Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

William & Mary

This guide provides an overview of sources, both primary & secondary, for conducting research related to William & Mary.

STUDENT NEWSPAPERS & JOURNALS

There are a number of student publications which are rich sources of information about students and student life. Since the late 1960s, students have frequently produced newspapers and other publications, including literary and creative journals, without official college sanction. The earliest student publication in the University Archives is the Owl, consisting of one issue published in 1854 by students.  To find out which issues the library owns, where they are located, and if they are available online, you can search the Library Catalog. When electronic versions of student publications are available via Swem Library's Special Collections, the newspapers, magazines, and other publications can be found in the Communities in DSpace section of the W&M Digital Archive. Material related to the Law School is available at the William & Mary Law School Scholarship Repository.

The Flat Hat: In 1911 the student newspaper, The Flat Hat, was first published, and since then has announced and documented campus events and reflected student opinion. While not the first student newspaper at William and Mary, it is the longest lived.

  • An index for the William and Mary News, Alumni Gazette, and The Flat Hat is available as a card file in the Special Collections Research Center. All three of these publications are available on microfilm in Swem Library (except for the most recent years) and in paper in the Special Collections Research Center.

DoG Street Journal

The Virginia Informer

Winged Nation

Jump!

The Gallery

The Pillory

The Progressive

College Observer

Literary magazines have been published by students at William and Mary since 1890. The earliest one, the College Monthly, included information about campus events and alumni news in addition to poems and stories until about 1911. Later issues continued to carry news about alumni, editorials, and occasional articles about student life. Other publications in the Archives also contain extensive information relating to student organizations. Student handbooks, student government handbooks, College catalogs, the Alumni Gazette, and publicity materials and programs for specific events sponsored by student groups all provide in-depth documentation of the history and activities of students and student organizations.

ADDITIONAL STUDENT NEWSPAPERS AND JOURNALS 

To find more College of William and Mary publications, users will find the always in-progress list in the SCRC Wiki helpful.

 

Use this strategy to find periodicals and newspapers published both by and about W&M in the Library Catalog:

 

     'College of William and Mary' AND (Periodicals OR Newspapers)   --> click on EVERYTHING

 

Use this strategy to find periodicals and newspapers that are only about W&M:

     'College of William and Mary' AND (Periodicals OR Newspapers)   --> click on SUBJECT 

 

To narrow your search results, try search strategies such as:

     'College of William and Mary' AND (Periodicals OR Newspapers) AND (Student OR Students) --> click on SUBJECT

     'College of William and Mary' AND (Periodicals OR Newspapers) AND (Alumni OR Alumnae) --> click on SUBJECT

 

STUDENT NEWSPAPERS FROM OTHER UNIVERSITIES

Cornell University has a listing of other student newspapers available online with a particular emphasis on the digitization of backfiles.

ALUMNI PUBLICATIONS

William & Mary Alumni Gazette and William & Mary Alumni Magazine:

  • The Alumni Gazette of the College of William and Mary in Virginia (1933-2000) and the William and Mary Alumni Magazine (2001-present) are both published by the College's Society of the and Alumni Association, respectively.   These publications highlight activities of individual alumni and the organization as well as include stories about the College and campus.  Often spotlighted in earlier issues were individual faculty or an academic department.
    • Print copies are available in the Swem Library stacks and in Special Collections Research Center.  Check the library catalog for specific years and locations, as some issues are shelved in the oversized collection.
    • Microfilm copies (1933-1998, with a few missing years)
    • Some recent years available at the Alumni Association's website:

  • In conjunction with the Alumni Gazette, the William and Mary Magazine was published intermittently between 1988-2000 as a supplement.  It included articles on scholarly or other topics of interest not necessarily relating specifically to the college.
  • An index for the William and Mary News, Alumni Gazette, and The Flat Hat is available as a card file in the Special Collections Research Center. All three of these publications are available on microfilm in Swem Library (except for the most recent years) and in paper in the Special Collections Research Center.

FACULTY & STAFF NEWSPAPERS & JOURNALS

The University Archives attempts to obtain at least one copy of each publication issued by a campus office or organization. While this is not, of course, completely possible, the Archives contains an extensive collection of twentieth-century materials, and has a number of publications back to the early 1800s. The historically important W&M catalogs run from 1829 to the present, with gaps, and the earliest commencement program is dated 1831.

Other important published sources of information about the college include: campus directories, student handbooks, student and faculty speeches, Charter Day programs, departmental newsletters, annual reports, publicity brochures, materials for prospective students, affirmative action reports, fliers announcing up-coming fraternity parties, news releases, athletic programs, cultural events calendars, play programs, and student newspapers. There are some scattered publications from the various branch and extension colleges which have been affiliated with William and Mary. Material related to the Law School is available at the William & Mary Law School Scholarship Repository.

 

Principal Faculty and Staff Publications

  • William and Mary News: During the latter half of the twentieth century through 2007 William and Mary published a newsletter including substantial information about policies, campus events, and people on campus for faculty, staff, and others. The William and Mary News is the most recent in that series, in existence from 1972 through 2007.  Since then, William & Mary news has been posted on the College's News webpages.
  • An index for the William and Mary News, Alumni Gazette, and The Flat Hat is available as a card file in the Special Collections Research Center. All three of these publications are available on microfilm in Swem Library (except for the most recent years) and in paper in the Special Collections Research Center.

 

 

ADDITIONAL FACULTY AND STAFF NEWSPAPERS AND JOURNALS 

Use this strategy to find all periodicals and newspapers published both by and about W&M in the Library Catalog:

      'College of William and Mary' AND (Periodicals OR Newspapers)   --> click on EVERYTHING

 

Use this strategy to find periodicals and newspapers that are only about W&M:

     'College of William and Mary' AND (Periodicals OR Newspapers)   --> click on SUBJECT 

OTHER PUBLICATIONS

Several nationally-distributed scholarly journals have been produced at William and Mary, such as the William and Mary Quarterly (a journal about Virginia history, not just College of William and Mary history), Eighteenth-Century Life, and the William and Mary Law Review.

Since the late 1960s, students have frequently produced newspapers and other publications, including literary and creative journals, without official college sanction. The earliest student publication in the University Archives is the Owl, consisting of one issue published in 1854 by students. The satirical and humorous Fat Head, distributed by The Flat Hat writers, has been in existence since at least 1939. The Archives also keeps copies of other newspapers such as the DOG Street Journal and the Virginia Informer. When electronic versions of student publications are available from Special Collections, they can be found in the Communities in DSpace section of the W&M Digital Archive.

Posters announcing events and activities on campus can be found in the University Archives Poster Collection. They are a good representation of activities and visitors to campus as well as the relative sophistication of student-produced works.