Data and Digital Humanities Software

Scalar is a free, open source authoring and publishing platform that’s designed to make it easy for authors to write long-form, born-digital scholarship online. Scalar enables users to assemble media from multiple sources and juxtapose them with their own writing in a variety of ways, with minimal technical expertise required.

CollectionBuilder is an open source framework for creating digital collection and exhibit websites that are driven by metadata and powered by modern static web technology.

A Manifold installation is a library of projects. A project can be all kinds of things: a monograph, an essay, a primary text, a journal article, a journal issue, or a collection of resources.

Open-source web publishing platforms for sharing digital collections and creating media-rich online exhibits.

A unique solution to the data management needs of Humanities researchers. HEURIST is a research-driven data management system that puts you in charge, allowing you to design, populate, explore and publish your own richly-structured database(s) within hours, through a simple web interface, without the need for programmers or consultants. We provide full support, including round-the clock email support, live workshops, online tutorials and access to a global network of Heurist users. You can create Heurist databases at no charge. Databases created on this service can be used to support a research project as they will be maintained as long as they are in use.

Datasette is a tool for exploring and publishing data. It helps people take data of any shape, analyze and explore it, and publish it as an interactive website and accompanying API.It is aimed at data journalists, museum curators, archivists, local governments, scientists, researchers and anyone else who has data that they wish to share with the world. It is part of a wider ecosystem of 46 tools and 151 plugins dedicated to making working with structured data as productive as possible.

The WordPress blogging platform (pages.wm.edu) is available to William & Mary students, faculty and staff. WordPress is a fully-featured blogging system that supports multiple users (and multiple user roles), comments (anonymous or not–at your discretion), and RSS syndication.

Reclaim Hosting provides educators and institutions with an easy way to offer their students domains and web hosting that they own and control. Our goal is to make the process of offering a flexible web space and domain name to your students as easy as possible and giving you the support you need to make it all happen. With a software library of over 150 applications including WordPress, Omeka, Drupal and more, our automated installer makes it dead simple to experiment and build out amazing websites. Requires a yealry subscription.