Films, Cinema, & Television: Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

-- Fliers for the Student Film Festival from 2000-ongoing. Student Film Making DVD. Short Film Festival.

-- This collection includes the Film Series--The Ascent of Man. Also includes a Television Home Study in Physics, 1959

-- The collection is composed of records of the College of William & Mary student organization the Japanese Cultural Association from 1999 to the present. The material includes fliers, scrapbooks, programs, meeting minutes, attendance lists, the film "The Kuril Island" by Evin Haithcock, and other material. Most of the administrative records and the scrapbooks are from the period 2006-2008 with the group's earliest years documented mostly through fliers.

-- Correspondence and papers of Frank Shatz of Lake Placid, N.Y. and Williamsburg, Va., 1965-2009. Subject matter of the collection is foreign policy, the Lake Placid Council on Foreign Policy, public funding for libraries and public television and radio, the endowment of the Reves Center for International Studies at the College of William & Mary and more. Includes two DVDs: "Heda Margolius: Hitler, Stalin, & I" and "German Dynasties: The Thyssens."

-- The Racial and Ethnic Ephemera Collection includes a variety of material in various formats. The collection is currently being processed and new items will be added on an ongoing basis. Includes covers from VHS tapes of commercially produced blaxploitation films.

-- This collection contains material related to David Brown's education at the College of William & Mary and his career in the Navy and NASA. It also contains material related specifically to the public promotion, research, operation, and remembrance of the space shuttle Columbia and its crew. The materials consist of photographs, articles, publications, news clippings, correspondence, and pamphlets, as well as artifacts such as patches, pins, coins, and decals. There are also CDs and DVDs regarding the shuttle mission. Larger artifacts include David Brown's Navy uniform and space suit, his letterman jacket, a watercolor of the space shuttle and Brown's William & Mary blanket.

-- Contains material acquired by Dr. Theodore Sullivan Cox in Germany during the Allied occupation after World War II. Includes British, US American and French military bulletins, manuals and pamphlets (in part classified), a poster, three Nazi military medals and two Nazi propaganda films.

-- Congressional papers of Herbert Bateman, College of William and Mary Class of 1949, House of Representatives, 1982-2000, First Virginia District. Includes numerous Bateman Videotapes, 1982:84-86:90-95:97 and n.d.

-- Campaign material for Herbert H. Bateman when he ran for U.S. Congress for the First Virginia District. Includes financial records, office files, polling data and media material. Includes video and audio cassettes of various Bateman speeches, interviews, and television/radio spots. Film negatives.

-- Papers, 1933-1978, of Ted Dalton, Virginia state senator, 1944-1959; Republican candidate for governor of Virginia in 1953 and 1957; and U.S. District judge for the Western district of Virginia. Includes correspondence, speeches, news clippings, photographs, recordings, reels of film and legal opinions. Includes reels of film entitled "Ted and Friends"; "Ted and Family"; and "Carry Virginia Back to Her People"

-- This collection includes material related to the resignation of President Gene R. Nichol of the College of William & Mary on February 12, 2008, and the response of the campus, alumni, and public. Material in the collection was created by a variety of formal and informal organizations and individuals and includes correspondence, fliers, videos, images, websites, news clippings, armbands, stickers, and a variety of other formats. Much of the collection is material produced in response to President Nichol announcing his resignation with a smaller amount of material from the months preceding the announcement. The collection includes material from individuals and organizations who were opposed to President Nichol as well as those who supported him. This collection does not include official College of William & Mary records produced by various offices. Those records will generally be housed with the collections for the creating office or department. Exceptions include communications f

-- The collection includes material collected and written by College of William & Mary alumna Karla K. Bruno from 2007-2010 related to the organizations Save the Wren Cross, ShouldNicholBeRenewed.org, and The Society for the College as well as copies of material from 2007 related to the Department of Philosophy. Also included are two VHS videotapes: an interview with Gene Nichol on the PBS program "What Matters" in January 2008; and Brit Hume of Fox News with a piece entitled "Wren Cross," circa 2006-2007. The collection includes paper, audiovisual, and electronic formats.