American Religious History Resources in the Special Collections Research Center

There are a variety of tools available to guide you in finding materials in the Special Collections Research Center (SCRC). Don't forget that you also may come into the SCRC in person and consult with the staff member on duty for guidance.

consists of comprehensive papers, including notes on ministerial duties and texts of sermons, of Episcopalian minister who served parishes in Alaska and Virginia and who was bishop of Alaska and director of overseas missions, 1922-1987, Mss 82 B44

58 diaries of worldly Episcopal minister who traveled nearly every year; very little on religion!

correspondence of this Anglican clergyman in Virginia and Maryland who denounced the American Revolution and fled to England. He later was involved in the Anglican Church in England and Scotland, Mss 93 B66

-papers, including a few sermons, of Henry James Brown, a Methodist minister in Virginia who also became a well-known painter, Mss 65 B845

diary and loose papers of a missionary/minister in Massachusetts. Burt retired just a few months before this diary ended, and he died in 1890 in New Bedford, Massachusetts. Mss Acc 2010.107

--two manuscript sermons by Charles Busser or Dusser are included in the Philip Howerton Papers, Mss 65 H84. They are found in folder 4.

-Methodist circuit rider recounts his childhood, education, conversion, and ordination; he served circuits in Maryland and Virginia

correspondence, brief diaries, student notebooks, sermons, and other papers of Presbyterian minister who served congregations in Virginia, Mississippi, and Louisiana, including material on his work with the YMCA in World War I and the National War Labor Board in Louisiana during World War II. He also worked with Home Missions, 1918-1931. The collection also includes a volume detailing his wife Evelyn Smith Christian's religious work with young people, Mss 71 C46

letters written to Rev. John Philip Cline, a Lutheran in New Market, Virginia, and Smithburg, Maryland, primarily by Rev. John G. Morris, mostly from Baltimore, Maryland, Mss 39.2 C61

includes some religious writings and sermon notes of this William and Mary president (1827-1834), who also served as rector of Bruton Parish. There are also several letters from the anti-slavery Grimke sisters that refer to religious matters. Mss 65 Em7

includes correspondence, diaries, and other materials relating to Howard Spilman Galt and his wife Louise Alberta West Galt, missionaries in China from 1899-1940, as well as correspondence from their daughter Mable Mildred Galt Raible, wife of a minister in the United States

accounts of a Methodist minister in Riverside, Pennsylvania, including a list of all 500 booksi n his library, travel expenses, Sunday school collections, and other church-related expenses.

includes letters, journals, sermons, ministerial records, and other papers of several generations of Episcopal ministers, primarily in Virginia, 1826-1959, Mss 78 G63

Sermons and sermon notes of minister at St. John's and St. Peter's Churches in Augusta County, 1835-1858, Mss 39.2, H42

includes account books with information on births, marriages, and funerals performed by Cyrus Rosser James, Methodist minister, on the Buckingham (1889-1890), North Mecklenburg (1890-1894), Heathsville (1894-1898), and Whitestone (1898-1901) circuits, as well as financial information and lists of stewards, etc., at the churches he served. Also includes notes on sermons, 1910-1915; letters about Methodist conferences in the late 19th century; and letters by Benjamin Rosser James about his experiences as a Methodist minister in the early 20th century, Mss 81 J23

assorted papers relating to Helen Johnson's work as an agent of the Methodist Woman's Home Missionary Society, Mss Acc 2009.305

13 sermons of a clergyman who taught at Cambridge University in England.

primarily correspondence to and from this Presbyterian clergyman during his theological studies at Andover and New Haven in New England and pastorates in Connecticut, North Carolina, and Virginia.

includes various papers and extensive sermons by Episcopal minister, primarily in the South

includes more than 1200 sermons and other materials relating to this longtime rector of Bruton Parish in Williamsburg, but more than half of this large collection focuses on the reaction to the sermon Lewis preached in 1967 with President Lyndon Johnson in the audience. Lewis criticized U.S. policy, and the majority of the letters in the collection support his stance, Mss 1997.26

two extensive letters written by Lewis while a missionary in Sendai, Japan. The first includes a detailed description of child life in Japan and the second includes 15 pages about travels around Asia.

includes papers and correspondence of Methodist minister in the South, primarily North Carolina, Mss 2010.022

the papers of this Baptist minister from Williamsburg most notably include a huge number of records he kept detailing his ministry as a chaplain in World War I, with notes, letters, and photographs of the young men he aided, Mss 39.2 L72

this consists of two boxes of correspondence of this Episcopalian minister who became the third bishop of Virginia, Mss 74 M46

correspondence, sermons, and other papers of Episcopal missionary in Shanghai, China; includes notes on a trip to Japan in 1872, Mss 39.1 N34

this large collection consists of the personal and professional papers, including many sermons, of Thomas Pugh, minister of the Baptist Church in Williamsburg, 1952-1981, Mss 1999.07

extensive papers of Episcopal minister Samuel Sayre include his diaries, 1918-1963, and family and ministerial correspondence. The diaries start while he's in the hospital service corps in World War I, continue through seminary, and throughout his working life. He served a parish in Pennsylvania during the 1930s and California, 1939-1961.

-three volumes of notes on sermons, Mss MsV Se3-5

while serving as an agent of the Presbyterian Education Society in Indiana, Kentucky, and Ohio, Mss MsV Tr4

account books, primarily non-religious, of a Dunkard minister in Rockingham County

focuses on ministry and sermons of this Baptist minister, 1782-1786, Mss MsV D2

This collection contains letters, diaries, speeches, and other material written by Silas totten, a professor at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection is a letter from Silas Totten to Ebenezer Faxon requesting him to come to the college and draw architectural plans for a new college building after the 1859 fire. Other letters in the collection were written by and to members of the Totten family. A certificate of Silas Totten's admission to the Holy Order of Priests and minutes from a meeting of students at the College of William and Mary are also included.

-collection includes some sermons by Wilmer, who was president of WIlliam and Mary from 1826-1827

-notes on sermons, funerals, and religious matters by this Presbyterian minister who served Charlottesville, 1866-1877, and he had previously served as a pastor in Wheeling, then part of Virginia

-minister in Halifax County, diary focuses on religion; original is fragile so must use copy