Data and Digital Humanities Software

This guide provides suggestions for data and digital humanities software and is organized by the type of research being conducted. On each of the pages we have provided software and resources available through William & Mary as well as open access (freely available) and licensed (purchase required) software options. If you are looking for training on the software we recommend looking on the resource's website. It can usually be found on pages labelled: about, help or training. 

• Qualitative Data Analysis: Includes comparison charts to help you select a QDA software like, and descriptions of open access (ex. AQUAD, Python, QCoder) and licensed (ex. NVivo, MAXAQDA) software.
• Quantitative Data Analysis: Look here for software like SPSS, R, SAS, Stata, and OpenRefine.
• Data Visualization: Arranged by Digital Humanities (ex. Image Plot, Palladio) and Quantitative (ex. Social Explorer, Tableau) data visualization resources.
• Geospatial Analysis: Provides mapping databases available at WM, as well as open access software like Knight Lab, and licensed software, ArcGIS.
• Publication: Includes tools that allow for both for both born-digital scholarship publication (ex: Scalar, Manifold) and digital collection/exhibit display (ex: Collection Builder, Omeka)
• 3D: Includes tools for 3D modeling (ex: Unity, SketchFab) that can got into collections, games, and AR/VR
• Text Analysis: Includes tools (ex: HTRC, Voyant) allow scholars to read bodies of text in new ways by using machine learning to pick up on word frequency patterns in texts.
• Storytelling: These tools aid storytelling using many of the methods mentioned above and includes non-linear storytelling tools like Twine

W&M Libraries provides resources and support for anyone in the W&M community who works with or is interested in learning more about digital humanities, working with data, creating visualizations, managing and archiving their data, and exploring new digital methods and approaches. Our librarians are available for consultations, and provide workshops throughout the semester on various data and digital humanities topics.

If you have questions about software not addressed in this guide, please email data-dh@wm.edu.