It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Asian Studies Resources in the Special Collections Research Center
This is a guide to manuscripts, rare books, and other items held by the Special Collections Research Center for the study of Asia. These materials are in a variety of languages.
W&M Libraries subscribes to hundreds of databases which can help you search for highly relevant journal articles, books, documents and much more. Listed below are just a few databases you may find helpful in your research.
Essential for understanding Black history and culture, African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents.
Wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century reconstructing one of the world's great historical conversations. Access to 63,967 historical documents and 8,002 correspondents.
Drawing upon the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland, this searchable online resource provides access to digital facsimiles of diaries and journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works. The collection documents the relationship between Britain and India in an empire where the Scots played a central role as traders, generals, missionaries, viceroys, governor-generals and East India Company officials. The dates of the documents range from 1710 to 1937.
This archive charts a key decade in U.S.-Japanese relations. It is is one of three digital collections based on the microfilm title Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to United States Political Relations with Japan, 1930-1954. The source material contains Decimal File 711.94. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1939.
International politics, history, intellectual trends, and economics. Special reports, interviews, statistics, court proceedings, letters, translations of documents, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1949.
A self-governing area of British, Russian, American, German, Japanese, and French expatriates. Includes files from the Special Branch of the Shanghai Municipal Police, reports, handbills, translations of Chinese press coverage, and clippings from the English-language press. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1894-1985.
The records of the U.S. State Department in this collection relate to political relations between China and Japan. The records are mostly instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials; the despatches are often accompanied by enclosures. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1930-1939.
The student demonstrations and their aftermath, including crackdowns on Chinese civil rights. Public mail, memoranda, reports, cables, meeting notes, news clippings, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1989-1993.
IDP is an international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles, and artifacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programs.
Travel back in time, during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953, with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers providing critical perspectives and first-hand accounts on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. Coverage: 1832-1953
Database containing all editions of one of the Japanese main newspapers, the Asahi Shinbun, and the Aera news magazine. Also contains an encyclopaedia of contemporary vocabulary Chiezo. Coverage: 1879 to present.
The oldest and most influential English-language newspaper in Korea, The Korea Times is globally recognized for its coverage of international business, economic and financial news historically through contemporary times as well as its perspective on regional issues and events. Coverage: 1956-2016
The North China Daily News(in Chinese: Zilin Xibao), was an English-language newspaper in Shanghai, China, called the most influential foreign newspaper of its time. Spanning the period 1923-1941 this is the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China, and with that the history of Shanghai, a city at the forefront of developments in Chinese politics, culture and the economy, and thus the hub of all Euro-American activity.
South China Morning Post gives researchers new insights into Hong Kong’s unique political and social history during the 20th century. This premier English-language title is known for its authoritative, influential, and independent reporting on all of Asia as well as its perspective of the rest of the world.
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
Digital images from around the world (including photography, architecture, decorative arts, graphic design, painting, and sculpture) in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Coverage: all time periods. To download or save images create a free user account with your W&M email.
Located in the heart of San Francisco, the Asian Art Museum is home to one of the world’s finest collections of Asian art, boasting more than 18,000 awe-inspiring artworks ranging from ancient jades and ceramics to contemporary video installations. The museum spans six thousand years—from 4000 BCE to today—and covers seven geographic and cultural areas: West Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, Himalayas, China, Korea, and Japan.
The Mogao Caves, also known as the Dunhuang Caves, are a system of 500 temples located in a religious and cultural crossroads on the Silk Road in Gansu Province, China. Digital Dunhuang Project is pursuing overall digitization, including collection, processing and storage of the Dunhuang Grottoes and related cultural relics by using advanced science and technology. It integrates many forms of data, including photos, videos, 3D data and other literature, into a digital repository of cave cultural relics.
Located in Beijing, China, the mission of the National Museum of China is to educate about the arts and history of China. It is directed by the Ministry of Culture of the People's Republic of China. [Object searching and descriptions are in Chinese.]
The National Palace Museum, located in Taipei and Taibao, Taiwan, has a permanent collection of nearly 700,000 pieces of ancient Chinese imperial artifacts and artworks, making it one of the largest of its type in the world. The collection encompasses 8,000 years of history of Chinese art from the Neolithic age to the modern. [Searching in Chinese; limited searching and browsing in English]
The Tokyo National Museum collects, houses, and displays a comprehensive collection of art works and antiquities from Japan as well as other Asian countries. [Searching in Japanese, English, Chinese, and Korean]
International affairs. Working papers from universities, occasional papers from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals, policy briefs, case studies by international affairs experts, course packs for history and political science classes. Coverage: 1991-present.
Multidisciplinary full-text journal articles from 1,500 major journals. Please note: In many cases, JSTOR does not include the most recent 3 to 5 years of these journals. Please use other databases to retrieve recent articles, especially for current events topics. Coverage: Varies by title. Access is available to 2007+ alumni; requires W&M userid and password.
Contemporary worldwide social, economic, & political issues, and public policy. Citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, etc. Includes PAIS Archive. Coverage: 1915-present.