Skip to Main Content

HIST 301: Historian's Craft (Petty, Spring 2024)

Chicago Manual of Style

Quick Tips [short reference, not exhaustive]

Books (footnote, first time cited)

Author full name, Title (Location: Publisher, Date), ###– ###.
WIlford Kale. Hark Upon the Gale: An Illustrated History of The College of William and Mary (Norfolk, Va.: Donning Co., 1985), 12–5.

Books (footnote, later citations)
Author Last name, Title before the :, ###
Kale, Hark Upon the Gale, 45.

Books (Bibliography)
Author last name, Author first name. Title. Place: Publisher, year.       [NOTE: indent if there is a second line]
Kale, WIlford. Hark Upon the Gale: An Illustrated History of The College of William and Mary. Norfolk, Va.: Donning Co., 1985.


Ebooks (footnote, first time cited)
Author full name, Title (Place: Publisher, year), ##, URL or database    [NOTE: only use URL if not in a subscription database]
Sean M. Heuvel and Lisa L. Heuvel, The College of William and Mary in the Civil War (Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Company Publishers, 2013), 18–42, Ebook Central.

Lyon Gardiner Tyler, ed. The Two Hundredth Anniversary of the Charter of the College of William & Mary (Richmond: Printed by Whittet & Shepperson, 1894), 8–14, https://hdl.handle.net/2027/umn.31951001546265g.

Ebooks (footnote, later citations)
Author Last name, Title before the :, ###
Heuvel and Heuvel, College of William and Mary in the Civil War,  8–24.
Tyler, Two Hundredth Anniversary of the Charter of the College of William & Mary, 8–24.

Ebooks (bibliography)
Author last name, Author first name. Title. Place: Publisher, year, Database or URL.  
Heuvel, Sean M. and Lisa L. Heuvel, The College of William and Mary in the Civil War. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Company Publishers, 2013, 
      Ebook Central.
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, ed., The Two Hundredth Anniversary of the Charter of the College of William & Mary. Richmond: Printed by Whittet & Shepperson, 1894, https://hdl.handle.net/2027/umn.31951001546265g.

Journal Articles (First footnote) Print & Digital
Author Full Name, "Title," Journal [vol] #, no. # (Month, Year): pages cited.
Author Full Name, "Title," Journal [vol] #, no. # (Month, Year): page cited, URL or DOI or Database [NOTe: DOI preferred, without proxy]

W. Matthew Shipman, "Shaping the Future of Studying the Past," William & Mary Alumni Magazine 69, no 3/4 (Spring, 2004): 40–1.
James S. Heller, "From Oxford to Williamsburg: Part 2 - The College of William & Mary Law School and Wolf Law Library," Legal Information Management 12, no. 4 (Dec. 2012): 291–292, doi.org/10.1017/S1472669612000655.  

Journal Articles (All Later footnotes) Print & Digital
Author last name, "Title before the :," pages cited.
Shipman, "Shaping the Future of Studying the Past," 40–1.
Heller, "From Oxford to Williamsburg," 291–2.

Journal Articles (Bibliography)
Last name, First name. "Title." Journal, volume #, issue #, (Date): all pages.
Last name, First name. "Title." Journal, volume #, issue #, (Date): all pages. URL or DIO or Database
Shipman, W. Matthew.  "Shaping the Future of Studying the Past," William & Mary Alumni Magazine 69, no 3/4 (Spring, 2004): 40–6.
Heller, James S. "From Oxford to Williamsburg: Part 2 - The College of William & Mary Law School and Wolf Law Library," Legal Information Management 12, no. 4 (Dec. 2012): 291–7, doi.org/10.1017/S1472669612000655.  

Website (First Footnote)
"Title," Website, Accessed or last modified date, URL.
"History of William & Mary," William and Mary, accessed November 5, 2022, https://www.wm.edu/offices/deanofstudents/services/communityvalues/studenthandbook/history_of_william_and_mary/index.php.

Website (all later footnotes)
"Title."
"History of William & Mary."

Website (Bibliography)
Website. "Title." Accessed or last modified date, URL.
William and Mary. "History of William & Mary." Accessed November 5, 2022, https://www.wm.edu/offices/deanofstudents/services
      /communityvalues/studenthandbook/history_of_william_and_mary/index.php.

Newspapers (First Footnote)
[PRINT] 
First Name last name, "Title," Newspaper, Month Day, Year, page.
NOTE: many 19th century newspapers will not list an author. If no author is listed, skip right to title.
"William and Mary College," Richmond Whig, December 17, 1824, [3].
[Digital] 
First Name last name, "Title," Newspaper, Month Day, Year, URL.
"William and Mary College," Richmond Whig, December 17, 1824, https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn83045110/1824-12-17/ed-1/seq-3/ 

Newspapers (all later footnotes)
[Print or Digital]
Author Last Name, "Title," page.
 

Newspapers (Bibliography)
[Print]
Last name, First name. "Title." Newspaper, Month Day, Year.
[Digital]
Last name, First name. "Title." Newspaper, Month Day, Year. Website or Database

"William and Mary College," Richmond Whig, December 17, 1824. Chronicling America.

 

Clem History Writing Center

The Michael and Kathleen Clem History Writing Center, located in 347 James Blair Hall, offers free consultations for students working on research and writing assignments for history courses. We work with students at all levels, from those new to writing about history to advanced graduate students.

The Clem History Writing Center (HWC) is staffed by PhD candidates with extensive historical research and writing experience. We have all taught our own undergraduate history courses at William & Mary and have worked with students in the History Department for years. 

Our center provides consultations for History Department writing assignments, for courses cross-listed with History, and for history-related projects such as honors theses and graduate school application essays. If your paper does not meet these criteria, or if you are looking for ESL assistance, we encourage you to schedule an appointment at Swem Library.

Starting in Fall 2021, we are piloting a HWC Twitter (@WMHistWriting) and Instagram (@wmhistwriting). Follow us there for Center updates, writing tips, and notifications about open appointment slots.

Excellence in writing is hard work, but it is crucial to your success at William & Mary and in the future. We look forward to working with you!

Resources and Guides

Citation Guides

The citation and reference format you use will depend on both the citation style you are writing in (such as MLA, APA, or Chicago) and the type of source you're citing (such as a book, journal article, or film). These citation guides and manuals can get you started.