
Journal publication printed in London in the early 1800s

Killing Tradition by Simon J. Bronner
ISBN: 081312641X
Publication Date: 2008
Across the country and around the world, people avidly engage in the cultural practice of hunting. Bronner reflects on the social, psychological, and anthropological issues of the debate, reevaluating notions of violence, cruelty, abuse, and tradition as they have been constructed and contested in the twenty-first century.
Going Wild: hunting, animal rights, and the contested meaning of nature by Jan E. Dizard
Call Number: HV4765 .M4 D593 1999
ISBN: 0585268762
Publication Date: 1999
A View to a Death in the Morning: hunting and nature through history by Matt Cartmill
Call Number: GN388 .C37 1993
ISBN: 0674029259
Publication Date: 2009
Matt Cartmill searches out the origins, and the strange allure, of the myth of Man the Hunter. An exhilarating foray into cultural history, A View to a Death in the Morning shows us how hunting has figured in the western imagination from the myth of Artemis to the tale of Bambi-and how its evolving image has reflected our own view of ourselves.
Trophy Hunting: a psychological perspective by Geoffrey Beattie
ISBN: 042929798X
Publication Date: 2020
This book explores the psychology of trophy hunting from a critical perspective and considers the reasons why some people engage in the controversial activity of killing often endangered animals for sport.