Skip to main content

W&M Libraries Resources to Support Teaching & Learning During the COVID-19 Outbreak

Free Resources from Library Vendors During the COVID-19 Outbreak (Updated as needed)

 

Royal Society Journals

All content available with no paywall for all journals published by the Royal Society of London.
 

World Scientific Free Resources

As a leading academic publisher, World Scientific is committed to helping the global research and teaching community by supporting our users who are facing accessibility challenges due to the impact of COVID-19.

We are therefore pleased to upgrade College of William & Mary’s journal access to one that includes ALL World Scientific journal content published from 2001. This takes effect from now, until June 30, 2020. It has already been made available through the IP ranges we have and you can direct library patrons to read the articles at: https://www.worldscientific.com/page/wsjournals.

In addition, ProQuest Ebook Central and EBSCOHost customers will get automatic upgrades to unlimited concurrent access (from single user or 3U) on your World Scientific e-books through mid-June.

 

RedShelf

Up to 7 free ebooks from RedShelf 

To ensure that all students have access to their course materials amidst the COVID-19 outbreak, we're partnering with the publishing community to provide you with up to 7 free eBooks from participating publishers. (Program applies to students at non-profit, semester-based schools, and access runs through May 25th.)

 

Brill COVID-19 Collection

More than 30 leading STM publishers have committed to making all of their COVID-19 and coronavirus-related publications immediately accessible. At Brill we have opened up books and articles on topics such as public health, distance learning, crisis research. If any new related content is published with us, it will be added to this collection.

 

Pearson Cost-free Resources

If your class uses a Pearson product that is supported by an ebook through VitalSource or RedShelf, your students may be able to get immediate access at no charge. Learn more at cost-free resources for those affected by COVID-19

 

Digital Loeb Classical Library

Access to the digital Loeb Classical Library will be free to schools and universities impacted by COVID-19 until June 30th.

Email loebclassics_sales@harvard.edu for access


Project Muse
Participating Publishers

The following publishers have chosen to temporarily make content freely available on Project MUSE. Each publisher designates the specific content and for how long it will be freely available on MUSE. We will update this list on a daily basis.

 

Oxford University Press

We are also pleased to share that our colleagues at Epigeum, part of Oxford University Press, have made their courses on Teaching Online and Blended Learning freely available until the end of May in order to help those tackling distance learning for the first time. Find out more information about these courses on the Epigeum website.

And finally, please be aware that OUP has a comprehensive hub of the latest COVID-19 research, freely available for the duration of the outbreak, in order to support researchers, medics, and public health professionals in dealing with the crisis. 

 

‚ÄčInfobase

In an effort to help provide access to our database products for institutions that may not have access or funds at this point, Infobase is offering free trial access to the following databases through 4/30/20 for our Infobase Academic  Virtual Classroom.  Let me know if you have any questions or issues accessing the trial.  Be well and stay safe.

Academic Virtual Classroom Login:

User Name: distancelearning
Password:  trial

All Available Products

Annual Reviews

We at Annual Reviews have been thinking about how to help the many students, faculty and researchers that are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic.  To assist them, on Monday, March 16th we will temporarily remove access control to our content.”

 

Bloomsbury

Bloomsbury has opened up the entire content of Drama Online for free until May 31st.
 

Bloomberg Market Concepts online course

For faculty who are looking for financial literacy, this could be a timely option, as the Core course provides info on economic indicators, currencies, fixed income, and equities. While it requires no grading on the faculty’s part, it does require setting up a course online through the platform and distributing the class code to students.
 

Chronicle of Higher Education

As the crisis deepens, The Chronicle is providing free access to our breaking-news updates.
We invite you to explore our complete coverage of the coronavirus, including other tools and resources you might find useful:

Films on Demand Cloud Hosting

Films On Demand offers cloud hosting which allows you to upload up to 10 programs from other producers for which you own the digital rights to our Films On Demand platform.  This allows you to stream the video, add it to a playlist or create segments, embed it in an LMS and share it out to students just like you can with any of the other title on our platform.  Our tech support department is available to help with any questions you may have.  If you need additional storage space we have cloud hosting packages available. 

 

Gale Cengage

COVID-19 Customer Support Web Page.  “We have created an online toolkit where librarians and educators can find and optimize their existing resources, access additional resources supporting health research and content for teaching, professional development resources to help transition to virtual learning, and more. You can preview the site now but additional resources will be added before deployment Monday and throughout next week.”

 

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) (pdf)

FREE JoVE Science Education content with absolutely no strings attached until June 15th

 

Kanopy Streaming Video

With the support of select content partners like First Run Features, Samuel Goldwyn, Collective Eye Films, FilmRise, Films We Like, Media Education Foundation and NYX and more we’ve put together a collection of films that your campus can watch at no cost for the next 30 days. This list will continue to grow as we connect with our content partners in the coming days. We will send regular updates as necessary. DOWNLOAD THE FREE FILM GUIDE   Starting Monday, March 16th, 2020 all selections in our catalog from The Great Courses will be available to use at no additional cost for the next 4 weeks. We encourage you to share this resource with your professors and faculty.

 

ProQuest Ebook Central

Coronavirus-Impacted Libraries get Unlimited Access to Ebook Central Holdings. ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period, helping librarians bridge the gap for their patrons in this rapidly changing environment. The unlimited access also applies to additional titles purchased through mid-June.  List of participating publishers here (pdf)

  • ProQuest has partnered with more than 50 publishers to support libraries in providing unlimited access to Ebook Central holdings for all patrons – at no extra charge. This change will go into effect on Ebook Central early next week. Participating publishers include: ABC-CLIO, Bloomsbury Publishing, Cambridge University Press, Elsevier Health Sciences, Harvard University Press, IGI Global, Nova Science Publishers, Rowman & Littlefield, Springer Nature, Taylor & Francis/CRC Press, The University of Toronto Press, World Scientific, and more.

Publishers temporarily lifting access restrictions (Bronze Open Access) on content related to COVID-19. All resources below are freely-accessible as of March 13, 2020:

Freely Available Resources 

  • Directory of Open Access Books:  directory of academic, peer reviewed open access books.
  • epubBooks.com: free public domain eBooks that you can download in the EPUB format.
  • Google Books: Previews and full-text ebooks. Full-text books are out of copyright, or books in which Google received permission from the publisher to reproduce.
  • Hathi Trust Digital Library:  a repository providing access to public domain and in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
  • Internet Archive: Ebooks and Texts Archive:  contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts, and academic books.
  • Project Gutenberg: first and largest single collection of free ebooks that are out of copyright in the United States.
  • PLOS (Public Library of Science): open access ejournals in science and medicine.
  • NCBI Bookshelf: free online access to ebooks and documents in life sciences and healthcare.
  • OAPEN Library: Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
  • BioMed Central: part of Springer/Nature, BMC publishes open access journals in science and medicine.
  • Open Book Publishers:  freely-available ebooks and e-textbooks in the Humanities and Social Sciences. 
  • Project Muse: open access ejournals and ebooks from university presses and scholarly societies.
  • DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books):  collection of peer-reviewed open access ebooks.  
  • DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals):  collection of peer-reviewed open access ejournals.
  • Mason OER Metafinder: provides a real-time, simultaneous search of 21 different sources for open educational resources

Other Sources of Support—From Local to Global