Special Collections Research Center Access Tools: There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding
materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't
forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with
the staff member on duty for guidance.
Special Collections Finding Aid Search
Mexico Sources in the Special Collections Reasearch Center
This collection includes correspondence, research journals, travel journals, publications, slides, artifacts and other material pertaining to Dr. Theodore R. Reinhart's research and teaching career in the Department of Anthropology at the College of William and Mary and his participation in the Council of Virginia Archaeologists (COVA) and the Department of Historical Resources (DHR). Includes a calendar, made up of 14 24" x 36" posters, celebrating the history of the Navajo people published to commemorate the 100th Anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of June 1, 1868. Throughout the calendar are images of people from the Navajo tribe and paintings. Published in 1968 by the Navajo Tribal Museum of Window Rock, Arizona.
Papers including correspondence concerning Millington's experiences as directing engineer of the Anglo-Mexican Mining Association, as professor at College of William and Mary where he lived in the Wythe House, as professor at University of Mississippi, and at Memphis Medical College. Includes diaries covering 1832, 1835, and 1861-1867. Includes letters of his family members. Includes Blankenship family land records and letters concerning the Spanish-American War.
The collection is primarily composed of letters received by Dr. Theodocius Joshua Scurlock (1828-1887), a graduate of Tulane University and a resident of Texas and Mexico, 1855-1888, from family members in Alabama and Texas, and friends in Alabama, Mississippi, and Texas. The letters reflect the restlessness of the pre-Civil War years, and the difficulties and disillusionment felt by many people during Reconstruction. Diary included was kept by Scurlock on his journey to Mexico, December 1867-April 1869, in which he gives his impressions of the people he encountered as well as the natural history of the regions he passed through.
Papers, 1920s-1941, of Coral Patridge of New York, New York. Includes a travel diary of a trip she took by train from New York to New Mexico in the 1920s. Also includes 29 photographic prints, 9 of which feature New York City; some of the photographs also have descriptive information on the back. There is also an address book, a postcard sent from Germany, and a card with the history of the name "Patridge."
This collection consists of a piece of ephemera in the form of a card promoting college group trip to Mexico, newspaper clippings, a photographic post card sent to Dr. Earl G. Swem from Chile, and article reprints and publications authored by E. C. Branchi, who was Associate Professor of Modern Languages, 1926-1929 and Professor of Italian and Spanish, 1929-1930, at the College of William and Mary.
A handwritten discourse on the moral causes of the ascendency of the Anglo Saxon race delivered at Alexandria, Virginia, Lyceum, Dec. 15, 1846, and Jan. 5, 1847. First page: "Ladies and Gentlemen, I shall venture to throw on your indulgence, this evening, some observations on the moral causes o the ascendency of the Anglo-Saxon race. As most of us here present belong to that branch of the great human family, our interst may be supposed to be peculiar in considerations arising out of its history, its duties, and its destinies." He uses English and American history as the platform for his speech. Footnotes to his sources appear sporafically through the text. Subjects touched upon are American/English character, how many people the North American territory can hold, formation of the English language, the English legal system and United States constitution, Monroe doctrine, Virginia Declaration or Rights, Mexico, extension of territory and much more.