Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GOVT 100: Politics of Protest

This guide includes suggested databases and resources that can be used to locate primary and secondary source materials you can use to research your video essay topic, as well as databases containing video and graphics you can include in your video.

What are Primary Sources?

Simply put, “Primary sources are those in which the author or creator was a direct observer of the recorded event.” (Starko, Alane J., Looking For Data In All the Right Places. Mansfield Center, CT: Creative Learning Press, 1992, p. 28)

Primary sources include first-hand information from a person who witnessed or participated in an event. They are original materials, created at the time of an event or soon thereafter. Primary sources can also be scientific data, statistics, or an official transcript of a government proceeding. For subjects in history, it’s from the time, not about the time.

Primary sources are found in a variety of formats, such as: original documents in archives and libraries; materials reprinted in published sources, such as collections of letters, diaries, autobiographies; microforms; digitized on the web; oral interviews; a piece of art; recordings.

Patrick Rael at Bowdoin College has a good discussion on How to Read a Primary Source.

Protest & Social Movement Databases

Slavery & Abolition Databases

LGBTQ+ and Women's Movement Databases

Civil Rights Movement