Skip to main content

Scholarly Communications

In 2003, ACRL defined scholarly communication as "the system through which research and other scholarly writings are created, evaluated for quality, disseminated to to the scholarly community, and preserved."

W&M Publish Data Preservation

W&M ScholarWorks is the institutional repository (IR) for the College of William & Mary, a service of William & Mary Libraries providing open access to the active research & scholarship produced by our faculty, staff, and students. The purpose of W&M ScholarWorks is to promote information discovery, collaboration and publicize the scholarly output of the College of William and Mary.

Research data is deposited in W&M ScholarWorks to ensure long-term stewardship, curation, and access to to the same. William & Mary Libraries will archive the dataset and its documentation, supporting the data through changing technologies, media, and data formats.  William & Mary Libraries provides guidance and support for all aspects of the data lifecycle, from planning data management strategy through preserving data at the conclusion of the project, and works with researchers to insure this process includes appropriate documentation and requirements for data integrity. 

A standardized metadata record for the data will be added to repository. This record includes a standardized data citation with a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) to provide permanent linking and access, gives credit to the research team, and enables users to obtain a copy of the product.  W&M Publish provides public, open access to the deposited data, via full-text searchable records, making them discoverable through Google, Google Scholar, and other large search engines.

W&M Libraries Data Services

W&M Librarians help our scholars manage, store, and share their valuable research data. They can assist with the creation of a data management plans to meet funder requirement, provide feedback on plans, and identify the best resources for management of your research data. 

Specific services offered:

Librarians are available for individual consultations for researchers or lab groups. Let us understand your data needs and help keep your data accessible now and into the future.

Dataset Submission Instructions

  1. Contact your liaison librarian (or Hargis Library for VIMS) to discuss your research data needs and the procedures for file transfer.
  2. Complete the Dataset Information Form (below) including all information available/applicable
  3. ​Submit  Dataset Information form and data to librarian as instructed. Librarian will provide further information.
  4. Upon receipt of confirmation email from librarian, update all other online references and citations to the data set with assigned DOI. Include DOI in all future references to data set. 

Data preservation language for W&M

Looking for specific language to include in your grant application regarding W&M Libraries' data preservation services? Here is the official statement:

The  research data generated by this project will be deposited with W&M ScholarWorks, the institutional repository of the College of William & Mary Libraries, to ensure long-term stewardship, curation, and access to the data for the research community.  William & Mary Libraries will archive the dataset and its documentation, supporting the data through changing technologies, media, and data formats.  William & Mary Libraries provides guidance and support for all aspects of the data lifecycle, from planning data management strategy through preserving data at the conclusion of the project, and works with researchers to insure this process includes appropriate documentation and requirements for data integrity. 

A standardized metadata record for the ____ data will be added to repository. This record includes a standardized data citation with a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) to provide permanent linking and access, gives credit to the _____ team, and enables users to obtain a copy of the product.  W&M ScholarWorks provides public, open access to the deposited data, via full-text searchable records, making them discoverable through Google, Google Scholar, and other search engines.

 
Lauren Manninen's picture
Lauren Manninen
Contact:
Hargis Library
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
804-684-7115
Marian Taliaferro's picture
Marian Taliaferro
Contact:
Swem Library
(757) 221-1893
Website
Subjects:Copyright