Research Guides: HIST 301: Historian's Craft (Petty, Fall 2024): Broadside

Using the Library Catalog and WorldCat to find Broadsides

In the Library main catalog, use the term broadsides as a subject term in one search box, and your topic as a keyword in the second search box.
Then limit the search results to your time period of interest.

Main Library Catalog
Search for your topic (ex. Pirates, trade, religion, etc) and then limit the publication date the exclude items before 1776. The catalog will search many of our major primary source databases for you, as well as Hathi Trust and other resources.
Full list of 1800-1860 Broadsides at Library
Use the Subjects tab on the side to narrow to your topic, or skim the results.

This exact same method works in WorldCat too. ILL published materials of interest.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Materials held by thousands of libraries in the US and abroad. Books, websites, computer programs, films, slides, journals, magazines, papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings, videotapes, etc. Coverage: Before 1000BC-present.

Databases with Broadsides

Be sure to limit to broadsides as your document type.

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
American history, literature, culture, and daily life. Choose this database to search the following as one file: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1, 1760-1900; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1670-1800; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1652-1800. Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia (LCP) 1801-1819; Supplement from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) 1801-1819. Coverage: Varies.
American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable facsimile images that capture daily life in America. Wide variety of items, including clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, theater and music programs, stock certificates, advertisements, menus, and social invitations. Coverage: 1760-1900.
Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution This link opens in a new window
Traces the progress of the Constitution and Bill of Rights through each of the thirteen states conventions. Convention and legislative records, private papers, letters, newspapers, broadsides, and pamphlets. Fully searchable. A Rotunda Collections database. Coverage: 1776-1791.
Everyday Life & Women in America This link opens in a new window
This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature, the daily lives of women and men, and contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.