Research Guides: Asian Studies Resources in the Special Collections Research Center: China and Taiwan

China and Taiwan

Manuscripts

Travel

Frances Evarts Clark Diary, 1926–1927 (SC 00866)
of Washington, DC, travelled aboard USS Chaumont to Guam, China, Philippines, Japan, then on the USS Arabic to England and France
Beatrice Livingstone Travel Diary, 1926–1929 (SC 01312)
Travel diary along with itinerary, charted courses, pictures, and mementos kept by Beatrice Livingstone, wife of Lieutenant John Livingstone. Ships include the USS Chaumont, SS President Madison, SS President Jackson, and SS Malolo. Ephemera includes newspapers, tickets, maps, telegrams, cablegrams, and pamphlets from the Panama Canal Zone, the Pacific coast of the United States, Manila, Shanghai, Peking [Beijing], Kyoto, and Tokyo.
Amos Koontz Papers II, 1865-1970 (Mss. 91 K83 and 1996.25)
Includes travel diaries from 1948 (Guam, Philippines, Japan, Korea, Okinawa, and China, typed), 1955 (England, Austria, Turkey, Lebanon, Jordan, Syria, Iraq, Iran, Pakistan, India, Thailand, Indonesia, Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Philippines, Hong Kong, and Japan, typed), and 1961 (Japan, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Thailand, Burma, India, Israel, Greece, Hungary, and Austria, typed)
Blake T. Newton, Jr. Papers, 1939-1985 (Mss. 84 N42)
Primarily professional correspondence of a lawyer and insurance company executive. Collection contains correspondence for overseas travel, including a 1973 "trip to the Orient" (Box 8, Folders 58-62) and 1980 trip to China (Box 8, Folders 77-88).
Margetta Hirsch Doyle Papers, 1941-1984 (UA 5.005)
Includes a diary, photographs, and financial information related to a trip through China, Japan, and Hong Kong in the fall of 1984

Military and Diplomacy

Conway Whittle Papers, 1773-1911 (Mss. 76 W61)
This collection includes several letters from American consuls and naval officers in Canton [Guangzhou] and Macao about the China trade and also some about opium, 1810-1824 (Box 1, Folder 43; Box 14, Folders 2-3)
Galt Papers (III), 1750-1991 (Mss. 78 G73)
Diary, 1873-1875, of Robert W. Galt, kept chiefly during his service as a U.S. naval engineer on the U.S.S. Yantic in China (Group 5, Box 1, Folder 20)
Grigsby-Galt Papers, 1736-1982 (Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269)
Letters from U.S. Navy officer William W. Galt from Chefoo [Yantai] and Tsingtao [Qingdao], China, 1903-1904 (Box 7, Folder 3)
William F. Willoughby Papers, 1818-1955 (Mss. 72 W66)
The papers of William F. Willoughby, mostly concerning his service as treasurer and secretary of Puerto Rico and as deputy legal advisor to President Yuan Shikai (term 1912-1915) of China during the period when Yuan made an unsuccessful attempt to restore the monarchy to China by having himself crowned emperor. The collection includes personal correspondence of Willougby with his twin brother Westel Woodbury Willoughby, sister Alice Estelle Willoughby, copies of official memoranda prepared for the Chinese and published writings.
Carl Neprud Papers, 1920-1976 (Mss. Acc. 2002.50)
Approximately fifty record storage boxes of Carl Neprud (1889-1976), U.S. government official, consultant in the Far East, personal and professional papers relating to his years in China primarily from the mid 1920s through the 1940s. This is a large collection (50 boxes), but it is not organized and can be very difficult to use. It is stored offsite, so it must be requested with several days' notice.
August R. Offer, Jr. Papers, 1945-1946 (SC 01258)
Papers, 1945-1946 of Sergeant August R. Offer Jr., consisting of letters, photographs, Chinese currency, Chinese stamps and a military pass for the City for Shanghai. Letters are addressed to Offer while stationed in Shanghai after the end of the WW II and also to the U.S after his return in December 1945.
James A. Bill Papers, 1940-2007 (Mss. Acc. 2003.66)
Includes notes on China/Japan/U.S. relations from 1972 Bilderberg Conference (Box 26, Folder 20)
Herbert H. Bateman Congressional Papers, 1956-2000 (Mss. Acc. 2000.74)
Includes information on an official trip taken to Taipei, Taiwan in 1984 (Box 218, Folder 18)

Missionaries and Teachers

Robert Nelson Papers, 1845-1897 (Mss. 39.1 N34)
Correspondence, 1875-1885, sermons and accounts of Robert Nelson, Protestant Episcopal missionary to Shanghai, China. Includes two account books, a lettercopy book, and articles written by Nelson as well as two manuscript Chinese-English dictionaries compiled by Nelson. There is one letter written to Nelson in which the writer has used Wade-Giles transliteration.
H. M. Lewis Papers, 1932-1934 (SC 00848)
Includes a 15-page letter written by Lewis, a missionary in Japan, describes in detail travels to different places in Asia. Sections are titled: 'Manila', 'Along the China Sea - Hong Kong', 'Shanghai', and 'Yokohama,' 1934.
Myers-Burrage-Graham (I) Papers, Group B, 1888-1942 (Mss. 98 M99 Group B)
Transcript of "An Address to a Group of American and British Missionaries" delivered by Soong Mei-ling [Madame Chiang Kai-shek] at a conference in Hankou, China, 1938 (Box 1 Add, Folder 22)

Miscellaneous

Alfred Tingle Letters to Lillian Tingle, 1909 (SC 01592)
Eight letters from brother in Tientsin [Tianjin], China to his sister in Oregon. Both were British ex-patriots. Alfred was a chemist and working for the Imperial Chinese Mint at the time of this letters. Lillian was a food columnist for the Oregonian newspaper. Alfred writes about current events in his area, the ousting of all of the Japanese from his region, activities in neighboring Afghanistan, work progress, some of his publications in scientific journals, and of his charge, a small girl whom he is determined to have learn English.
Galt Papers (V), 1900-1979 (Mss. 78 G73 (V))
Includes diaries and personal correspondence of Louise Alberta West Galt (b. 1876) and Howard Spilman Galt (1872-1948), who were missionaries to China between approximately 1899-1940. Galt helped establish what is now Yenching University. Of special interest are the diary and letters of Louise A. W. Galt written during the summer of 1900 during the siege of Peking [Beijing] during the Boxer Rebellion, available online in the W&M Digital Archive.
W. H. Wilkinson Papers, 1919-1939 (Mss. Acc. 2009.325)
Records, 1919-1939, of San Francisco Lawyer W.H. Wilkinson concerning the legal status and travel regulations of Chinese immigrants living in the U.S., as well as immigration applications of Chinese citizens planning to move to the United States. Included is correspondence with state and federal agencies, employers, banks, and clients. Photographs are attached to the majority of the files.
William & Mary Hip Hop Collection, circa 1985-2014
Jinwen (roughly translates as "censored news") a 2013 CD by 鍾翔宇 [Zhong Xiangyu], a hip hop artist based in Taiwan (Box 7)

Visual Material

Also see the Facsimiles of Chinese Paintings page for our collection of high quality reproductions of Chinese masterwork paintings.

Chinese Posters, 1910-1915 (Mss. Acc. 2004.10)
25 posters and hand-painted scenes from China. Subject matter includes family scenes and cultural themes.
The costume of China: illustrated by sixty engravings; with explanations in English and French by Mason, George Henry.
Call Number: Rare Book - Folio 391.0951 M38 oversize
Publication Date: 1804
Subjects: Costume -- China; China -- Social life and customs
Ephemera Collection (Mss. 1.02)
Communist Woodcuts (China), 1951. (Acc. 2012.079) Woodcuts depict various scenes in China and Korea. Includes idealized Communist depictions of Chinese life, Chinese soldiers training Korean soldiers, and the capture of a U.S. Army tank. (Box 12)

Anti-Nazi Woodcuts (China), circa 1940s. (Acc. 2012.078) Chinese woodcut images of Nazi characters and symbols, as well as Chinese people, with quotations in Chinese around them. (Box 11)
Photographs (China), circa 1960s. (Acc. 2012.087) Photographs of various locations throughout China, mostly of workers and manufacturing in China, with captions in Chinese at the bottom of each image. (Box 13)
Jie zi yuan hua zhuan by Wang, Gai, active 1677-1705.
Call Number: Rare Books ND1043 .W33 1800z
Publication Date: 18--?
Subjects: Painting, Chinese -- Technique; Painting -- Technique; Painting, Chinese -- Ming-Qing dynasties, 1368-1912
Jie zi yuan hua zhuan. 4 ji di 2 ce by Wang, Gai, active 1677-1706.
Call Number: Rare Books ND1040 .W34 ser.4, bk.2
Publication Date: 188-?
Description: Each leaf contains a picture and instruction for painting a particular character. Includes Buddhist saints, monks and nuns, teachers, musicians, and children. Woodblock printed book.
Subjects: Portraits, Chinese; Painting, Chinese; Painting -- Technique
Keystone View Company Collection Tour of the World, circa 1892-1933, 1936 (MS 00008)
The set includes stereoview images from six continents, excluding Antarctica. The scenes capture diverse people, monuments, and landscapes. Each stereoview has a description of the scene located on the back, which are often ethnocentric towards non-western cultures.
Images of China, such as a city scene in Shanghai or bamboo production techniques, are located in Box 5.
The pageant of Peking: comprising sixty-six Vandyck photogravures of Peking and environs from photographs by Mennie, Donald. Putnam Weale, B. L. (Bertram Lenox), 1877-1930. Couling, Samuel, 1859-1922.
Call Number: Rare Book - Folio 915.11 M52 oversize
Publication Date: 1920
Subjects: Beijing (China) -- Description and travel
敦煌飛天 [Dunhuang fei tian] by Zhao, Puchu, ǂd 1907-2000. 中国旅游出版社. Zhongguo lü you chu ban she.
Call Number: Rare Book - Folio ND2850 .T8 T827
Publication Date: 1982
Subjects: Mural painting and decoration, Chinese -- China -- Dunhuang Xian: Apsaras; Apsaras in art; Dunhuang Caves (China)

Rare Books

William & Mary Libraries owns many volumes of travel narratives, memoirs of missionaries and businesspeople, and histories that focus on or include China; these can be found in Special Collections, the main circulating collection, and as eBooks. Special Collections also has some volumes dealing with dogs and with papermaking in China.

The Chinese recorder and missionary journal.
Call Number: Rare Books BV3410 .C6
Publication Date: 1868-1941
Subjects: Missions -- China -- Periodicals
Available online through the HathiTrust
The fight for a new China by Mao, Zedong, 1893-1976.
Call Number: Rare Books DS777.53 .M25 1945
Publication Date: 1945
"Delivered ... to the Seventh national congress of the Chinese communist party [April 24, 1945]"
Subjects: Communism -- China; China -- Politics and government -- 1937-1945
A new digest of Japanese war conduct, compiled by Shuhsi Hsü. Prepared under the auspices of the Council of international affairs, Chungking. by Xu, Shuxi, 1892- Council of International Affairs (China) Kelly & Walsh, publisher.
Call Number: Rare Books DS777.53 .H76 1941
Publication Date: 1941
Subjects: Japanese -- China; Bombardment; Military occupation; China -- History -- 1937-1945
Available online through the HathiTrust
A new history of China: containing a description of the most considerable particulars of that vast empire by Magalhães, Gabriel de, 1609-1677.
Call Number: Rare Book - Nicholson DS708 .M1713 1688
Publication Date: 1688
This title was part of the original library of the College of William & Mary prior to 1700.
Subjects: Magalhães, Gabriel de, -- 1609-1677; China -- Description and travel -- Early works to 1800
Available online through Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Shanghai almanac and miscellany
Call Number: Rare Books DS796 .S2 S482 1855
Publication Date: 1855
Description: From the collection of books stored in the basement of the Wren Building for many years.
Subjects: Shanghai (China) -- Periodicals
Available online through the HathiTrust
Sian: a coup d'état. A fortnight in Sian: extracts from a diary by Chiang Kai-shek. by Chiang, May-ling Soong, 1897-2003. Chiang, Kai-shek, 1887-1975.
Call Number: Rare Books DS778 .C55 C45 1937
Publication Date: 1937
Subjects: Chiang, Kai-shek, -- 1887-1975; China -- Politics and government -- 1912-1949; China -- History -- Republic, 1912-1949; Xi'an Shi (China)
Available online through the HathiTrust
Treaties between the Empire of China and foreign powers : together with regulations for the conduct of foreign trade, conventions, agreements, regulations, etc. by China. Mayers, William Frederick, 1831-1878.
Call Number: Rare Books JX926 1902
Publication Date: 1902
Subjects: China -- Foreign relations -- Treaties; China -- Commercial treaties
Available online through the HathiTrust
Yi zong jin jian. Wai ke. by Wu, Qian, active 1736-1743.
Call Number: Rare Books R127.1 .Y5 Vol.1-7, 9-10
Publication Date: 189-?
Lithographed edition of Wai ke xin fa yao jue, a section of the comprehensive treatise on medical knowledge which was originally compiled as ordered by the Qianlong emperor 1739-1742 under the editorship of Wu Qian and others.
Subjects: Medicine, Chinese -- Early works to 1800

Asian Studies Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

Contact Special Collections

Search Tools

Special Collections Finding Aid Search