Special Collections Research Center Access Tools: There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding
materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't
forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with
the staff member on duty for guidance.
Special Collections Finding Aid Search
Caribbean Sea Sources in the Special Collections Research Center
Papers of Moses Myers, and his sons Samuel Myers (1790-1829) lawyer in Norfolk, Pensacola, Fla., John Myers (1787-1830) merchant of Norfolk and Myer Myers of Norfolk, Va. and daughter Adeline Myers. Also includes letters of Caroline Marx Barton to Julia Grammer Barton Myers, and of L. H. Wirt to Judith Marx. Includes letters of Joseph Marx Myers. There are letters of the Marx and Gratz families as well as correspondence with Jewish merchants in Richmond, New York, Montreal, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands, Philadelphia, Baltimore, and Charleston, S. C. Prominent correspondents include Stephen Girard, Abel P. Upshur, William Wirt, James Barron, Littleton Waller Tazewell, and Henry Clay.
Papers, chiefly 1847-1887, of James Barron Hope. Correspondence includes letters to his mother Jane A. Barron Hope while on a naval cruise to the Caribbean and letters to his wife, Annie Beverley Whiting Hope written during the Civil War. There are letters between Jane A. Barron Hope and her friend, Caroline Matilda Campbell. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Jubal A. Early, Benjamin S. Ewell, Hugh Blair Grigsby, Fitzhugh Lee, W. H. F. Lee, Thomas Nelson Page, John Tyler and Robert Charles Winthrop. The collection also includes editorials, atories, a play, manuscript poems of Hope including his address at the Yorktown Centennial, as well as articles and letters concerning his death and his involvement in dueling.
Diary of a sailor or merchant seaman for the year 1921. In brief entries that cover most of the year 1921, the author notes his different employments. Starting out from and returning several times to New Orleans, La., he stopped (among other places) in Cuba, the Bahamas, the Virgin Islands, Brazil and New York City. He also makes notes on money borrowed.
Diary of a medical doctor who served in the U.S. Navy beginning July 5, 1942, when he reported for duty at the Navy Yard in Washington, D.C. The name given on the front of the diary is H.T. Wilbur which suggests him as the author. Wilbur was detached for duty to the U.S.M.C. recruiting station, also Washington, D.C. He writes extensively on medical issues and cases and events encountered during his tour of duty. At the start of his diary he also reflects on his career decision and discusses qualifications and certification, etc. Beginning January 1943, Wilbur then was on duty on the USS Albermale out of Norfolk, Virginia; other places mentioned are Trinidad; San Juan, Puerto Rico; and Recife, Brazil. Wilbur records his observations on a regular basis, but not all entries are dated.
Papers concerning John Murray, 4th Earl of Dunmore, and last royal governor of Virginia. There are three Virginia-related items: a land grant, 1773; account, 1774-1776, of Lord Dunmore concerning one of his plantations; and letter, 1775, written by Lord Dunmore while on board the Royal William. Papers also include a letter, 1768, concerning Lord Dunmore's desire to be elected one of the Scottish peers of Parliament and a letter, 1770, concerning his brother-in-law. The majority of the items concern Lord Dunmore's service as governor of the Bahama Islands.
Reprint of an article in The Royal Society (Notes Rec. R. Soc. Lond.54(2), 215-222) on Bryan Edwards (1743-1800) by Olwyn M. Blouet. "Bryan Edwards was a Jamaican planter and politician who published...History of the West Indies in 1793. He was elected as a fellow of the Royal Society in 1794."
This is a 47 page report on labor conditions in the Island of Jamaica. Submitted by Robert Monroe Harrison, American consul at Kingston, Jamaica, to Abel P. Upshur, US Secretary of State. Dated October 11, 1843.
Account book of a navy officer for vessels in Great Britain. The author also lists mistakes made in the accounting,at times writing prose to explain them. He lists manifests for goods ranging from tobacco to dice. Another list include expenses with entries such as Jamaica, tour of London, Dunkirk and guards.