Contribute to the broader research community: Data sharing holds much potential for expanding and democratizing access to information and for fostering opportunities for scholars and citizens to make new connections and discoveries.
Amplify your research impact: Data sharing can lead to increased discovery and relevance of your research.
Increase efficiency: Proper data management throughout the research life cycle will improve efficiency, maximize resources.
Preservation: Long term preservation of your data is vital to maintaining access to and use of your research.
Data integrity: Data management planning is key to assuring the accuracy and consistency of your data, and maximizing its potential for future analysis and use.
Funder Mandates: Grants from many funding agencies now require a data management plan that outlines and guarantees persistent, public access to your research data.
Learn about the Open Data movement!
Data, just like other scholarly outputs, requires citations to acknowledge the original author/producer, and to help others locate the resource. Check with the repository from which you have accessed the data first for preferred citations. If no guidance is provided, a dataset citation includes all of the same components as any other citation:
Standards for data citations have not been codified internationally, though many data providers and distributors and some style manuals do provide guidelines. University of Michigan offers this great resource for data research data.
Data that is in the public domain or licensed under a Creative Commons license allowing re-use (such as a CC-BY license) can be freely downloaded and re-used by researchers.
If you are interested in using a data set that is not licensed in such a way, you can request a non-exclusive license from the copyright holder.
In addition, if your use creates something new, it may fall under constitutional protection afforded by US Copyright Law's Fair Use provision, which allows use of copyrighted material without permission after balanced against the following four factors:
Still confused? This site has lots of great info, or contact firstname.lastname@example.org!
Find several repositories of open datasets here.
William & Mary Libraries will archive datasets and their documentation in W&M ScholarWorks, supporting the data through changing technologies, media, and data formats. William & Mary Libraries provides guidance and support for all aspects of the data lifecycle, from planning data management strategy through preserving data at the conclusion of the project, and works with researchers to insure this process includes appropriate documentation and requirements for data integrity.
A standardized metadata record for the data will be added to repository. This record includes a standardized data citation with a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) to provide permanent linking and access, gives credit to the research team, and enables users to obtain a copy of the product. W&M Publish provides public, open access to the deposited data, via full-text searchable records, making them discoverable through Google, Google Scholar, and other large search engines.
Read more on how to submit your data here.