Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin America and the Caribbean: Resources available in the Special Collections Research Center

This guide provides an overview of material in the Special Collections Research Center in the Earl Gregg Swem Library related to Latin America & the Caribbean.

Databases

These are just a few databases you may find helpful in your research and you may want to consult Swem Library's Databases page for even more resources that may be of use.

Academic OneFile Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995; full-text of the Financial Times, and Times of London from 1985. Also includes a continued linking arrangement with JSTOR for many of the periodicals. Updated daily. Some full text.

Academic Search Premier Provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Full text.

America: History and Life History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Journal articles, books, and media reviews. Civerage 1954-present. Some full text.

American Periodicals Series Digitized images of over 1,100 American magazines and journals originating between 1740-1900. Included are periodicals spanning nearly 200 years-from colonial times to the advent of American involvement in World War II. Full text.

CIAO Columbia International Affairs Online: Working papers from universities, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals, policy briefs,and case studies by international affairs experts.

Clase Periodica Social sciences, humanities, science and technology. Languages include Spanish, Portuguese, French and English. 2,600 Latin American journals (no full text).

Economia y Negocios Provides coverage for over 300 Spanish and Portuguese-language business and economics periodicals published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere.

Handbook of Latin American Studies Bibliography on Latin America. Books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in the disciplines of Anthropology (including Archaeology, Ethnohistory and Ethnology), Art, Economics, Geography, Government and Politics, History, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology.

HAPI Online Contains over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

Historical Abstracts World history since 1450. Periodical articles, books, reviews, collections, and dissertations.

Historical Statistics of the United States Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. 1790-present. Full text.

JSTOR Arts, humanities, and social sciences. 600 multidisciplinary and subject-specific scholarly journals. Full text.

PAIS Index International public affairs, current events, issues, and foreign and domestic policies including Russian journals.

Periodicals Index Online Humanities and social sciences. Scholarly journals. Coverage 1665-1995. Some full text.