Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

William & Mary

This guide provides an overview of sources, both primary & secondary, for conducting research related to William & Mary.

James Monroe Prize in Civic Leadership

The James Monroe Prize in Civic Leadership is awarded on Charter Day at William & Mary. The award is given each year to a William & Mary student who best demonstrates sustained leadership of an unusual quality—leadership combined with initiative, character, and an unfailing commitment to leveraging the assets of the William & Mary community to address the needs of society. The prize was established in 2005 by the Owens Foundation. The honorees receive a scholarship, a framed citation, and their names are added to a permanent plaque describing the award in the Sadler Center.


2005 George E. Srour
2006 Catherine A. Schwenkler
2007 Cosmo Fujiyama
2008 Wendy Chan
2009 Devin Oller
2010 Nicholas J. Belanger
2011 Will Morris
2012 Molly Bulman
2013 Taylor Nelson
2014 Laura Godwin
2015 Marge Lobeck
2016 Hallie Westlund
2017 Dan Delmonaco
2018 Jordan R. Gilliard
2019 Florence (Flo) Glynn
2020 Kathryn Monfalcone