Special Collections Research Center Access Tools: There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding
materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't
forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with
the staff member on duty for guidance.
Special Collections Finding Aid Search
Useful Subject Headings
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered Students and Alumni
William & Mary GALA (Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae), Inc.
William & Mary Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Events
The University Archives Audiovisual Collection is an artificial collection of various audio and visual formats documenting the College of William and Mary campus, events, people, etc. Includes one audio cd of an event titled With Good Reason:'Depicting Reality:Portrayals of Gay and Bi-Racial Individuals' at the College of William and Mary. Also includes two VHS videotapes of "Defining Family: Gays, Lesbians and the Meaning of Family," held at the Institute of Bill of Rights Law Student Symposium. Tape includes Moot Court exercise on gays and lesbians and families, and a keynote address by Congressman Barney Frank.
This collection contains fliers and newsletters from the Women's Forum at the College of William and Mary. The Women's Forum met to discuss issues such as women's rights and equality. Included in the collection are fliers for meetings of the Women's Forum, and copies of the Women's Equality Newsletter from 1973 to 1978.
William & Mary Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Student Organizations
This collection contains three folders of materials about the Lesbian and Gay Union at the College of William and Mary. It includes fliers for events, meeting schedules, correspondence, funding proposals, a packet of materials from the 1986 Gay Awareness Week, and materials received from student groups at Virginia Tech and James Madison University. It also includes a copy of the by-laws of the Lambda Alliance, an early gay student group at William and Mary.
This collection consists of two folders of materials relating to the Gay Student Support Group. Folder 1 contains documents relating to the formation of the group and includes a proposal, reports from faculty advisor George D. Greenia, correspondence from Greenia to local media outlets, fliers for events, meeting schedules, and "A Practical Guide to Telling Your Folks (And Others)," written by Greenia. Folder 2 contains newspaper clippings about the group.
This collection contains fliers, announcements, and programs for various student organizations at the College of William and Mary. The organizations include academic clubs, arts groups, Greek social organizations, religious organizations, student athletic associations, and other groups. Includes Lesbian and Gay Law Association, (L)iberal Society, Liberty Society, Linguistics Club, Lips: Expressions of Female Sexuality (zine), Gay Student Union, Facts and Referrals on Sexuality, Feminist Student Organization, Feminist Youth Information (F.Y.I.).
At present, this collection includes only announcements from EqualityWM. "The purpose of EqualityWM is to improve the learning and working environment at the College [of William and Mary] for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender faculty, staff, and students through representation, action and community." EqualityWM is a new name for an organization that has been at the College for years, the LGB Faculty and Staff Caucus.
William & Mary Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- William & Mary Gala (Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae), Inc.
This collection encompasses the records of the organization William and Mary Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae (GALA) founded in 1986. Materials in the collection date from before the organization's founding to the present, with the majority of the material covering the years 1986 through 1992. The major issues covered include the founding of the organization, initial battles for recognition by the William and Mary Alumni Association, the fight to have sexual orientation added to the university's non-discrimination policy, and the suit to have archaic anti-homosexual language removed from the state of Virginia's policies on liquor licensing.
The University Archives Artifact Collection is an artificial collection of artifacts and memorabilia documenting and related to the College of William and Mary. Includes Navy 100% cotton t-shirt , XL, with WM coat of arms in white bisected by lamda and reading "William and Mary GALA" (gay and lesbian alumni/ae). Also includes two yellow buttons, 2.25" in diameter. They have a green border and green lettering reading "William and Mary Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae" around the perimeter and "GALA" under the WM cipher in the center. Also includes three maroon Richard Cornish Endowment Fund buttons and two black and white Richard Cornish Endowment Fund buttons. Also includes a yellow button, 2.25" in diameter. It has a green border and green lettering reading "William and Mary Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae" around the perimeter and "GALA" under the WM cipher in the center.
Also includes a green baseball cap with a gold W, red ribbon, and gold M sewn on the front. The red ribbon is the symbol of solidarity of people living with HIV/AIDS. Also includes a green and beige baseball cap with a gold William, red ribbon, and gold Mary sewn on the front. "W&M Alumni Care" is sewn on the reverse in red. The red ribbon is the symbol of solidarity of people living with HIV/AIDS.
This collection contains correspondence, clippings, and articles pertaining to John E. Boswell, College of William and Mary class of 1969, and faculty member at Yale University. Most of the articles and clippings contain reviews of Boswell's scholarship, including his book "Christianity, Social Intolerance, and Homosexuality: Gay People in Western Europe from the Beginning of the Christian Era to the 14th Century" published in 1980. The bulk of the correspondence is between Boswell and the primary donor of the collection, Dr. George Greenia, Professor of Modern Languages and Literatures at the College of William and Mary.
This collection contains audiotapes, correspondence, fliers, programs, and related material collected by Michael J. Rogan while a student at the College of William and Mary from 1977-1981. Included in the collection are audiotapes and programs from the student-run Sinfonicron Opera Company; audiotapes, programs, fliers, and clippings about the William and Mary Choir and other choral groups at the College; programs and correspondence about the film festival held by the William and Mary Gay and Lesbian Alumni/ae (GALA) organization during Homecoming from 2001-2010
The collection is composed of scrapbooks created by Griffith from the 1990s through 2009. The collection also includes copies of Griffith's website "Gryffiddiott.com." Griffith composed an introduction: "The scrapbooks that I have given to the College represent my life as a professional, middle-class, middle-aged, completely actualized gay man with HIV who has stridently enunciated those causes that I believe in: gay rights, human rights, HIV education and prevention, left of center politics, sexual dynamics, spirituality, and global and timely issues such as global warning and energy policy."
Two interview sessions with Lawrence (Larry) Griffith were conducted as part of the William and Mary GALA Stephens Oral History Project by Michael Rawlings. Larry Griffith graduated from the College of William and Mary in 1981 with a BA in English. He was president of Lambda Alliance when a student (1979) and a board member of William and Mary GALA (Gay and Lesbian Alumni Association). The 2009 interview is available via iTunesU:
An interview session with Joseph Price was conducted as part of the William and Mary GALA Stephens Oral History Project. Joseph Price graduated from the College of William and Mary in 1993 with a BA in Public Policy. He was president of William and Mary GALA (Gay and Lesbian Alumni Association). The interview was conducted by Michael Rawlings on October 25, 2008.
This interview of Wayne Curtis was conducted as part of the William and Mary GALA Stephens Oral History Project by Michael Rawlings. Wayne N. Curtis graduated from the College of William and Mary in 1982 with a AB in History. He joined William and Mary GALA in 1987, served as a board member in the 1990s, and has served as president from 2003 to the present (2008).
The bulk of the University Archives Oral History Collection consists of transcripts and recordings of oral history interviews conducted as a part of various projects at the College of William and Mary with administrators, faculty, students, and alumni. Established in memory of Stephen H. Snell and Stephen E. Patrick, the Stephens Project seeks to document the stories of the lives of William & Mary GLBTQ alumni, faculty, staff, and students. It is a long range (multi-year) oral history project coordinated by Swem Library, which will record the personal experiences of individuals while concentrating on their years at or associated with William & Mary. The project will focus on memories relative to the William & Mary years and their impact on later life including recalling what gay and lesbian life was like at that time at William & Mary, coming out stories during the college years, the impact of being gay or lesbian at William & Mary, and experiences related to William & Mary GALA, Inc.
This collection contains correspondence, news clippings, photographs, and reports from 1974-1993 pertaining to Dr. Elaine Themo's research and teaching career in the Department of Sociology at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection are proposals for Women's Studies workshops as well as for a Women's Studies program at William and Mary; correspondence, reports, and publications about Sexual Harassment in general as well as at William and Mary; and news clippings about sexist fraternity posters at the College.
The collection of the Faculty Women's Caucus at the College of William & Mary includes correspondence from 1973-1996 related to women faculty salaries and tenure; maternity leave and childcare; EEO and Affirmative Action; women's athletics, dealing mostly with Title IX, both within the College of William & Mary and the National Collegiate Athletics Association (NCAA); sexual harassment; campus security; the Women's Studies program; and discriminatory findings. Also included are salary survey reports, William & Mary "climate" studies, various copies of the newsletter - Caucus News, event fliers, articles, newspaper clippings, related publications, and other resource material.
William & Mary Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Administration
This collection is composed of files from the College of William and Mary Office of the President during the administration of Paul Verkuil. For the most part, headings assigned to folders in their office of origin have been maintained in the box list inventories available here. Includes documentation on Gala (1989-1990), Sexual Orientation (1989-1990), etc.
William & Mary Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- General
The University Archives Subject File is a collection of news clippings, correspondence, research material, and other materials relating to and about the College of William and Mary. It encompasses the College itself, buildings and physical property, organizations, people, and events which have occurred on campus. Information on topics including homosexuality.
William & Mary Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Williamsburg Community
This collection is composed of material collected and created by the Williamsburg Documentary Project. The Williamsburg Documentary Project conducts oral history interviews and builds physical and digital archives, as well as other activities, through which it interprets Williamsburg’s recent past. Includes Unplanned/Unwanted Pregnancy (Especially Pre Roe v Wade): An attempt to track the resources available to women and understand how women (and [local] society more broadly) dealt with unplanned and/or unwanted pregnancies before abortion was legalized.