Special Collections Research Center Access Tools: There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding
materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't
forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with
the staff member on duty for guidance.
Special Collections Finding Aid Search
Useful Subject Headings
Feminism -- United States
Feminism and the Arts
Homosexuality and Art
Homosexuality -- Fiction
Women's Rights -- United States
Women's Rights -- Virginia
Culture and Activism Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Writers
Papers, 1970-2008, of Christopher Bram, novelist and screenwriter which document his writing career. The collection includes manuscripts, correspondence, collegiate notebooks, articles, reviews, translations, photographs, awards, and screenplays covering his career. As a writer, Christopher Bram has published nine novels, a number of short stories and articles, as well as adapted his work into screenplays. His novels, including "Surprising Myself (1987)," "Hold Tight (1988)," "In Memory of Angel Clare (1989)," "Almost History (1992)," "Father of Frankenstein (1995)," "Gossip (1997)," "The Notorious Dr. August: his Real Life and Crimes (2000)," "Lives of Circus Animals (2003)," and "Exiles in America (2006)," have gained wide acclaim for addressing contemporary issues including homosexuality.
The Thomas Long Papers document his editorship of Harrington Gay Men's Literary Quarterly. The collection includes published manuscripts, volumes of the journals, and syllabi. Dr. Long served as editor-in-chief of Harrington Gay Men's Literary Quarterly (formerly Harrington Gay Men's Fiction Quarterly). Dr. Long writes and publishes works on AIDS, religion, and sexuality.
This collection contains correspondence, clippings, and articles pertaining to John E. Boswell, College of William and Mary class of 1969, and faculty member at Yale University. Most of the articles and clippings contain reviews of Boswell's scholarship, including his book "Christianity, Social Intolerance, and Homosexuality: Gay People in Western Europe from the Beginning of the Christian Era to the 14th Century" published in 1980. The bulk of the correspondence is between Boswell and the primary donor of the collection, Dr. George Greenia, Professor of Modern Languages and Literatures at the College of William and Mary.
Culture and Activism Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Activists
Papers of Mary Holt Carlton. Includes correspondence, speeches, by-laws, membership lists, and newspaper clippings and feminist-related items of Mary Holt Carlton, a Richmond, Va. activist and member of the Richmond chapter of the National Organization for Women. Includes papers relating to the founding of the Richmond chapter of NOW in 1970, as well as the Equal Rights Amendment and the abortion issue. Also contains letters from Zelda Nordlinger, state coordinator of the Richmond chapter of NOW.
Includes many letters, newspaper clippings, and feminist related items of Zelda Nordlinger, a Richmond, VA woman's activist and state co-coordinator of the Virginia chapter of the National Organization for Women. Includes information on the origins of the National Organization for Women, as well as the Equal Rights Amendment and the abortion issue. Also contains several newsletters published by feminist organizations, pamphlets, photographs, and correspondence with other feminist activists in the state.
Papers of Linda Lavin which document her career as a Broadway and television actress, and also as an advocate of women’s rights and equal opportunity. Material on the Horizon Art Exchange, the Drama League of New York, the National Commission on Working Women of Wider Opportunities for Women, the National Organization for Women, and the National Mother’s Day Committee, from which Lavin received the 1987 Outstanding Mother Award, and the Stepfamily Association of America, Inc. are included. Letters from California state legislator Tom Hayden mark Lavin’s support in the 1988 Presidential election on behalf of the Democratic Party.
The collection is composed of scrapbooks created by Griffith from the 1990s through 2009. The collection also includes copies of Griffith's website "Gryffiddiott.com." Griffith composed an introduction: "The scrapbooks that I have given to the College represent my life as a professional, middle-class, middle-aged, completely actualized gay man with HIV who has stridently enunciated those causes that I believe in: gay rights, human rights, HIV education and prevention, left of center politics, sexual dynamics, spirituality, and global and timely issues such as global warning and energy policy."
Two interview sessions with Lawrence (Larry) Griffith were conducted as part of the William and Mary GALA Stephens Oral History Project by Michael Rawlings. Larry Griffith graduated from the College of William and Mary in 1981 with a BA in English. He was president of Lambda Alliance when a student (1979) and a board member of William & Mary GALA (Gay and Lesbian Alumni Association).
Culture and Activism Sources in the Special Collections Research Center- Politicians
Papers, circa 1970s-1990s, of Evelyn Momsen Hailey (1922-2011) of Norfolk, Virginia. Hailey served as a member of the Virginia House of Delegates from 1974 to 1981 and as a member of the State Senate from 1981 to 1982. She was active with women's rights organizations and environmental protection and an avid supporter of Equal Rights Amendment legislation. Her papers include correspondence, clippings, speeches, and printed material, campaign materials, and other materials related to her political career. Several bumper stickers are housed in the Mansucripts Artifact Collection. Four reel-to-reel audiotapes are housed in the Manuscripts Audiovisual Collection.
Congressional papers of Herbert Bateman, College of William and Mary Class of 1949, House of Representatives, 1982-2000, First Virginia District. Includes National Education Association’s Declaration for a Gay/Lesbian History Month, October 11, 1995. Also includes AR/PRESGAY Clinton and Gays in Military [12/7/92]. Also includes numerous files concerning abortion.
Papers of United States Representative Jo Ann Davis, Congresswoman from Virginia's First District from 2000 to 2007. The Papers are mostly legislative material where she was involved either as an originator of or co-signer to Dear Colleague letters or as a sponsor or co-sponsor to legislation, but also includes speeches, press releases and office files. Includes Floor, Committee and Hearing Statements, 2001-2006 on Abortion Rights.