Research Guides: BUAD 311: Principles of Marketing: Internal

Ticker Symbols

Google Finance
Use Google Finance to get some financial data about your company, including their ticker symbol. You can use this symbol as a keyword to search the databases.

Mission Statements

A company's mission statement articulates the company's purpose, objectives, consumers, and products offered. The best place to begin researching company mission statements is the company itself; using your preferred search engine, search for the company. While mission statements are often found within a "Company Information" or "About Us" section, they can also be found within a publicly traded company's Media and/or Investor Relations page or their 10K (annual report).

SWOT Analysis

SWOT stands for Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats, and a SWOT Analysis helps analysts understand a company's position in the market. The following databases are considered "best bets" for finding credible SWOT analyses.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Journal articles, books, market research reports, financial data, conference proceedings, case studies, etc. Coverage: Varies by title.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers delivers insightful information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world; including the UK, Europe, Asia Pacific and emerging markets. Search by Company Name, Executives, Industry or by using Conceptual Search and Business Signals. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Android devices not supported.
MarketLine Advantage (now GlobalData Explorer) This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Advantage offers company, industry, and country profiles. This includes SWOT analyses, 12,000 company profiles, 16,500 company capsules, case studies, industry profiles in 215 countries and 46 political and geographic groupings. Includes case studies and management reports. A daily news feed is also included.

Additional Information Resources

Use these resources to conduct exploratory research about your company and/or to verify information you received through other publications.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Article citations and some full text articles in business-related publications. A complete database comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
All disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Journal articles, books, market research reports, financial data, conference proceedings, case studies, etc. Coverage: Varies by title.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Factiva's Companies/Markets module to get a company snapshot. Snapshots can be obtained by searching company by name, ticker symbol, or DUNS number.
LexisNexis Academic (new website at Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Now under Nexis Uni. News, business, and law. Newspapers, newsletters, magazines, journals, broadcast transcripts, wire services, campus news, laws, court cases, company information, etc. Includes some non-English-language news sources. Coverage: Varies by title.

Securities and Exchange Commission
Responsible for protecting investors, maintaining fair and efficient financial markets, and promoting capital formation
more...less...
Use the EDGAR Company Filings tool to search for companies by name or ticker symbol. Look for the Form 10K, which is the company's annual report (compiled by external auditors), for information on financial prospects and risks.