Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

William & Mary

This guide provides an overview of sources, both primary & secondary, for conducting research related to William & Mary.

Preserving Your Material

Organizations may want to review the Tips for Preserving Your Group's History as one tool in ensuring that the history of the organization is preserved for future students and scholars and individuals will find the suggestions provided useful as well! Organizations should also contact Special Collections with any questions or to arrange the transfer of records (spcoll@wm.edu or 757-221-3090).

PHOTOGRAPHS

To begin your research, enter your search terms in the SCRC Collections Database search box (at right). Be sure to check the box "Include Box Lists" for the most results.

The tens of thousands of photographs in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) document campus locales, people, and events including school activities, plays and musicals, organizations, athletics, homecoming, and other typical campus scenes. While predominantly photographs, the collection also includes negatives, slides, contact sheets, digital images, glass plate negatives, daguerreotypes, tintypes, and other formats from the 19th century to the present. Photographs may be the only records of certain buildings, events, and activities, or may add information to the textual records that only a visual image could provide.

Photographs can be found throughout the SCRC's collections, in scrapbooks, personal papers, and some office files. Any search for photographs related to William & Mary should begin with the University Archives Photograph Collection. In some cases, it will not be possible to find the photographic original, but further sources to search for images include William & Mary publications, such as the Colonial Echo yearbook, athletic programs, and student newspapers such as The Flat Hat, which include numerous pictures illustrating student life and events on campus. Scrapbooks of William & Mary students, faculty, staff, offices, and others may also contain photographs of interest.

For more information or research assistance, pelase contact Swem Library's Special Collections Research Center (spcoll@wm.edu, 757-221-3090).

 

Video & Audio

To begin your research, enter your search terms in the SCRC Collections Database search box (at right). Be sure to check the box "Include Box Lists" for the most results.

 

The Special Collections Research Center's (SCRC) collection includes thousands of video and audio recordings in a variety of formats from the early 20th century to the present including phonograph albums, reel-to-reel audiotapes, films, various videotape formats, audiocassette tapes, digital formats, and others. Use the search box at the right or go directly to the University Archives Audiovidual Collection to browse the audio and video holdings. The inventory lists the items in the collection by format.