Research Guides: AMES 250: Introduction to Asian and Middle Eastern Studies: Start Here

NGO/IO Reports

Human Rights Watch World Report 2023
Human Rights Watch produces an annual report about human rights in every country each year. This can provide you with some broad overviews of what is happening in a country.
Amnesty International Country Reports
Amnesty International produces country reports that present information about human rights concerns and recommendations for every country.
World Bank Country and Economies Data Report
Interested in seeing how a country data reporting on social, economic, and environmental topics? Or how well they are progressing with the SDG Goals? World Bank Country Data helps with this!
Migration Policy Institute
This is a research institute that provides research and analysis on immigration and integration policies. They provide great country immigration profiles as well as other topics relating to immigration.

Aljazeera: Middle East
Search for recent news headlines to learn what is happening currently within a country of interest. Al Jazeera does break news into regions to make it easier to navigate.
BBC World News: Middle East
Headline news from around the world. BBC also organizes news into regions, or you can search for a country specifically.

LexisNexis Academic (new website at Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Now under Nexis Uni. News, business, and law. Newspapers, newsletters, magazines, journals, broadcast transcripts, wire services, campus news, laws, court cases, company information, etc. Includes some non-English-language news sources. Coverage: Varies by title.
Newspapers.com (World Collection, 1690-) This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com is a historical database of newspapers across the globe, potentially going as far back as 1690 and up until the present day.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Islamic subjects, including the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world. Citations to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and book reviews. Coverage: 1906-present.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Includes Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute-UK). Index to journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries. Coverage: Late 19th century-present.

CIA World Factbook
Basic information on the history, people, governments, geography, etc for countries around the world.
Google Arts & Culture
Search for your country here to see art, culture and history of the nation.

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Now part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central, the Berg Fashion Library is the first online resource to provide access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. It offers users cross-searchable access to an expanding range of essential resources in this discipline of growing importance and relevance including a specially-created taxonomy, an e-book collection, and extensive color image bank.
ArtStor (JSTOR Images) This link opens in a new window
Digital images from around the world (including photography, architecture, decorative arts, graphic design, painting, and sculpture) in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Coverage: all time periods. To download or save images create a free user account with your W&M email.