Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 491C / LAS 450/ AMS 490 / Africana 406: Race and Racism in the Americas (Fall 2022)

Chicago Manual of Style

Quick Tips [short reference, not exhaustive]

Books (footnote, first time cited)

Author full name, Title (Location: Publisher, Date), ###– ###.
WIlford Kale. Hark Upon the Gale: An Illustrated History of The College of William and Mary (Norfolk, Va.: Donning Co., 1985), 12–5.

Books (footnote, later citations)
Author Last name, Title before the :, ###
Kale, Hark Upon the Gale, 45.

Books (Bibliography)
Author last name, Author first name. Title. Place: Publisher, year.       [NOTE: indent if there is a second line]
Kale, WIlford. Hark Upon the Gale: An Illustrated History of The College of William and Mary. Norfolk, Va.: Donning Co., 1985.


Ebooks (footnote, first time cited)
Author full name, Title (Place: Publisher, year), ##, URL or database    [NOTE: only use URL if not in a subscription database]
Sean M. Heuvel and Lisa L. Heuvel, The College of William and Mary in the Civil War (Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Company Publishers, 2013), 18–42, Ebook Central.

Lyon Gardiner Tyler, ed. The Two Hundredth Anniversary of the Charter of the College of William & Mary (Richmond: Printed by Whittet & Shepperson, 1894), 8–14, https://hdl.handle.net/2027/umn.31951001546265g.

Ebooks (footnote, later citations)
Author Last name, Title before the :, ###
Heuvel and Heuvel, College of William and Mary in the Civil War,  8–24.
Tyler, Two Hundredth Anniversary of the Charter of the College of William & Mary, 8–24.

Ebooks (bibliography)
Author last name, Author first name. Title. Place: Publisher, year, Database or URL.  
Heuvel, Sean M. and Lisa L. Heuvel, The College of William and Mary in the Civil War. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Company Publishers, 2013, 
      Ebook Central.
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, ed., The Two Hundredth Anniversary of the Charter of the College of William & Mary. Richmond: Printed by Whittet & Shepperson, 1894, https://hdl.handle.net/2027/umn.31951001546265g.

Journal Articles (First footnote) Print & Digital
Author Full Name, "Title," Journal [vol] #, no. # (Month, Year): pages cited.
Author Full Name, "Title," Journal [vol] #, no. # (Month, Year): page cited, URL or DOI or Database [NOTe: DOI preferred, without proxy]

W. Matthew Shipman, "Shaping the Future of Studying the Past," William & Mary Alumni Magazine 69, no 3/4 (Spring, 2004): 40–1.
James S. Heller, "From Oxford to Williamsburg: Part 2 - The College of William & Mary Law School and Wolf Law Library," Legal Information Management 12, no. 4 (Dec. 2012): 291–292, doi.org/10.1017/S1472669612000655.  

Journal Articles (All Later footnotes) Print & Digital
Author last name, "Title before the :," pages cited.
Shipman, "Shaping the Future of Studying the Past," 40–1.
Heller, "From Oxford to Williamsburg," 291–2.

Journal Articles (Bibliography)
Last name, First name. "Title." Journal, volume #, issue #, (Date): all pages.
Last name, First name. "Title." Journal, volume #, issue #, (Date): all pages. URL or DIO or Database
Shipman, W. Matthew.  "Shaping the Future of Studying the Past," William & Mary Alumni Magazine 69, no 3/4 (Spring, 2004): 40–6.
Heller, James S. "From Oxford to Williamsburg: Part 2 - The College of William & Mary Law School and Wolf Law Library," Legal Information Management 12, no. 4 (Dec. 2012): 291–7, doi.org/10.1017/S1472669612000655.  

Website (First Footnote)
"Title," Website, Accessed or last modified date, URL.
"History of William & Mary," William and Mary, accessed November 5, 2022, https://www.wm.edu/offices/deanofstudents/services/communityvalues/studenthandbook/history_of_william_and_mary/index.php.

Website (all later footnotes)
"Title."
"History of William & Mary."

Website (Bibliography)
Website. "Title." Accessed or last modified date, URL.
William and Mary. "History of William & Mary." Accessed November 5, 2022, https://www.wm.edu/offices/deanofstudents/services
      /communityvalues/studenthandbook/history_of_william_and_mary/index.php.

Resources and Guides

Writing Resources Center

William & Mary's Writing Resources Center provides an array of assistance for both undergraduate and graduate students:

Resources and Guides

Citation Guides

The citation and reference format you use will depend on both the citation style you are writing in (such as MLA, APA, or Chicago) and the type of source you're citing (such as a book, journal article, or film). These citation guides and manuals can get you started.