Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

World War II Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections in both its Manuscript and University Archives sections that relate to World War II. Please keep in mind that the general collections of Swem Library also support research related to WWII.

World War II Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

The Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections in both its Manuscript and University Archives sections that relate to World War II. Some of these collections are specifically about the experiences of William and Mary faculty, students, and alumni during WWII, while others deal more broadly with the U.S. experience during the war. Please keep in mind that the general collections of Swem Library also support research in this subject area, including newspapers, magazines, government documents, published memoirs, etc.

Swem Library has created other guides that will be of interest to researchers including a Research Paper Writing and Citation Guide, and Primary Sources Guide.

If you get stuck along the way, please don't hesitate to contact us.  We're here to help.  Just click the HELP tab at the top of any page in this guide to get contact information for Special Collections Research Center staff.

Best of luck with your research! 

Access Tools

Special Collections Research Center Access Tools: There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with the staff member on duty for guidance.

Consult the Special Collections Research Center’s Web site for more information about using the collections. Registration  and search tools are available to see further descriptions of many of these collections as well as to search for additional collections. Some images and transcriptions of documents are available at the Digital Archive and at the transcription site. There is the option of Interlibrary Loan for books that Swem does not have. Staff is always willing to assist.

Some subject headings:

World War, 1939-1945-- African-Americans

World War, 1939-1945-- Aerial Operations

World War, 1939-1945--Germany

World War, 1939-1945-- Japan

World War, 1939-1945--Japanese Internment Camp

World War, 1939-1945--Medical and sanitary affairs

World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area

World War, 1939-1945--Personal Narratives

World War, 1939-1945--Prisoners of War

World War, 1939-1945-- United States

World War, 1939-1945--Women