Tertiary - or reference - sources can be very useful tools during the beginning stages of your research. Conducting background research to learn about your topic can help you better understand the intricacies of the issue which will help lead you to stronger and refined research topics. The following sources on this page are suggested encyclopedias that could cover your protest events.
Encyclopedia of American Activism (ebook) by
The turbulence of the 1960s and 1970s spawned a spectrum of activist movements. In spirit and action, events ranged from: gentle to violent; from Tree People to Bloody Sunday; from Community Mental Health to Black Power. This rapid stream of social and political change defined the second half of the 20th century, yet had roots in the first half. The baby boom generation launched many movements. Unlike their Depression/WWII parents, the boomers, a large cohort of unattached, young adults, had no looming familial and social responsibilities. They had the freedom and resources for the consuming task of changing the world.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by
The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice presents a comprehensive overview of the field with topics of varying dimensions, breadth, and length. This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements (ebook) by
This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
Protest, Power, and Change by
First published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Tweeting to Freedom: an Encyclopedia of Citizen Protests and Uprisings Around the World (ebook) by
The innovators who created social media might never have imagined the possibility: that activists living in countries where oppressive conditions are the norm would use social media to call for changes to bring greater freedom, opportunity, and justice to the masses. The attributes of social media that make it so powerful for casual socializing--the ability to connect with nearly limitless numbers of like-minded individuals instantaneously--enables political activists to recruit, communicate, and organize like never before. This book examines three aspects of the use of social media for political activism: the degrees of media freedom practiced in countries around the world; the methods by which governments attempt to block access to information; and the various ways in which activists use the media--especially social media--to advance their cause of greater freedoms. Readers will learn how these political uprisings came from the grassroots efforts of oppressed and unhappy citizens desperate to make better lives for themselves and others like them--and how the digital age is allowing them to protest and call attention to their plights in unprecedented ways.
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History - An Encyclopedia by
This three-volume work traces the history of revolts and rebellions from the colonial era to the 20th century. America has a long history of rebellions extending back before 1776. Revolts have taken place because of economic hard times, the denial of civil rights, racism, sexism, and classism. Studying the reasons for and results of these uprisings provides a window into the life of the American body politic--and what moves the American people to action. Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History: An Encyclopedia details the history of popular actions from the colonial era to the 20th century. Each event in the three-volume encyclopedia is covered by an overview entry that details who was involved, why the revolt took place, what happened, and what the aftereffects were. Shorter subentries provide further detail on the important people, places, events, and ideas that were a part of the action. By presenting both the broad themes and the specifics, the encyclopedia enables readers to gain a general knowledge of the event or drill down to acquire a greater understanding. 71 chronologically arranged entries detail the revolts and uprisings that have shaped the history of the United States, with 2-5 subentries that drill down into those histories Each entry includes an overview essay, followed by entries on related people, groups, organizations, ideas, and places, along with select primary sources Contributions come from a distinguished group of American historians from across the nation and across historical disciplines One volume is comprised entirely of primary source documents Illustrations and photographs show events discussed