Asian Studies Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

Washington, D.C. resident's diary aboard USS Chaumont to China, Philippines, Japan, 1926, then on the USS Arabic to England and France, 1927.

U.S. Army soldier's photo album includes 32 photos of the Philippines,1900-1912.

Detailing their 1931 trip from New York City to the Philippines aboard the military transport ship, USS Grant.

Includes photographs and postcards relating to the Battle of Manila Bay. Members of the Galt family were in the U.S. Navy.

Includes correspondence, 1947-1948, between U.S. Navy Admiral Hall and the consul-general of the Philippines.

Includes travel diaries from 1948 (Guam, Philippines, Japan, Korea, Okinawa, and China, typed), 1955 (England, Austria, Turkey, Lebanon, Jordan, Syria, Iraq, Iran, Pakistan, India, Thailand, Indonesia, Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, Philippines, Hong Kong, and Japan, typed), 1959 ( India, Nepal, Thailand, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, and Fiji, typed,),1960 (French Equatorial Africa, Belgian Congo, Gabon (where he was a guest of Dr. Albert Schweitzer for a week), South Africa, Uganda, Kenya, Tanganyika, Rhodesia, Iran, Afghanistan, Pakistan, India, Kashmir, Thailand, Singapore, Australia, Tasmania, New Zealand, and Tahiti, typed), and 1961 (Japan, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Thailand, Burma, India, Israel, Greece, Hungary, and Austria, typed).

Photocopy of diary, 1899-1911, of Anthony Morris Leafdale, which concerns his service in the U. S. Army Signal Corps (including travel from Fort Walla Walla, Washington via San Francisco to Hawaii, the Philippines and Japan and return to United States), difficulties in finding employment, work in Denver, Colorado, and marriage and life on a farm in Nebraska. Includes poetry.

Includes a 1934 15-page letter written by this missionary in Japan about his trip to China and the Philippines.

Includes a series of letters from E.M. Offley to his mother while he and his family were stationed in the Philippines, 1905-1915, with the U.S. military.

Small leather covered diary, written in pencil by C.A. Detrick between December 17, 1899 and February 2, 1900 while in the Philippines during the time of the Philippine Insurrection. Detrick was a member of Company D, 28th U.S. Infantry. Detrick writes about the countryside, the natives, the marches and the camps. End of diary includes addresses, expense accounts and equipment inventory.

Includes letters written from the Philippines during the U.S. occupation in the early 1900s by U.S. soldier Asa Daniel Reed to his future wife.

Includes letters from Admiral George Dewey in Manila, Philippines, 1898.

Diary of an enlisted soldier in the Spanish- American War which concerns his trip from Plattsburg, N. Y. to San Francisco, California and the Philippines. The volume describes skirmishes and the civilization of the Filipino people.