Newspapers: African American Newspapers

Broad coverage of African American history, culture, and daily life. Newspapers from over 35 states. Coverage: 1827-1998.

W.A. Scott II founded the Atlanta Daily World at a time when most black Americans lived in the South. He felt that the race problem could only be solved in the South, which required an informed community. Rather than reading news about African-Americans through the optics of a host of prejudiced white papers, he launched his own newspaper to educate, inspire, uplift, and promote the expression of the Southern black community. Coverage: 1931-2003

One of the most widely circulated African American newspapers on the Atlantic Coast. News articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1893-1988.

Pittsburgh Courier
Published in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, from 1907-October 22, 1966.

A leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. News articles, photos, advertisements, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1909-1975.

Full text of the Cleveland call post from 1934-1991 under all its title variants.

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Los Angeles sentinel (1934-2005). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.

African American newspaper, published weekly in New York City. News articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1922-1993.

Published in Norfolk, Virginia, this is one of the most important African American newspapers of its time. News articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, etc. Full page and article images with searchable full text. Coverage: 1916-2003.

The oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.

This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Courier (1950-1954 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh Courier (1969-1981 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh Courier (1981-2002), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-1950 : City ed.), and Pittsburgh Courier (1955-1965 : City ed.).